We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great affordable Disney Property Hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Disney's Paradise Pier Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Disney's Paradise Pier Hotel
Ranked #38 of 117 Hotels in Anaheim
Racine, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great affordable Disney Property Hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

It is always a benefit to stay on Disney property versus a separate hotel..... Easy access throughout property, parks open early for guests, some discounts, etc..... We had two adjoining rooms on the 11th floor overlooking California Adventureland. That is the way to go with young kids.... You can see the entire World of Color show from your room and they have a TV station with the correct music playing. It beats dragging tired kids through the park at 10pm to see it. Beds were comfortable, free wireless, very clean, plenty of towels. Our room had a fridge, safe, ironing board, hair dryer, sofa, desk, extra blankets, and a playpen in the closet ready to go. Restaurants at this hotel were pretty basic. You can get breakfast cheaper inside the parks rather than doing the buffet in the hotel restaurant.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank Julie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    736
    833
    360
    115
    66
See reviews for
1,389
238
31
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (554)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

Went in 2012.

Good - Location. Easy park access. Easy to return to hotel room when tired from walking in the park. Good view of fire works from hotel pool.

Bad - Service. Front desk terrible, bell boy service terrible. Arrived at 1400 Had to wait way past 1600 to check in. Everything was wait, wait for room, wait for service, wait for bags. Ended up carrying my own bags.

Had better service at other good neighbor hotels.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank illuminated2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
126 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

Other reviewers have noted, this hotel costs a lot for the room and amenities. However, we found that location paid off for us. Located directly across from the DCA park, there is a gate inside the Grand Californian that guests of this hotel can also use. We found this was super convenient and worth the premium rate. The other option is a 10-15 minute walk to downtown Disney area to access either theme park.

Room was average size. They had a small desk in one corner. This freed up space for a day-bed, which folded down easily and really worked better than a typical sleeper sofa. So the room was perfect for our party of 5. Above average bedding and linens. Decor had a whimsical beach theme with tasteful Disney accents.

Bathroom was a good size with tub. Sinks and toilet are in the same room, so you'll need to plan your family prep time accordingly.

As far as services, we had a great experience with lobby concierge and gift shop. Service in the bar and coffee shop was pretty spotty, unfortunately. Did not use the restaurant, gym, or pool.

Room Tip: A high floor on the east side will give you a nice view of Disney California Adventure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cliff_rock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul, MN
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

There is absolutely no reason to stay here and pay this kind of money for what you get. You will find nicer accommodations nearby for much less money. Sure, it's convenient to be a little closer to some aspects of the Disney property, but depending on where you stay you will actually find off-site hotels that are closer to the entrance gates. We were chumps and fell for the promotion of getting into the parks 1 hour earlier by staying at a Disney hotel. It was not worth it. The room was very small and had nothing special about it. Those who compare it to a Holiday Inn are correct. The pool area is small for the size of the hotel and the hot tub was packed with adults and kids alike so we never could use it. The assistance at the front desk was slow. If you can afford the even bigger price tag of the Californian, then maybe stay there if you have your heart set on staying on-site but this was a joke. A very expensive joke. Stay nearby, before your trip buy one of the "Unofficial" Disney guidebooks which give step-by-step guides on exactly how to tour the parks while making the most of your time and follow it!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank momofour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester, NY
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed four nights, from 3/20 to 3/24. We have a four year old and a six year old, both boys. We all loved DIsneyland, and staying in a Disney hotel was the best decision. Proximity to all and the complete Disney experience are worth paying a little extra. It was great not to have to deal with driving and parking.

Our hotel room was comfortable, though we spent very little time in it. The room was quiet. One thing I noticed was that the sink and shower head are very low, almost as if they are more designed for children than for adults. That wasn't a big deal, but we found it a little humorous. For the first three days of our stay, the pool at Paradise Pier was closed, so we were welcomed to the pool at the Disneyland Hotel, which was amazing for us and for our kids. It is a much nicer pool with three big waterslides, all of which were fine for our kids who have learned to swim, but just barely. Two of the slides are fine for non-swimmers. There is a big splash area for the kids, as well. There are two hot tubs and plenty of comfortable chairs and chaise lounges all around the pool area. You have to walk outside of the gate to get to the bar by the Disneyland Hotel pool, but it is easy to do and the bar/grill, Trader Sam's, is cute and fun. We hung out each afternoon following our park excursions and got beers while we watched the kids go on the slides. The pool at Paradise Pier is also nice, and there is a hot tub and the bar is adjoined to the pool area. There is only one waterslide at Paradise Pier, but is is fun... I went down it too. Even if it is chilly outside, when the sun is out, the pool areas are warm because the wind is blocked and the pools are situated to soak up all of the sun.

I must mention the fantastic service level we experienced at these hotels. The character breakfasts at Surf's Up, the Paradise Pier restaurant, were super. There were so many characters who went out of their way to play with and get pictures with our boys and the little dances and games they put on for the kids were great. The buffet was delicious, there was no wait time and the staff was very professional and courteous. We also had breakfast at Goofy's Kitchen next door, but it was dark and kind of boring compared to Surf's Up. The bartenders at Trader Sam's were the fastest I have seen and on the second afternoon, the bartender remembered the two types of beer I had tried in spite of being extremely busy. I did not encounter one disgruntled employee at the hotels or in the Disneyland Park.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Momchelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

The staff at the hotel were awesome and really took care of us. They made our 6-year-old daughter feel special for her birthday, upgraded our room and the guest services person was amazing, helping us with everything from booking a character breakfast, figuring out what opened when in the parks and checking us in for our flights. The character breakfast was fun, with many characters and dancing fun for the kids. The only thing that was not great was the pool being closed for construction. We were told that we could use the pools at the Disneyland hotel, which we tried to do on our last day, but we had trouble getting into the pool area. There was no one around so we had to ask a janitor for help from a nearby lobby. Once we got in we could use the pools fine, but found no changing rooms or showers to change to go back to the hotel. There were restrooms and an outdoor cold shower. Not fun. I had asked about changing rooms before we went to the pool and was told that there were changing rooms. I did not fancy walking back to the hotel dripping wet, so my daughter & I dried and changed in the restrooms.

Room Tip: View room is TOTALLY worth it! Watch world of color from window with music through the TV.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cooroy, Australia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

We arrived at 9 am after our 13 hour flight and our room was ready. Check was smooth , we picked up our hopper tickets from the front desk too so we were ready to roll. Up the glass elevator( which we used the whole time with no drama) to the 14 th floor and walked into our room, looked outside to the most amazing site.

The room was spacious for the four of us, beds comfortable too. I have read people complain about the pressure in the showers, I didnt find that a prob it just took a while for the water to heat up.

The club lounge was great, wonderful selection of food in the evenings, we ate there 3 of the 4 nights. Hot items included mini quiche, pork stuffed mushrooms and pineapple and steak mini kebabs. Also lovely fresh vege and fruit, cheese , salsa and yummy desserts including the choc covered strawberries. Drinks included beer and wine, fruit juice, soda and coffee, tea and hot chocolate.

I found the distance to the park aprox 10 mins cutting thru The Grand, otherwise another few mins to downtown Disney, no big deal really.

On the day we checked out we had breakfast at Surfs Up, it was really fun, food good, there wasn't many people so the characters spent a lot of time with us. Mickey, Minnie, Pluto, and Stitch.

Would we stay again, for sure!! We had an amazing time at Disneyland and DCA and staying here just made it more enjoyable :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank sandan77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
0.2 mi away
Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Disneyland Hotel
Disneyland Hotel
#17 of 117 in Anaheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,568 reviews
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Anaheim Theme Park Entrance
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground
0.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn Anaheim Resort
0.7 mi away
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
#4 of 117 in Anaheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Paradise Pier Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Paradise Pier Hotel

Property: Disney's Paradise Pier Hotel
Address: 1717 S Disneyland Dr, Anaheim, CA 92802-2308
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Family Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Disney's Paradise Pier Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 481
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Return to the heyday of California beachfront boardwalks at Disney's Paradise Pier Hotel. Loaded with special Disney touches, this seaside-themed hotel will carry you on a wave of relaxation, all the way up to the whimsical waterslide at the scenic rooftop pool. Located in the heart of Downtown Disney District, exceptional dining and entertainment are just steps away. Hotel Guests can also enjoy a special entrance through Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa to Disney California Adventure Park with a valid Park ticket. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity and HotelsforEveryone so you can book your Disney's Paradise Pier Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Pier Hotel
Disneyland Paradise Pier Hotel
Disney Paradise Pier Hotel
Disneys Paradise Pier Hotel
Disneys Anaheim
Paradise Pier Anaheim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing