We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More Magical than I Could Have Imagined”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Disney's Paradise Pier Hotel
Ranked #43 of 119 Hotels in Anaheim
A TripAdvisor Member
Fresno, CA
126
Reviewed February 21, 2006

I have just returned from the best vacation of my life, and I'm still in a euphoric state. My experience with the Paradise Pier Hotel was incredible.

First, I must tell you that we booked our Disneyland trip through AAA, and if you are a member-- USE THEM, and if you aren't, SIGN UP AND THEN USE THEM. The perks are incredible (unlimited Fastpasses comes to mind!), and everything is paid for ahead of time, so there are no surprise fees or questions.

My husband and I were there on our second Honeymoon (we called it our "Disneymoon"-- don't laugh), and because of it, we utilized the Disneyland Vacation Planning services to order gifts to be delivered to our room.

We were traveling over President's Day weekend, and because of the holiday, the traffic getting to the hotel was AWFUL-- what should have taken less than an hour took over 4 hours. So our mood when we arrived at the hotel was... iffy, to say the least. All of this changed however, when we got to our room. We had booked a standard room with no frills (we're still a young married couple). Our room was on the 15th floor (the highest floor in the hotel) and was the last one on the hall. When we walked in, the lights were all off, but the curtains were open. That's when we realized that they had upgraded us to a park view room. We could see all of California Adventure, and everything was lit up and beautiful.... and that's when we became 5-year-olds. We were literally jumping up and down and hugging for at least 10 minutes. All of the gifts we had ordered were displayed, along with a note wishing us a Happy Honeymoon.

I have been to Disneyland several times and stayed in many different hotels, and I will never do this trip differently than what I've just experienced. The benefits of staying in Disney hotel far exceed the price; the walk to the parks is nothing (not nearly as bad as people have complained), and it's through Downtown Disney, which is lovely.

As to the details of the hotel, the rooms are spacious and clean, the views are amazing and the staff is everything you'd expect from Disney.

If I could give it 6 stars, I would.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
26  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,357)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,112 - 2,118 of 2,357 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2006

I wanted to stay at Paradise Pier simply because I wanted to stay on the Disney resort, but I wanted to pay as little as possible. I have to say that I was quite surprised with this little hotel. While it may not be as nice as the Disneyland Hotel or the Grand Californian, it's quality is still higher than most hotels I've stayed at.

The rooms are of standard sized. They don't have anything flashy, but they're very comfortable. The beds are amazing! I ordered room service one night, and though it was a little expensive ($40 for two people), it was very satisfying. Our room looked out on the parking lot, the pool, and one of the Disneyland Hotel towers. I would've liked to spend the extra money to see California Adventure, but we were so tired by the time we got back to the hotel that we didn't care what we were looking at.

The hotel isn't perfect. The elevators can get annoying if you're heading to the park during the peak time of the day. They really need to add more elevators for the ammount of people staying there.. especially since a lot of people have large families with strollers. The elevators tend to fill up fast. I was on the 6th floor and had to wait for another elevator on several occasions.

One of the most common complaints with Paradise Pier is the distance to the park. Yes, it can be a long walk, but unless you have health problems, it's not too far at all. I always found that complaint a bit silly as you're walking all day when you're in the park. A word of advice though. If youre going to Disneyland, take the monorail. The walk from the hotel isn't that bad and it dumps you directly in the park. Even if you don't mind walking, you still should take the monorail (keep in mind you need your tickets already). I decided one day that the excercise would be good for me. First you have to wait through the line to check your bags, then you have to wait in another line to get into the park. It's not worth it as it can take upwards of an hour, just take the monorail and skip the hassle.

If you're going to California Adventure, leave through the front entrance to the hotel. Cross the street and walk through the Grand Californian and enter the park through the back way. There was never a line to get in when i went there and it saved a lot of tim fighting the crowds.

I would stay there again. It's more than worth every penny you spend to stay there.

  • Stayed: April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
26  Thank redbenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Kelowna, British Columbia, Canada
119
Reviewed February 16, 2006

We stayed at the Paradise Pier the first week of February. Surprised to discover its not actually on the Disneyland park but rather across the road. Apparently it has gone through numerous owners/names over the year because it is certainly not new. Still, it was close to the California Grand Hotel which we walked through every day to get into the park. Now THATS a beautiful hotel.
We arranged for our complete fully-paid package through a travel agent only to be advised upon checking in that "Oh - there's also an $11/day charge for incidentals such as a newspaper on weekdays and use of the gym." When asked about the $150 gift card for those booking at a Disney hotel 4 or more nights, it was "sorry, yes we know about the program, but our computer screen doesn't show you're eligible." What??!!! It took a number of long-distance phonecalls to our travel agent before the Paradise Pier got their act together. So, all-in-all not a bad place (and conveniently located) but watch the hand on your wallet!

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
19  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2006

We were upgraded to a Theme Park View without asking. This was an excellent way to start our trip. We let out a big sigh when we entered the lobby and the employees were all so welcoming after our long flight. It really set the tone for our whole trip. The kids were glued to the window night and day it just puts you all in the middle of that Disney magic. This hotel appears to just sit amongst rides when looking out at night.

They also loved the pool and what is nice is the slide softly lands you in a foot of water. The walk to the parks is actually fun because you can go across the Grand Californian parking lot and through their beautiful lobby and this will save you about 5 minutes over going through the downtown area which is also a fun walk though about 10 minutes. You can also have a golf cart take you to the monorail which has a shorter line to get in. We just really loved being in the middle of it all.

The rooms were very clean and spacious with 2 beds and couch that folds out to another twin. The bathrooms were large and clean. The fridge was very handy for breakfasts and water bottles. The color scheme is bright and beachy and very Disney. Our vacation was a blast.

The Anaheim hotels are so much closer than the Disney World ones, transportation is not a factor.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
19  Thank HappyNorthwesterner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2006

My wife and I just returned from a stay at the Paradise Pier Hotel and it was great. We had a beautiful room facing California Adventure which was a fantastic view especially in the evening. We ate at the PCH Grill several times for the Lilo and Stitch Aloha breakfast. This is something that you must do when you come here. It's great. But I think one of the best perks is the location. Everything is within easy walking distance. These reviewers who complain about the walking must just be lazy. It only takes about 10 to 15 minutes at the most to walk to either of the parks or Downtown Disney. And as far as the people who complain about the TV channels being only Disney channels, I suggest you learn how to use a remote control. All you have to do is start channel surfing to find TBS or NBC or whatever. Honestly, some people just can't be pleased or are just plain stupid! Don't listen to these people. Paradise Pier gets a thumbs up all the way!

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank hulkout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
New York City
112
Reviewed January 19, 2006

We stayed here in January 2006. The hotel was pleasant, the staff friendly, and the hotel was clean and kid-friendly. It was a very quick walk to Downtown Disney with lots of stores/dining estalbishments and the monorail to Disneyland, and another 5-10 minute walk to the main entrance to disneyland and California adventure. We were upgraded (because basic rooms were sold out) to a deluxe room with a park view, which was big, had a nice DVD player, and large bathroom. My only minor gripe was that there is an $11 "resort fee" that was above the rate I booked on expedia -- I'm not quite sure what I got for that fee. However, I woul stay here again!

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Cork Ireland
110
Reviewed January 19, 2006

Just back from a wonderful stay at the Paradise Pier Hotel. The staff were wonderful and the room was great. We were given a free upgrade to a theme park view room, which after a ten hour flight was music to our ears. All in all an excellent trip.

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
0.2 mi away
Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Disneyland Hotel
Disneyland Hotel
#20 of 119 in Anaheim
2,990 reviews
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Anaheim Theme Park Entrance
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hilton Anaheim
Hilton Anaheim
#48 of 119 in Anaheim
4,559 reviews
0.6 mi away
Anaheim Marriott
Anaheim Marriott
#33 of 119 in Anaheim
2,144 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Anaheim (1 BLK/Disneyland)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Paradise Pier Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Paradise Pier Hotel

Address: 1717 S Disneyland Dr, Anaheim, CA 92802-2308
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range: $309 - $620 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Disney's Paradise Pier Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 481
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Return to the heyday of California beachfront boardwalks at Disney's Paradise Pier Hotel. Loaded with special Disney touches, this seaside-themed hotel will carry you on a wave of relaxation, all the way up to the whimsical waterslide at the scenic rooftop pool. Located in the heart of Downtown Disney District, exceptional dining and entertainment are just steps away. Hotel Guests can also enjoy a special entrance through Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa to Disney California Adventure Park with a valid Park ticket. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Disney's Paradise Pier Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Pier Hotel
Disneyland Paradise Pier Hotel
Disney Paradise Pier Hotel
Disneys Paradise Pier Hotel
Disneys Anaheim
Paradise Pier Anaheim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing