We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was here for Siggraph Conference”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel
Ranked #36 of 118 Hotels in Anaheim
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 28, 2013

I arrived late --- about 1 a.m. --- and was greeted by a friendly and professional staff member who got me checked in quickly and answered all of my initial questions about the area/hotel.
The room was clean and comfortable and ready for my stay; and, although I didn't use them, there is also a pool and hot tub..couldn't have asked for better, and the per night rate was very acceptable for the location. If you're looking for a good clean room, at a good price, and in a good location, I definitely recommend the Portofino!

Close to local transportation, within walking distance to Disney and Garden Walk, and right beside the Anaheim convention center; there's also an iHOP across the street that is open 24hrs and a 7-11 on the corner at the end of the block. Save some gas money, or forget the car rental altogether and use shuttle service from LAX/Ontario. The Portofino is an excellent alternative to much pricier digs. Other establishments might give you more, but consider the fact you're NOT in Anaheim to hang out in a hotel for a week...if you do, then you're not meant to go on vacation 'til you're ready for one! All you need is a clean comfortable room, customer service with a smile, all in a good location...and the Portofino has this 'in spades!'

Now...the cons: Target is the closest for grocery items and it's a 20min walk. If you're used to the preened, cookie cutter views of suburbia, then you may feel a little less comfortable at this end of town...still it's not really that bad. Remember, you can find problems anywhere, and if you're looking for one it probably will find you.
2nd: There's some construction going on adjacent to the hotel, however the work was only happening during the day. This doesn't make for the best views of the area, but if you do this right, you'll never be around during the day and at night you'll be too tired to nit-pick about things that just don't matter.
Lastly: It never bothered me, but keep in mind, the kids are likely ten times more excited to be there than you...this is the truth of things...it's Disney after all, and that excitement will translate in to some shuffling up and down the halls and some screams and laughter. Just keep in mind all the happy moments we all had as kids and understand that Disney only amplifies it a bit...don't worry, they all eventually get out of the hotel, or go to sleep.

Do not overlook this hotel when planning your Disney vacation or conference!!

Room Tip: Look into the Suite if you're bringing the kids/Check out the Hotel's Disney/attractions tic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 84monk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,697)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,106 - 1,112 of 1,697 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2013

the hotel was fine. it looks gorgeous from the outside, but is rather simple on the inside. there is no continental breakfast, no newspaper in the morning, free parking in the garage -which is a nice convenience, and there is no free shuttle to the park. if you are accustomed to those perks, you will miss them; but it was close to the parks and clean and staff was responsive to our inquiries and requests for extra sundries. we would stay again.

Room Tip: beds and privacy and a bathroom/shower to get ready in. good enough to put your head on a pillow for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

about 15 minute walk from disney, door to door. we stayed in room with bunks, so separation from main sleeping area, good for families. service was good. rooms clean. there is a construction site next to part of hotel facing disney. they start work around 8am i think, and are done by sleep time.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danierik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

The room was advertised for $125 but then you get an additional $18 occupancy fee and a $10 resort fee ! ... I found this rather upsetting especially given the fact that the TVs lose the connection almost every 5 minutes

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmRegards, General Manager at Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Dear Michel S,

Thank you for your recent stay and for completing the review. Standardly, when booking a reservation online or through our reservation center the daily rate and charges are itemized or reviewed, respectfully. Upon receipt of your email confirmation all charges are again listed. There are times when booking through a third party travel site, a few clicks are necessary to view the itemized charges. We apologize for any miscommunication and inconvenience that occurred. Your patience and understanding is appreciated, as is your valued feedback.

Best,
Mitch Healy, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We obtained a suite to hold our family of 6. Upon arrival we found there were 4 pillows, called front desk, asked for 4 more... we received 2 more and told that was all they had. Asked for an extra blanket finally received on 3rd request. Ironing board was broken and would not stand unless leaning against wall. Toilet clogged 5 different times which I had to unclog myself after a plunger was left by staff. Ease of electrical outlets was little to none. Front staff was VERY hesitant to assist in payment situation on departure. Even when I was able to supply all parties names and times of who were aware of situation.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helena L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmRegards, General Manager at Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2013

Dear Helena L,

We apologize for the inconveniences that you and your family experienced while staying with us. When operating at full capacity, there are times when we receive quite a lot and requests and supplies run low. We have followed up and noted your comments on extra pillows and the ironing board in your room. Our staff is committed to listening to our guests' feedback and making the necessary changes and improvements. We appreciate your insight and hope to have the opportunity to deliver an improved and impressive stay to you and your family in the near future.

Best Regards,
Mitch Healy, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Intermittent to No Air Conditioning, This is unacceptable.
Significant Construction Noise (M-F) from next door. Need to notify prior to stay.
Thin Walls (Baby Crying Heavily 2 Doors Down). Motel will not intervene.
May have to park at a different motel. Overflow parking at Jolly Roger.
We've stayed at many 3 Star establishments. This is not a 3 star establishment.
Any Dollar Savings Is Not Worth The Hassles.

Room Tip: Try a different hotel/motel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lawrence M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmRegards, General Manager at Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2013

Dear Lawrence M,

We are sincerely sorry. Intermittent to no air conditioning is unacceptable, and we have followed up on this, as it is a very rare occasion when our maintenance team is not able to resolve any issues that our guest may experience with our air conditioning. Please accept our apology for the inconveniences described in your review. Thank you for taking the time to complete the review and bring these important details to our attention.

Sincerely,
Mitch Healy, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed at this hotel last summer too. It was a very different experience this time . We really enjoyed the freedom of 2 pools last time. This time there was only one and nowhere was it told of the change. It's very small and crowded for the size of the hotel if we had known that we would of checked out completely and found another location with better pools. Room were nice.

Room Tip: In kids suites it would be better to have rearranged so bunk beds and sofa sleeper all had view of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crystal7072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
#5 of 118 in Anaheim
1,216 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Anaheim (1 BLK/Disneyland)
0.3 mi away
Cortona Inn & Suites Anaheim Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Desert Palms Hotel & Suites
0.2 mi away
Castle Inn and Suites
Castle Inn and Suites
#17 of 118 in Anaheim
1,694 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Anaheim
Hilton Anaheim
#47 of 118 in Anaheim
4,396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel

Address: 1831 S Harbor Blvd, Anaheim, CA 92802-3509
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Anaheim
#41 Family Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range: $148 - $322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring spacious King Suites and Kids Suites perfect for families. Heated outdoor pool and spa, fitness center, video game room, complimentary newspaper, coin-operated guest laundry facilities and free parking. Across the street from Disneyland Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portofino Inn And Suites Anaheim Hotel
Portofino Hotel Anaheim
Portofino Suites
Portofino Anaheim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing