We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel w Terrible Mattress”
Review of Anaheim Marriott

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Anaheim Marriott
Ranked #33 of 119 Hotels in Anaheim
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed April 23, 2013

This hotel is located right next to the Convention Center. We were first welcomed at an outside stand on the palm-lined drive to the hotel. Apparently, a message was sent to other staff of our arrival, because everyone thanked us for being a Platinum Elite member.

We were upgraded to Executive Platinum Room 339 with a balcony overlooking a parking lot. It was a nice large room, typical Marriott décor. The older-style bathroom has a low sink, which is great for kids & petite folks like me who usually find hotel sinks uncomfortably high.

Surprisingly, the bed was not the typical comfortable Marriott mattress that we love. In fact, it was the worst I’ve experienced in a Marriott – very soft, springy, uncomfortable & squeaky. You sink into it. I’m petite and still sank into this mattress. (I had the feeling I was getting folded up in it). I kept waking up every 1-2 hours with horrible back pain and pain in both hips. Every time spouse or I would turn, the bed would shake & make springy noises. Since we were here to work at a tradeshow on our feet all day, we needed to be well-rested; but, unfortunately, we never got a good night’s rest. I hope this Marriott will adopt those wonderful mattresses that all the other Marriott’s use.

The TV remote was finicky. It wouldn’t allow us to just change the channel, with the up or down arrow or by punching in the numbers. Instead, we had to first turn off the TV, go through the menu once again, and input the next channel we wanted to watch. Either it needs new batteries or it just was not working right. I feel it is up to the hotel maintenance to go around to each room occasionally to make sure things are working before guests arrive.

Other than the mattress and the TV remote, this was a nice, albeit older, Marriott in need of renovation. It has a nice lobby and a rather good, casual restaurant for a hotel restaurant (Degrees Wine and Patio Bar) that was suitable for business lunches. This Marriott also has a JW Steakhouse and the Café del Sol restaurant. Morton’s is a short walk at the end of the drive. The Concierge lounge is just OK. We’ve seen better & we’ve seen worse.

Room Tip: Executive Platinum Room is very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Souris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danomatic, Director of Sales at Anaheim Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Thank you for being a Platinum Elite Member, we appreciate your loyalty! We appreciate your feedback about your stay and will share it with the management team. Let us know when something isn't working for you in your room right away next time and we'll be happy to assure your needs are tended to. Again, thank you and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,112)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,386 - 1,392 of 2,113 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

The Rooms Were Ok, Check In On The Slow Side. But We Felt Like We Got What We Paid For. We Were In Town Strictly For A Volleyball Tournament. There Just Happened To Be A Cheer Comp. In Town Also, So Needless To Say It Was Really Busy. But That's To Be Expected At The Convention Center. Over All It Was nice To Be Realy Close.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emansully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danomatic, Director of Sales at Anaheim Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

We're sorry that you caught us during a busy period, but we're happy to hear that you still had a comfortable and convenient stay with us. Thank you for your feedback, and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

And here's why:

This has got to be the WORST hotel I have ever stayed in. Issue one-the yapping dog a few doors down from us. We moved rooms. Issue two-there were roaches in our second room. We moved rooms AGAIN. Issue three-there were more roaches in our third room. We gave up at that point. Had we not booked this room as part of a Disneyland package, we would have demanded our money back. I will NEVER stay here again. Travelers beware!

Room Tip: Don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Samantha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danomatic, Director of Sales at Anaheim Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

We are very sorry about all the inconveniences during your stay. We are also concerned that the challenges you experienced were not immediately handled by our guest service team. Our hotel has a no pet policy, except for service animals. Regular dogs are not allowed, especially a yapping dog that would disturb other guests. We also have a pest control service that is on call 24/7. If a guest were to ever notify us about a roach problem, it would be handled immediately. We looked through our manager reports for the past few weeks and did not see a report about a yapping dog or roaches. Can you please confirm that you stayed at the Anaheim Marriott on 700 Convention Way? Also, please let us know how we can contact you directly to rectify the situation. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

The hotel looks pretty enough, but rooms are in need of updates. It was crowded but I was there for a Natl conference.

The service from the maid staff, valets, and concierge was great! The Guests Guide (that it is in every hotel room ever) was very outdated and included services that they no longer offer, such as free breakfasts, free afternoon snacks, etc. The pool was freezing, but the hot tub was nice. The restaurants were expensive for what they offered and the deli/Starbucks was ridiculously expensive.

On the technology front, there was some confusion over wifi ; was it offered to guests, was it free (not according to the Guest Guide), and the only access to computers (other than for printing boarding passes) was through paid services by the onsite FedEx/Kinkos.

The location is great for conferences, Disney and other nearby attractions, but outside of that Anaheim is not exactly the best place to be.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AKonarski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danomatic, Director of Sales at Anaheim Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013

Thanks for staying with us and sharing your thoughts. Wifi is actually free in the common areas. Thanks for pointing out the Guest Guide, we'll be sure to take a look at those. We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Check in took too long, I was the only one in line. Rooms are starting to look dated. What can you do, it is close to the convention center and it is a Marriott. The JW restaurant was not open regular hours which was challenging, it has been reliable in the past. Love the Starbucks/food market in the hotel.

Requested extra towels, had to ask several times.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bpbeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danomatic, Director of Sales at Anaheim Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your thoughts with us. We appreciate the feedback and will be sure to address the issue with getting extra towels. JWs is now only open for specific occasions but Cafe del Sol is open regularly. We hope that you'll come see us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

We stayed for three days and the service was excellent. The staff was friendly and the breakfast buffet was great. I would recommend this hotel to anyone! The Pool was in the shade by 2:30. It is very close to everything disney.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Duke33423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danomatic, Director of Sales at Anaheim Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013

Thank you for the kind words! We really appreciate your recommendation, and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Obviously with it being next to the Conference Centre it's full of people with Lanyards trying to look important, milling around drinking Starbucks, never the less its ideally placed for a trip to Disney which was the purpose of our visit. well appointed rooms with a fridge and good selection of TV channels and most appear to have a balcony, it's just a pity people use them for smoking on......and think it doesn't effect anyone else by doing this @#%!...anyway the Room Service is excellent as is the Maid Service but wall are thin and you can clearly hear the next doors room alarm go off on a morning, oh be aware of no free wifi in your room (which is sad) and unreasonable parking charges.
It's a 15min safe walk to Disney or you can get the ART outside the Hotel, the Hilton opposite overshadows the Marriott and would also be worth a try as it looks a bit sleeker, but I don't have any real complaints about the Marriott it's a well run 'machine' and would happily stay again if in the area.

Room Tip: Higher the better, ask for Balcony facing Disney.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Liam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danomatic, Director of Sales at Anaheim Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013

Thank you for the great (and humorous) review! We're glad that you had a convenient stay with us during your Disneyland vacation, and we hope you were able to stay connected with the free WiFi in the Lobby. We hope to see you again if you're back in the area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Anaheim
Hilton Anaheim
#48 of 119 in Anaheim
4,503 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place at Anaheim Resort/Convention Center
0.4 mi away
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
#4 of 119 in Anaheim
1,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel
0.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn Anaheim Resort
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Park Hotel at the Anaheim Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anaheim Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anaheim Marriott

Address: 700 W Convention Way, Anaheim, CA 92802-3483
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Anaheim
#3 Luxury Hotel in Anaheim
#5 Business Hotel in Anaheim
#11 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
#23 Family Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range: $151 - $413 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Anaheim Marriott 4*
Number of rooms: 1033
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anaheim Marriott combines highly-appointed accommodations and superior service to rank among the best hotels in Anaheim. An ideal choice for a family trip, discover dream vacations made easy from one of the top hotels near Downtown Disney. Anaheim guest rooms and suites feature contemporary decor and upscale amenities. Unique among Anaheim hotels, experience nFuse, a stylish bar and restaurant offering fresh California cuisine, handcrafted cocktails, and an impressive wine list. For a quick lunch or snack, visit our on-site Marketplace or Starbucks. After a day of sightseeing or meetings, enjoy a workout in our state-of-the-art fitness center, soak up the sun at our resort-style pool, enjoy a snack on our dining deck or cozy up by the fire pit. Plan seamless business trips to our hotel near the Anaheim Convention Center. With over 100,000 square feet of event space, our hotel in Anaheim is perfect for conferences, weddings and banquets. Enjoy an unforgettable Southern California stay at Anaheim Marriott. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Anaheim Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Anaheim Hotel Anaheim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing