We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Rootin Tootin Big Bang for your Buck!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Big Thunder Ranch Barbeque - CLOSED

Big Thunder Ranch Barbeque
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Barbecue, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Lake Tahoe, NV
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“A Rootin Tootin Big Bang for your Buck!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

Best value in Disneyland.. Hands down!

We happened upon Big Thunder Ranch after seeing the excessively long lines and wait at the other options in Frontier Land. No waiting, lots of tables.. seemed like a hidden gem so we gave it the old Bullseye try!

Golly gosh pardner we were sure glad we moseyed in. We were given a choice of sitting with others, or at our own table and we chose our own. Come on.. we left our children at home in Lake Tahoe to take a parents only vacation to Disneyland.. of course we selfishly wanted our own table and were given a very nice area adjacent to the stage.

The all you can eat chicken, ribs, and sides of corn bread, beans and slaw was fantastic. The food quality and flavor was spot on.The ribs were tender and meaty.

Our server was polite, funny, and VERY attentive. He worked hard.

During our meal, we watched two seperate parties walk in with bag lunches. They sat down, spread out.. and looked way classy in doing so.. NOT!

The management however was very classy in escorting them out and doing their best to explain to them they were bringing food in and eating at a restuarant. One party didn't quite seem to get it and say "but there are plenty of tables!".

Our server says this happens alot.. very strange.. Overall.... amazing and next time will bring the kids back... or maybe not.. i want all the ribs for myself!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank RHeffelfinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

515 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    276
    168
    41
    23
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hazelhurst, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
95 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Good food but no entertainment”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

I made a reservation for right when the resturant open up because I know we would be hungry by then. Well the band doesn't start playing until after 1230. We where here for sons B-Day and where really hoping he would get to have happy b-day sang to him. Well we never got to see the band. So if you want to see the band make reservations for after 1230.

The food was really good. We had seconds on the ribs that fell off the bone. Service was great.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mjc12771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seven Hills
Level Contributor
130 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A rollicking good time!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

This restaurant offers good old fashion food and entertainment, The food consists of all you can eat wings and ribs and as much pie and soft drink as you can fit in!
The wait staff are friendly and as much apart of the show as the entertainers on the stage.
This has a friendly atmosphere where you feel genuinely welcomed.
Definitely a great addition to your visit to Disneyland!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank MrsWendyP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carpintera, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“All you eat and more!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

This is a definite Yahoo! lunch spot. Shady picnic tables with an outdoor stage and Western entertainers while you eat until your sides burst.
Everything was good, I mean everything: from the chicken and ribs to the coleslaw, beans and cornbread. At $23 per person I think we got our money's worth. It's easy to spend a lot for every meal and feel like you received less. That wasn't the case with this barbecue meal. Worth the walk into Frontierland.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carpwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
164 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great Relaxed Atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

After spending a busy day at the park, it was a relief to go somewhere shady with a casual atmosphere and good food. A good place to bring the kids! It has wonderful family style food that was all delicious and all you can eat. There are picnic tables outside under the shady trees. They serve it family syle and you get 3 kinds of meat, corn on the cob, cornbread, beans and all is very good. The kids could happily run around or join the country singing on stage. It was quiet and just perfect. Its Disney expensive, but not too bad as far as price.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank junesflame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Thunder Ranch Barbeque also viewed

 
Anaheim, Orange County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing