We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Third Time--Excellent Service Again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Disney's Paradise Pier Hotel
Ranked #41 of 118 Hotels in Anaheim
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
65 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Third Time--Excellent Service Again”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We stayed at Paradise Pier in 2006, 2010 and just returned from another visit of four nights. We have always found the staff and rooms to be excellent and this visit was no exception. Our room had a wonderful view of California Adventure. We did have a hiccup this visit but it’s not always what happens but how the hotel handles it. After two nights we came back to our room to find painters plastic covering our entire window and more importantly blocking our entire view! This was unacceptable to us and we called the front desk immediately. They agreed to move us however the hotel was almost completely booked and there were few choices. We moved from the 11th floor with a marvelous view to the 4th floor almost directly above the entrance of the hotel. We were not pleased. The Hotel agreed to move us to the 9th floor the next night. My husband paid a visit to the front desk in person to make sure they understood the importance of returning us to a room with a view. The entire staff could not have been more accommodating. The Lead Bell Captain was extremely helpful as was the Front Desk and Guest Services. The following day they text us our new room number while we were enjoying the park and when we returned to the hotel we checked into our third room. It was a bit of a hassle but worth it as we had a wonderful view of the park again. We understood they need to maintain the hotel however this could have been a real bone of contention if they had not handled it properly.

The bed and pillows are extremely comfortable and the room has lots of storage. We are a couple but I could see a bit of an issue for a family travelling together as the sink, toilet and shower are all in one area. The Hotel is surprisingly very quiet.

As part of the Disney Resort we are always a bit disappointed in the Paradise Pier’s lobby—except for Christmas time the Lobby is very underwhelming. Not sure why they do not put more effort into making it more inviting.

We most certainly will be going back to “The Happiest Place on Earth” and our hotel of choice will be Paradise Pier for the 4th time!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pupepause
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    778
    884
    383
    126
    73
See reviews for
1,483
257
31
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (590)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Close to the Park(s). Friendly staff and very informed. Nicely decorated rooms. Clean and very comfortable. We took a 4 year old and she loved it. Too busy to use the pool, but we did check it out and it looked nice. They have a water slide too.

Room Tip: We had a room on the 10th Floor overlooking California Adventure. It was awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stayed at the Paradise Pier hotel for a family event that was occurring at the Disney Hotel. Our discounted group rate was still well over $200/night for non-view rooms.
Pros:
Staff at front desk was helpful and friendly.
Proximity to Downtown Disney, Disneyland and California Adventure Parks.
Ability to go one of the parks 1 hour early (Magic Hours) each day your room key is valid.
Special entrance to California park via Grand Californian Hotel
Personalized roomkeys are a cute keepsake
Room was pretty sound proofed.

Cons:
High cost for nothing really special.
Noise! With so many families you just can't escape the noise in the common areas.
Furniture was showing wear and tear.
Pillows and such were dirty so made us wonder about the quality of the housekeeping.
**Unless you ask for more frequent service - the bed linens are changed every 4th day.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keepermom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
104 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

To be fair, my review of this place is a little jaundiced. My family are not Disney people. This hotel was also not my first choice for a Disneyland vacation, but special extended family circumstances made this place the choice for our first real extended Disneyland adventure. I can't say there wasn't anything that offended us other than the length of time it took one day for housekeeping to even bother getting to our room, but there is nothing special enough here for us to even consider staying at any of the Disney hotels.

The positives: other than the one day of our five day stay where housekeeping had not gotten to our room by 3:30 pm (with children needing a nap, we settled for just asking for garbage removal and fresh towels), all Disney "cast members" (the staff) were friendly and helpful. We were always greeted with a smile and inquiries if we needed help for anything. Our two queen room was reasonably spacious, and was immaculately cleaned by the housekeeping. The pool area was not that crowded the two times we used it, including a 10 am trip where we were the only people using the pool and slide. The restaurant staff are obviously used to dealing with small children, and took great pains to avoid the running children and messy babies.

The negatives: Did you know that Disneyland has the best security system for park goers. They have the abilty to suck everything out of your pockets, especially money. OK, I get that you are paying a premium to be at Disneyland for anything, but the gouges are at every turn. To eat on the amusement park was like waiting in line for the rides - a lot of energy and money spent to get very little. We ate at Goofy's Kitchen one night, and at $36 a head for a buffet, I expect a lot more in variety and quality. The food was better at the two other times we ate at a sitdown restaurant in the Grand Californian, but you don't get value for the $27 you pay for your buffet meal, and the pricing for the a la carte pushes you towards the buffets. I don't even want to talk about the hot food on the amusement grounds. And park pass prices? Obscene if you aren't a Southern California resident.

As far as the hotel itself goes: for $225 a night that we paid, I expect much more. Internet access is free, but this place had one of the slowest broadband connections I have ever seen. When I was observing how fast the data was coming through at on my computer, it was coming in at 80K/second, which is just slightly faster than dialup. I thought it might have been only on occasion, but it was consistently slow, peaking at 125K. A hotel of this size only had three elevators, and they often filled up, leaving you to wait again and again for an emptier car. For a family hotel, having such a pathetically small fridge left me cold. And if you're going to install flat screen TVs, at least have some HD programming. Parking in the garage was another $15 a night. And soundproofing from the road noise was a joke.

I figure that a comparable hotel room in the area would be be in the $100-150 range. The premium you pay to stay at Disneyland wasn't worth it in our eyes. To stay 5 days and only get one Magic Hour pass that gets you into the amusement parks an hour earlier? Thanks for nothing. Was it convenient to be able to just walk back to our hotel when our children needed a break? Yes. Was it worth it? No.

A rating of 2 seemed a little too harsh, and 3 seems a little high. I would give this place a 4 if I didn't take pricing into account, and 1 if I do. If and when our family decides to go to Disneyland again, we will stay off the resort.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is farther away from Katella Avenue, and possibly not facing Disney Drive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blkjck5697
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
157 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

If you do one thing for your kids on a Disney holiday have the Character Breakfast at Paradise Pier Hotel. You can now make a ressie via email, which was great for us coming from overseas. The kids loved breakfast and we enjoyed getting the photos with the Characters and their autographs. For the rest of the day the kids were quite relaxed if they saw Mickey at Disneyland as they'd had a lot of time with him at breakfast, so we didn't need to stand in long lines to get a photo. Magic stuff.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank kapitibeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler
Level Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Always clean, staff is friendly and has the magic of Disney. Easy walk to the parks, you can go to the Grand Californian to enter California Adventure. They pipe in the music for the fireworks from the rooftop pool. The rooms have Disney Channels, a decent size fridge and you can upgrade to a park view to watch world of color. Great stay!

Room Tip: If you don't have a room with a view then ask to be placed in a lower floor. Elevators get reall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bikramchandler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We can fault nothing with this stay! Every staff member we came across, from reception to room service to the park entry was fantastic and they were always in "character", which made it an amazing experience.
The extra hour early park entry for Disney hotel guests really helped getting on the most popular rides before the big crowds.
We purchased the Disney Photopass in the park on our first day which cost USD99.00 and it was fantastic value. Every photo opportunity from rides, restaurants and roving photographers was included in our pass, including hard copy presentation folders at the theme restaurants. Breakfast with Mickey is pretty special!
The hotel was clean and the attention to detail in the room was amazing, mickeys and other characters everywhere!
Highly recommend it. Whilst the Disney California Grand looked double amazing is was also way above our budget!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Amanda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
0.2 mi away
Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Disneyland Hotel
Disneyland Hotel
#18 of 118 in Anaheim
2,815 reviews
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Anaheim Theme Park Entrance
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn Anaheim Resort
0.8 mi away
Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground
0.6 mi away
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
#5 of 118 in Anaheim
1,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Paradise Pier Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Paradise Pier Hotel

Property: Disney's Paradise Pier Hotel
Address: 1717 S Disneyland Dr, Anaheim, CA 92802-2308
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Family Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Disney's Paradise Pier Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 481
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Return to the heyday of California beachfront boardwalks at Disney's Paradise Pier Hotel. Loaded with special Disney touches, this seaside-themed hotel will carry you on a wave of relaxation, all the way up to the whimsical waterslide at the scenic rooftop pool. Located in the heart of Downtown Disney District, exceptional dining and entertainment are just steps away. Hotel Guests can also enjoy a special entrance through Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa to Disney California Adventure Park with a valid Park ticket. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Disney's Paradise Pier Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Pier Hotel
Disneyland Paradise Pier Hotel
Disney Paradise Pier Hotel
Disneys Paradise Pier Hotel
Disneys Anaheim
Paradise Pier Anaheim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing