We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a wonderful trip!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Disney's Paradise Pier Hotel
Ranked #42 of 118 Hotels in Anaheim
Texas
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“What a wonderful trip!”
Reviewed March 15, 2010

I have been reading a lot of reviews on this hotel over the past months getting ready for our Spring Break trip. We went last week (March 10-13) after visiting family. We arrived around 8 that evening and the Cast member who checked us in was very helpful. She gave my girls (ages 9 and 13) a bouquet of balloons, their birthday pins, and a card for their birthday. They were excited! The "Disney feel" is there, just not IN YOUR FACE as the other hotels might be. But, it suited us just fine.

Our room was nice and roomy and it was wonderful having a sofa that turned into a twin bed. Everyone was happy with their sleeping accommodations. We had a wonderful view of California Adventure on the 8th floor. Overall, our room was nice and comfortable--we weren't in it that long. The ONLY complaint that I had was the shower's WATER PRESSURE!! There was NONE! It was like a dribble on your body. After a long day at Disney, I dreaded on taking a shower--where that SHOULD be the ONE thing you want to go back to...a good, nice, hot shower! But, no such luck..I wonder if it was like that in all rooms? The pool was "heated" but not as much as the kids would've liked..it was a windy day. There was ONE small jacuzzi open and everyone was packed like sardines--not much excitement over the pool as the Disneyland Hotel has.

All the reviews talked about how slow the elevators were. That was not so for our visit. We were able to get on and off as soon as we pushed the button. The other reviews were how people complained of the walk. It wasn't too bad at all. Across the street, through Disney's Grand Californian, and out the door to Downtown Disney...which led to both parks. I really liked the proximity to everything--compared to Disneyworld..where we'd have to wait on a tram to take us to and from the parks and to our hotel room. There were a couple of times, we had to run back to the hotel for things..and it wasn't bad at all.

We were there from sun up to sun down every night we were there and it was a wonderful trip. I'd stay at the Paradise Pier again for sure!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grayfish4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    789
    900
    392
    128
    74
See reviews for
1,517
261
31
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (596)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fresno, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2010

This hotel is rull of rude people who talk over you. They gave me the wrong room, overcharged my card, and had me at the counter for way too long. They do not care about their customers!! After talking to someone over the phone about this, they yelled over me, interrupted me, and didnt let me finish talking. I asked for a supervisor and she was the same way. They will do whatever and say whatever they want to not give unsatisfied customers their money back for TERRIBLE SERVICE. Someone should teach these people some manners, and not to talk like crap to their customers. I have stayed at this hotel many times, but will never stay here again. I will be letting everyone I know to never stay here. Disney Guest Services is nothing but a joke, and should be replaced with people who are nice and who care about their customers.
Im sorry but for everything we had to go through during our visit, and then being talked to like trash by everyone I tried to discuss the issues with is wrong and someone should put a stop to this immediately. I am not finished with this!
DO NOT STAY AT THE DISNEYLAND PARADISE PIER HOTEL!! THEY TREAT THEIR CUSTOMERS LIKE TRASH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Suzareeta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2010

This was our 2nd stay at Paradise Pier, and we'll be back again in the fall. We had one problem this time around - we found a few blood stains on one of the sheets, pillow, and comforter. Housekeeping came up and stripped both beds and replaced all bedding, including the pillows. The stains were definitely gross, but we were pleased with how quickly the hotel remedied the problem.

Pluses of this hotel:

Rooms with great views overlooking Calif. Adventure park. Makes you feel like you've never left Disneyland.

Good sized rooms. Enough room for a family of 4 to spread out pretty comfortably.

Reasonable price considering it's a disney resort. You can also find pretty good deals/rates during the offseason. We got 5 nights for the price of 3.

Outstanding, engaged staff from the front desk, to the gift shop, to the restaurant.

Guest entrance from Californian hotel into Calif. adventures. If you stay at this hotel, I HIGHLY recommend walking across the street to the Californian hotel and using the private guest only entrance into Calif. adventures. Not only is it a much shorter walk than going to the main entrance, there is also virtually no line to get into the park this way.

Wake up calls from disney characters. The kids really enjoy this!

Self parking is a breeze here, unlike at the other 2 disneyland resort hotels. The garage is practically attached to the hotel and it makes it really easy to self-park and save a TON of money on daily valet fees.

Minuses:

Not as elaborately themed as the other two disneyland resort hotels.

SLOOOWWW elevators.

A bit of a walk to either of the parks' main gates. If you are going to Disneyland, walk to the monorail station at Downtown disney and ride into the park (it's about a 5 min. walk with kids from the hotel to the monorail station). If you are going to Calif. adventures, cross the street and use the guest only entrance located in the Californian hotel.

We had trouble getting hot water consistently. We didn't have this problem the last time we stayed here. I don't know if it's because we were on the 10th floor this time, or just bad luck, or something else....

Pool at this hotel is nice, but is not nearly as exciting and impressive to kids as the pools at the other disneyland resort hotels. Both times we stayed here it was in the off season and we didn't use the pool, but if you want a really elaborately themed pool - this is not the pool for you.

Overall, this is a good hotel for families. Our kids were more impressed by the grounds of the other disney resort hotels, but not enough to make a difference in our choice. This is still my top choice for the price at the disneyland resort.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mjtjrhicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scappoose, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2010

It is a beautiful hotel with great park views. Very clean and the staff couldn't have been any more helpful. Very convienant park entry. Only downside is cost.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SCRAPBOOKINGFAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2010

My husband and I both went to Disneyland as children, and both recall being green with envy of the people who stayed at the Disney Resort. So when it came time to take our children to Disneyland, it was a chance to make some of our own dreams come true.

Our room was on the 12th floor. We had a great view of California Adventure from our spacious hotel room. The rooms were quiet, airy, and nicely appointed. The windows could be opened to let in cross breeze which was very refreshing. The desk had a trundle table which could be rolled over to the full-sized sofa so we could eat take out meals in comfort.

Our room was very clean. VERY CLEAN. And everyday was cleaned promptly.

During our stay the housekeeping staff were staging protests against the Resort as part of an ongoing labour dispute. Despite this, the housekeeping staff were pleasant and accommodating and our room was kept in tip-top-shape. In fact, all the employees were very nice and helpful.

On our last night, our youngest child was ill. A quick call to the front desk and we were delivered fresh sheets and offered the complimentary services of Disney's on-call, on-site nurse.

The hotel cafe and restaurant were overpriced and slow. Better food options could be found at Downtown Disney. The walk to Downtown Disney takes less than 5 minutes, is well signed, and well away from busy thorough fares.

The pool area is great.

We would definitely return and recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Vosgienne56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2010

This was an awsome family adventure. We can't wait to go back. Hopefully Steven will be tall enough next time to ride everything!!! CAN'T WAIT TO GO BACK!!!

Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank andieua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2010

Our family of 4 (kids are 1 and 5) recently stayed at Disney's Paradise Pier and had a wonderful stay. I was pleasantly surprised at how nice the hotel was, having read some reviews that lead me to expect an Econo-Lodge (not that there's anything wrong with that). We had previously stayed at the Grand Californian, which is right across the street, so we knew the location was not as bad as some would have you believe - very easy access to the park. Overall, we had a great stay and a good value. We would definitely stay here again.
Pros:
-Great check-in by cast members - gave us lots of tips and extras, including signed Mickey pics, upgraded room, etc.
- Great TV viewing area off lobby - much larger than the one at Grand Californian and enclosed, so you can ask a question without worrying about your little one getting away.
-Fantastic character breakfast. The new Mickey breakfast is not to be missed. So much face time and activity with Mickey and Minnie! The best of the three we went to.
.-Free self parking (huge savings, which my hubby commented on every day)
- Convenient location
-Good size (not a huge complex like Disneyland Hotel and not the labyrinth of the Grand Californian)
-Rooms nicely decorated, updated and clean

Cons:
- What is up with the shower heads?? Low pressure and completely unnecessary huge head.
- More storage shelves in bathroom would be helpful
- Would be nice if they offered a room with bunk beds and sides on the beds for small kiddos (the Grand Californian did have this feature)
- Housekeeping staff was clueless about the special Disney decorating for tips - and we left a lot of them
- Complimentary coffee in lobby, which the Disneyland Hotel has, would be nice. Folks line up at the bar to get a second cup in the morning. How much could this really cost? Boy, do we parents need it!

Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank austinmom12009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
0.2 mi away
Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Disneyland Hotel
Disneyland Hotel
#20 of 118 in Anaheim
2,859 reviews
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Anaheim Theme Park Entrance
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn Anaheim Resort
0.8 mi away
Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground
0.6 mi away
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
#5 of 118 in Anaheim
1,172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Paradise Pier Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Paradise Pier Hotel

Property: Disney's Paradise Pier Hotel
Address: 1717 S Disneyland Dr, Anaheim, CA 92802-2308
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Family Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Disney's Paradise Pier Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 481
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Return to the heyday of California beachfront boardwalks at Disney's Paradise Pier Hotel. Loaded with special Disney touches, this seaside-themed hotel will carry you on a wave of relaxation, all the way up to the whimsical waterslide at the scenic rooftop pool. Located in the heart of Downtown Disney District, exceptional dining and entertainment are just steps away. Hotel Guests can also enjoy a special entrance through Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa to Disney California Adventure Park with a valid Park ticket. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Disney's Paradise Pier Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Pier Hotel
Disneyland Paradise Pier Hotel
Disney Paradise Pier Hotel
Disneys Paradise Pier Hotel
Disneys Anaheim
Paradise Pier Anaheim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing