We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better Than Expected!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Disney's Paradise Pier Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Disney's Paradise Pier Hotel
Ranked #40 of 118 Hotels in Anaheim
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
51 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Better Than Expected!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

This was my second time staying at Disney's Paradise Pier. The least expensive of all Disneyland Resort Hotels, it is really a good deal (relatively speaking for Disney!). The property is clean and close to the parks. Although there is no direct access to the parks, it is close enough to go back to the room for a break. The walk isn't very far at all... a much better option than a good neighbor hotel. It is my understanding that the hotel used to be owned and operated by another company and Disney took it over and remodeled. If you look closely (room doors, etc) it kind of gives it away that it was not always Disney. Nevertheless, our time at Paradise Pier was really nice. Our sink was not draining when we checked in, but upon reporting it, they promptly repaired it....most of the staff was friendly and helpful. The extra magic hour (early admission to the parks) is a big bonus! This hotel is a great option for those who want a Disney experience but without a huge Disney price tag.

Room Tip: The California Adventure view rooms are pricey, but the view is great! You can see the World of Col...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Milly6020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    753
    865
    370
    122
    71
See reviews for
1,440
250
31
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (576)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tracy, CA
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

Our family of 6 is yearly Disneyland attendees & we usually stay at the Grand California or the Disneyland Hotel, but decided to take a chance on the less expensive Paradise Pier for this trip. We were pleasantly surprised with the hotel. It has that same Disney sparkle of the other hotels. The rooms and public areas were extremely clean, the staff was very friendly and helpful, the pool area is great & a nice place to view the fireworks if you're not at the park. All rooms have refrigerators & we made a special request for a microwave in our room & it was there when we got there. Although there is not a direct access to the parks, it is not far to walk through the Grand CA or to the monorail. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pcase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaumont, Texas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

Keeping in mind that Paradise pier is the least expensive on-site Disney hotel, we were satisfied with it. The hotel staff is friendly, although a bit bumbling sometimes, and all areas of the hotel are very clean. Laundry services and the business service room are open 24 hours. We had a pool- view room, and the pool is cute, but a lot of the surrounding area is parking lot. The upper level park view rooms have a great view of the world of color show and the big ferris wheel. We decided that it might be worth the extra money to stay in one of those next time, however, being able to see the pool from our room saved us a trip downstairs to check if it was too crowded.
This leads me to my main issue with the hotel: while the room did feel spacious, the hotel areas are too small. When the weather is nice, there are too many people in the pool to enjoy it; it should really be enlarged. Also, at times when traffic is heavy, like when the parks open and close, there is a wait for elevators. The hotel has three elevators, but only two travel down from upper floors. Some people were waiting fifteen minutes or more for an elevator. There is also not a good place in this hotel to grab a quick breakfast before heading to the park. There is a small counter that sells muffins, I think, but it offers no real menu.
We would definitely stay at Paradise Pier again, though. The rooms are cute and include enough room for five without feeling cramped. They also had a little table stored under the desk that rolls around to allow extra table space for coloring or whatever. The downstairs gift shop was large and had lots of fun stuff to look at. We enjoyed the colorful motif of the beach theme, and we didn't mind the short walk across the street and through the Grand Californian to reach the parks. Overall, we liked the hotel, but realized it's just a little too small for the amount of guests it holds.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank knnorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois City, Illinois
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed here previously so this was our second stay. We were booked at the villas at the Grand Californian for the rest of our trip. However when our plans changed and we couldn't get into the villas we decided to try PPH again. We have stayed at all 3 of the Disneyland Resort Hotels and although this hotel is the least themed of the three the rooms are very nice and some of the views of DCA are amazing. We went for standard room view this time (a few years back had theme park view). Our room was on the 3rd floor and overlooked the corner of the villas of the Grand and the back side of Goofy's Sky Coaster in DCA. Overall a very nice standard view. The rooms have a day bed in them which was nice for our teens ages 16 and 19 so they can each have their own sleeping arrangements. The hotel and room are clean and the everyone is very nice. Overall this wouldn't be our first choice of the 3 hotels for a longer stay but that is because of personal preference nothing to do with the hotel itself. I would recommend to anyone especially if they are looking for on-site hotel that is a bit cheaper than the other 2 on-site resorts.
Definitely a good choice

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mdoyle11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
64 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

We were misinformed and realized only after we arrived that there was no direct access to the parks. We had to cross the road to Grand California hotel (5-7mins) and used their direct entry to California adventure park. To go to Disneyland park, It is even further. One has to walk 10mins to the Disney downtown (there are shops and some shopping here), then take a monorail. Tedious right?

Therefore the only benefit we can think of staying at the Disney hotel is the one hour earlier admission to park. Could have stayed at other hotels in Anaheim that provide shutter to parks or park near the parks. Parking at the hotel is not free by the way.

At check in, the lady seemed nice at first, welcomed us to their hotel, passed us the welcome package, keys etc. All seemed impressive.. We thanked her and went up to our room. Then the key card can't access the room! Hubby went down twice while I was left standing outside the room waiting. All this after a long drive. After all the running back and forth the lobby, then hubby realized why we can't get into the room. The room number "7" was "4". Incredible right? But her handwritting was so that both of us were mistaken! Then when we finally got into our room, we saw two twin beds! We checked in as a couple obliviously, why would we want twin beds? We did specify the bed type when we booked the room! We went down together this time with all the luggage and asked the same lady why she assigned us a twin bed. Her friendliness disappeared and said there were no double bed rooms left. We found it unacceptable with the room number mixed up and wrong type of room. Then another staff heard us complaining and he asked another lady to start checking the system. And hey presto, there's another room with the double bed. We did not get any upgrade by the way. We got the same kind of room we booked. We accepted the new
room but were already disappointed with the service!

The room is nice and cheerful though. Our room overlooked the slide pool. Nobody used the pool in Jan when we visited, so it was quite quiet. We wondered if it would be noisy during the warmer days. No fireworks or park view from our room.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charmainee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

We loved staying here. It really does add to the magical experience of Disneyland to stay at one of their properties. No complaints except the Wi Fi. It really does stink. They should really not even offer it since it doesn't work. And I hated paying $15 a night to park. But that won't effect my rating because I loved the hotel so much.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maui, Hawaii
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

This was a first time visit to Paradise Pier, we booked a Passholder Discount rate. We usually stay at a good neighbor property and wanted to stay on-site to take advantage of the early morning hours for resort guests. We were very happy with the location. You may pay a little more but the convenience and perks make up for the price. Its nice to walk back to your room for a little nap and then be back in the parks within minutes. We used the pool. Kids loved the mini-slide. We didn't use the restaurants on site as we were always in the park as much as possible. WiFi connection was good. The only downside was the guys working at the Bell/Valet Desk. We checked in and were greeted by a guy and he was nice. It started the first impression. We checked in and the cast member who assisted us was very friendly and took the time to ensure all our needs were met. I forgot her name but I believe she was from the UK originally. We got our keys and proceeded to our car to unload the bags. No one approached us for help. We self parked our car so while I went to park the car, my wife and children dealt with our bags. It would have been nice if a cast member approached her and asked if she needed help, no one did even though there were two cast members at the bell desk in the atrium and 2 to 3 others outside. You have to wonder......
Aside from that disappointment, the room was nice, we overlooked the pool but that didn't matter as we were hardly in the room. It was clean and fresh. We would consider staying at Paradise Pier in the future.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank okden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
0.2 mi away
Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Disneyland Hotel
Disneyland Hotel
#17 of 118 in Anaheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,699 reviews
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Anaheim Theme Park Entrance
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Disneyland Resort Area
0.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn Anaheim Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Paradise Pier Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Paradise Pier Hotel

Property: Disney's Paradise Pier Hotel
Address: 1717 S Disneyland Dr, Anaheim, CA 92802-2308
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Family Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Disney's Paradise Pier Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 481
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Return to the heyday of California beachfront boardwalks at Disney's Paradise Pier Hotel. Loaded with special Disney touches, this seaside-themed hotel will carry you on a wave of relaxation, all the way up to the whimsical waterslide at the scenic rooftop pool. Located in the heart of Downtown Disney District, exceptional dining and entertainment are just steps away. Hotel Guests can also enjoy a special entrance through Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa to Disney California Adventure Park with a valid Park ticket. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Disney's Paradise Pier Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Pier Hotel
Disneyland Paradise Pier Hotel
Disney Paradise Pier Hotel
Disneys Paradise Pier Hotel
Disneys Anaheim
Paradise Pier Anaheim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing