We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meh.”
Review of Canyon - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Canyon
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Anaheim Hlls
Cross street: Imperial Hwy
Orange County, California
Level 6 Contributor
232 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Meh.”
Reviewed March 2, 2012

Food was so so, lacking in flavor. Service was inattentive. When we walked in it smelled very fishy. We had hoped to find a neighborhood gem and this wasn't it. I might go back for happy hour as they had a decent looking bar.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bubbles911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    3
    3
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pismo Beach, California
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Cuisine in Yorba Linda/Anaheim Hills”
Reviewed February 10, 2012

Eclectic menu, good wine selection, tops in area.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Clemmie_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great for Happy Hour...Not so great for dinner!!”
Reviewed January 7, 2012

My family and friends meet for Happy Hour at Canyon on a regular basis. The food is very reasonable and tasty. The service in the bar area is excellent.
Last night we went with our neighbors for dinner at Canyon. The service was horrible beyond belief. Maybe it was just our waiter but we will never go back and eat in the dining room. Also the food was tasteless. The salmon, chicken, and scallops all tasted the same.
Very tiny protions with very little taste for a high price. Don't go!!!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank punkrockmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newport beach, ca
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Jewel in N. OC”
Reviewed November 8, 2011

If you want an upper-scale dining experience, this is the only place besides Foxfire in North OC. A little new yet, so they need to get their bearings straight. But, nice atmosphere and an overall good experience.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gfinnb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Superior dining and service”
Reviewed September 12, 2011

This restaurant has something for everyone. From the creative menu to the fresh, local ingredients, to the superior service to the warm atmosphere - it all makes for a genuine fine dining experience that isn't fussy.

Fine food that's not fussy? There's even a kid's menu. The kids that enjoy Canyon, from what I've observed, are of the well-behaved variety. :) This is not a place where you'll find screaming kids. I'm not sure how they do it - maybe it's just that parents realize that with the low decibel level of this restaurant, there's not room for cranky kids, but I've only seen quiet and polite kids at this place.

The atmosphere is suited for quiet conversation (you see a lot of couples out on date night here). The service is excellent and helpful. The staff knows the menu, from the local ingredients to the ingenious and frequently changed cocktail offerings to the varied wine list. The item includes recommendations for wine pairings.

The tasting menu changes frequently and gives you a chance to have small tastes of some of the chef's latest creations. This past weekend the tasting menu included a savory chicken sausage and bean soup, a gorgeous tomato salad, the choice of an Asian-flavored mahi mahi dish or a pork entree all followed by a triple chocolate mousse that we shared because frankly, I was really full by that time.

I hope this restaurant stays around, because it's the best thing going in the Anaheim Hills area.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank judysj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Canyon also viewed

 
Anaheim, Orange County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing