We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb location, excelent service!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel
Ranked #36 of 118 Hotels in Anaheim
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Superb location, excelent service!”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Enjoyed every aspect of our stay, room was extremly clean, staff was friendly and helpful, and the distance to the parks is so convinient that anyone feels comfortable doing the ride.
There are plenty of restaurants to visit arround, a seven eleven across the Street, and a 2 mile walking to Target to fuel up my girls supply of "food".

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ComalaHostessMara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmRegards, General Manager at Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Dear ComalaHostessMara,

It's very exciting for us to hear that you and your family enjoyed every aspect of your stay at the Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim! Thank you very much for letting us and other travelers know how comfortable you were in our accommodations and that you enjoyed friendly and helpful service. We are also pleased that you found our amazing location not only convenient to the Disney parks, but to many restaurants and stores. Thank you for your excellent review! We hope you will return to enjoy another 5 star experience in the very near future!

Kindest Regards,
Mitch Healy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,658 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    466
    658
    312
    137
    85
See reviews for
1,149
91
23
109
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (334)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This was our second stay at the Portofino. The first time we enjoyed ourselves so much we didn't think twice about staying here again. Unfortunately, in the year and a half since our previous stay the hotel had diminished considerably in both service and upkeep. We stayed in a family suite this trip with my mother and our 5 year old daughter.

Our room was neat but there was a plumbing issue that caused an "odd" smell to come up through the sink regularly during the night. We also had a direct line of communication with a neighboring room through the vent in the bathroom. Unfortunately, we did not really want to hear everything that was going on in this other room at all hours of the night.

The hotel is conveniently located to Disneyland and reasonably priced. It's an easy 10 minute walk from door to door.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SBJ1218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmRegards, General Manager at Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear SBJ1218,

Thank you for returning to stay with us. While we are glad that you enjoyed our neat rooms and amazing location, it is quite disappointing for us to hear that we missed our mark at providing a comfortable and memorable experience. Please accept our sincere apology. We appreciate you bringing the odor from the sink and neighboring guest disturbance to our attention. Please know that we are at your service at all times during your stay. We are always happy to accept and welcome any opportunity to make your stay with us the very best experience you can possibly enjoy. We appreciate your business and want your continued patronage. It would be our extreme pleasure to have you back and impress you with an improved stay.

Best Regards,
Mitch Healy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona, Usa
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Our room was clean, and the service was excellent. Parking near the door into the buildings is a little sparse, but there's parking available a short distance away. Walking to Disney (Disneyland, California Adventure, Downtown Disney) is simple and easy. It's about a 1/2 mile. We walked it twice a day. We ate breakfast at the nearby IHOP and Dennys. They got a little crowded because they are so close to Disneyland. I'm sure there were more choices nearby, but we didn't look for any alternatives. I recommend this hotel if your trip is based on Disney.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmRegards, General Manager at Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Mike S,

It's wonderful to hear that you and your family enjoyed our clean hotel, excellent service and, of course, our incredible location! Thank you for sharing how simple and easy the walk from our Anaheim hotel to the Disney Parks truly is. We appreciate you recommending our hotel to other TripAdvisor travelers seeking accommodations conveniently located near the Disney Parks. We hope to see you on your next visit to California.

Best,
Mitch Healy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stayed in a kid suite after a friend recommending the hotel.
Things we liked : bunk beds, having a fridge, layout of the room, friendly staff.
Things we didn't like so much: too many things needed updating.. Toilet and shower leaked, one light didn't work at all, laundry machines need to be replaced.. They were pretty gross. The card lock didn't work half the time, laundry room door didn't ever lock.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WOlthoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmRegards, General Manager at Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear WOlthoff,

Thank you for deciding to stay with us on a friend's recommendation. It's great that you enjoyed several features that our Kids Suites offer. We appreciate you bringing to our attention the details of your room that need immediate follow up and/or repair. Our maintenance team has already taken the necessary steps to locate this room to ensure the appropriate repairs are completed. If there is anything further that you would like to discuss about your stay, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel. We do hope that you and your family will return to the Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim. Thank you for taking the time to complete the TripAdvisor review on our property.

Best Regards,
Mitch Healy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Let me stary off by saying I loved our stay, The staff is very friendly and helpful. The giftshop Pauline was so nice to put togther a basket with goodies balloons and a Minnie and Mickie ready in our room for our arrival. Thanks... We had a room on the 5th floor amazing view at night. Kids loved the bunkbeds. We stayed here for 4 nights. the first 3 were great but we noticed a few bites on us at first we thought a mosquito. Then on the last night my husband and I were covered in bug bites literally between the two of us we had over 40. WOW . Apon checkout i showed the lady at the reception cause it was 6 am and no manager was available. She said it seems we might have a problem on the 5th floor.? Really! I reported to MITCH the next day. ( Hes great ) He took care of everything very respectful and honest . Made everything really nice for us. I would deff return to this hotel . just will be checking the room more thurally before sleeping . i say average because the bites

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank L R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmRegards, General Manager at Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear L R,


Firstly, we sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you and your family experienced. As your comfort is of paramount importance to us, we would like to thank you for giving us the opportunity to immediately address and resolve this isolated incident to ensure that others do not experience it. Unfortunately, the reality of our global industry is that incidents do occur in every region of the country, and most hotels experience this at one point or another. We are extremely aggressive in our proactive and preventative measures, including a strict professional pest control regimen throughout our entire property. Please know that your room was taken out of service in order for a thorough professional inspection and treatment to be completed. The process that we require our pest management professionals to use is a heat treatment, which is much more aggressive than other methods. After 48 hours and 72 hours, additional inspections were conducted in this room and neighboring rooms to ensure that our efforts were successful.

Thank you for taking the time to mention our respectful and honest attention to this matter. We appreciate and commend your strength of character in reviewing your entire experience fairly and are happy that you loved your stay. It’s wonderful to hear that you would definitely return to stay with us, as your business and guest loyalty means the world to us. Again, we apologize for this unforeseen and unfortunate incident, and look forward to providing a comfortable and impressive experience on your return visit.

Best Regards,
Mitch Healy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

I really wanted to love it - the price was fantastic for a Disney ticket inclusive package. That, and the very friendly front desk staff are where the positive elements end. Not that anything was horrific mind you, just so many small things that bugged me (all personal preferences - your opinion may differ).

The room we had was a kid's suite with bunk beds in a separate space (glass french doors do nothing for privacy as they don't block light or sound). Microwave and fridge were in the kid's portion of the room, vanity and bathroom are in the main part. This type of room does not have opening windows or a balcony; nor does it have a ventillation fan in the bathroom. Things like no closet (there is a wardrobe with a small space for hanging clothes), no waste can in the bathroom, no tissues in the room and limited access to the cup-at-a-time coffee supplies all contributed to a less than stellar stay. We also had to ask for 4 sets of towels even though there were clearly 4 persons in residence.

Overall, I would not recommend this hotel to a friend and would not stay again based on the fact that for slightly more money there are more satisfactory accomodations readily available.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ronandannette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmRegards, General Manager at Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear ronandannette,

Thank you for taking advantage of our Disney package and sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. It is disappointing for al lot us to learn that we failed to exceed your expectations. We do appreciate your comments and suggestions, as we are committed to listening to our guests and implementing the necessary improvements. Please keep in mind that we do offer several different room types that may better fit your preference. We are pleased that you enjoyed our friendly customer service and hope that you will decide to return to enjoy an improved stay with us. Thank you for your valued feedback.

Best,
Mitch Healy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castro Valley, California, Usa
1 review
Reviewed May 23, 2013

The worst part ... I could only sleep for about 4 hours one night. Due to our neighbors above us. It was a bunch of "kids" - middle to high school age. Why they wouldn't put them on the 1st floor, I'm not sure. I finally called to complain about 1am. It was quiet until 5am, when I woke to them wrestling upstairs. Not at all sound proof!!!
Hotel was good distance to Disney - very walkable, even when you are tired at the end of a long Disney day. Across the street from 7-11, where we got coffee and water for each day. Not a whole lot of restaurant options very nearby. Mortons very close and ihop across the street. There was a subway kitty corner as well.
Comfortable and clean. Kids loved the bunk beds. Our cleaning lady was great! She cleaned and organized. Even arranged the lego guys, which my son thought was great!
Slightly annoying - you need to enter the wifi code everytime you get on a device.
Overall a good hotel to stay at. Nothing special, but we were really only there to sleep. The kids liked it and enjoyed the DIsney channel in the morning while we were getting ready.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor to avoid the noise of people above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristieA605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmRegards, General Manager at Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Dear Christie A,

While we are glad that the majority of your stay you and your family were comfortable and enjoyed our Kids Suite and amenities, we regret that your sleep was disrupted one of your nights with us by neighboring guests. Please accept our apology for this inconvenience and know that we are always at your service at all hours. We would have been happy to assist and ensure your comfort in this situation. Thank you for taking the time to let us and other travelers know that you had an overall good experience us. We appreciate your business and hope to have the pleasure of having you and your family as our guests again.

Best,
Mitch Healy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
0.3 mi away
Cortona Inn & Suites Anaheim Resort
0.1 mi away
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
#5 of 118 in Anaheim
1,156 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place at Anaheim Resort/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
SpringHill Suites at Anaheim Resort/Convention Center
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Anaheim (1 BLK/Disneyland)
0.2 mi away
Castle Inn and Suites
Castle Inn and Suites
#17 of 118 in Anaheim
1,651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel

Property: Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel
Address: 1831 S Harbor Blvd, Anaheim, CA 92802-3509
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Anaheim
#41 Family Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring spacious King Suites and Kids Suites perfect for families. Heated outdoor pool and spa, fitness center, video game room, complimentary newspaper, coin-operated guest laundry facilities and free parking. Across the street from Disneyland Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portofino Inn And Suites Anaheim Hotel
Portofino Hotel Anaheim
Portofino Suites
Portofino Anaheim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing