We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fried Brussel Sprouts? BEST HEALTH FOOD EVER”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Canyon - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Canyon
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Anaheim Hlls
Cross street: Imperial Hwy
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Fried Brussel Sprouts? BEST HEALTH FOOD EVER”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

A colleague and I enjoyed the Canyon on a Saturday evening -- a nice crowd of people were enjoying the Final Four playoffs at the bar. We sat in the restaurant side. The restaurant has a nice atmosphere -- not too loud so it was easy to talk, and the tables weren't close to other tables. This isn't a white tablecloth restaurant, so if fancy is what you are looking for, not here. But it is still a higher-end place. The service was wonderful -- not obtrusive but always hovering if needed. Food was served at a leisurely pace so that we could enjoy our appetizers and some wine, then entree, then dessert without feeling rushed. Food: both of us could have eaten another bowl of the fried brussel sprouts -- lemon aioli enhanced the flavor, and the "fried" didn't taste fried - more crunchy outside with tender inside. Fabulous flavor. The crab spring rolls were okay. The filet mignon was a perfect piece of meat, and perfectly cooked at medium rare. Like butter. The filet mignon chili rellenno was okay. The bananas foster bread pudding was tasty but was more chewy on the crust than I liked -- I like to be able to use only a fork with break pudding, but I needed a knife. My dinner partner had the carrot cake and she said it was yummy. The restaurant is in a nice shopping strip, and no, that is not an oxymoron. I would go again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank saltkettle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    3
    3
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Anaheim Hills, CA
Level Contributor
213 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Just okay.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

Can't say that I was overwhelmed with my dining experience at Canyon. I would say the food is decent but the service is lacking. Food presentation and taste was very good but took a long time to get. We always had to track the servers down. The decor and atmosphere is very nice. Just need to work on the service.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kobesan2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
Level Contributor
128 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Wednesday "Date Night"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

We've been going to Canyon since it's opened. For what ever reason higher end restaurants in this area don't usually do well. It's an upscale community with mid level restaurants.

Canyon takes a stance from it's Newport Beach location, Sage. A new American food style that we really like. I wish more loclas would support Canyon as Chef Rich does an outstanding job.

The latest drwaw is "Date Night". 3-4 courses of beautiful food, including a bottle of nice wine for $55 for a couple. And your not sharing!

This Wednesday we started with Butternut squash rissoto panko sauteed with a fab balsamic reduction. Next came a slice of fried green tomato, on a bed of gorgonzola dressed arugula. Then main was "Chicken Paillard", a chicken breast hammered thin and coated with dijon mustard and panko, quick fried. Big stem of steamed broccoli, and great fettucine with sundried tomatoes, and cherry tomatoes. This was served in a larger bowl, and the pasta was shared. The chicken was almost the size of the plate, half of the main dishes came home for lunch the next day. Dessert was apple pound cake with a golf ball size scoop of pumpkin ice cream. Not too sweet, there was a caramel sauce drizzled on the plate for sweetness. And to top it all off a bottle of Louis Martini '09 Sonoma Cab. Chardonnay as well, but we're red people. All for $55!!

This is so worth it. Good food, as well as nice presentation. Service is always good.

Great Happy Hour Monday - Friday too.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CAwinediva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim Hills, Ca
Level Contributor
69 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Good service, hit and miss food, upscale prices, upscale decor”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2012

Went with a party of 8 for Mother's Day dinner. We tried a large variety of dishes and found many of them very good, and some not so good. A la carte entree prices ranged from about $19 - $27. Good dishes included Pan Seared Scallops over Risotto, meat loaf, steamed mussels in a mildly spicy broth, beef stuffed chile relleno, blue crab louie salad (good flavor, but smallish salad for $24) home made carrot cake (one of the best we ever had), and ricotta doughnuts with chocolate sauce and homemade coffee ice cream. We tried the pankco fried local halibut and the salmon with terriaki and both were overcooked and dry. We tried the crab spring rolls made with blue crab. Not much flavor of crab, but otherwise ok. Two medium sized rolls for $9.00. Tried the lobster in linquine which had a watery sauce without much flavor. They have a happy hour Monday through Thursday with half price appetizers and discounted beer and wine which looks like a pretty good value. The family liked the menu, the service, and the decor. Food was hit and miss. Dinner including a glass of wine for about five people in our party our came to about $50/person including tax, but not tip. They added an automatic 20% tip for our party of 8. They have some outdoor tables that would be pleasant. They have a large, good looking bar inside.
.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ski_dive_fiend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
88 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Top fine dining in area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2012

This is from the people at Sage in Newport. It's food forward, nice setting, Tuesday wine discount night, great bar. Good salads, good service, inventive dishes but also some staples like steak, burger, Cobb salad and a fish or two. Have been here a number of times and no complaints.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kadie123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Canyon also viewed

 
Anaheim, Orange County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing