We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Not the character dining we were expecting” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Plaza Inn

Plaza Inn
Ranked #8 of 843 Restaurants in Anaheim
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Disneyland
Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
105 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Not the character dining we were expecting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

I will start this review from the beginning. We made a reservation for 16 people weeks in advance. When we got there they told us we needed to wait for a table to be prepared. The restaurant was not busy. We had to put our own tables together as the person working there didn't seem to be able to figure it out on her own. We ate our entire breakfast before one character came to our table. It was only after we complained that we did see a few. The food was okay... not great. We have done several character dining in disney world and this was way below the standard we are used to!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank benjietrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

736 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    400
    237
    61
    25
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Spring, Texas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Character Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

This was my first character dining experience. There was a Disney Photopass photographer to take a picture of your party at the door. If you bought the Photopass, they give you an 8x10 picture and a few 4x6s included with your meal. Breakfast is buffet style - several pastries, pancakes, waffles and a create your own omelet station where a cast member will cook your omelet for you! Characters come to visit you at your table, and the variety of characters was great! They vary, but at my breakfast there were several of the classics (Minnie Mouse of course, Chip and Dale, Winnie the Pooh and Tigger too!) as well as some of the more rare characters (Captain Hook, Max Goof and the Fairy Godmother!). Great dining experience for a reasonable price. I'd definitely go again!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
69 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Made reservations the morning we went”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

We did 3 character meals on our vacation to Disneyland. This was the worst of the 3. But it was still good and had lots of characters. It was completely buffet including drinks. So no servers. Also had the smallest selection of food.
The characters were
Minnie
Pluto
Eeyore
Tigger
Captain Hook
Winnie the Poo
Chip
Dale
Mouse from Cinderella
Fairy Godmother

The fairy godmother took my son to get syrup for his waffle because he had none.
It was fun and hope to return some time
I made reservations at 6:30 am for 8:40 through my phone on the disney web site

Helpful?
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, OR
Level Contributor
152 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“The Characters Make The Meals”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

My family did all five character meals (two premium and three regular). Food wise Plaza Inn, PCH Grill and Storyteller’s Café all have the same food. The only real difference is what characters may be there any given day.

The food was okay, but the characters are what made the meal. Do your research and pick which characters you want to see unless you plan to do all of the character meals. Plan on spending an hour to an hour and a half at each meal to meet all of the characters.


For Plaza Inn we saw:

Chip or Dale (sorry I can’t tell them apart)
Captain Hook
Winnie The Pooh
Eeyore
The Fairy Godmother from Cinderella
Minnie Mouse
and Tigger

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TheTickTockMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
67 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Really enjoyed the Fried Chicken”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Definitely no complaints about our meals, but as everyone knows buying a meal for a family is very expensive in Disneyland. The Plaza Inn is no exception. At least everyone ate their all of their food happily so nothing was wasted. I would eat here again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CdnJulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Plaza Inn also viewed

Anaheim, Orange County
Anaheim, Orange County
 
Anaheim, Orange County
Anaheim, Orange County
 

Been to Plaza Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing