We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close Walk to Disneyland - but kind of run down”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel
Ranked #36 of 118 Hotels in Anaheim
Certificate of Excellence
CA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Close Walk to Disneyland - but kind of run down”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We only stayed here because of problems we had at another nearby hotel, and every other hotel in the area was booked. We ended up ending our trip early, even.


This hotel could work if you don't mind an older, kind of run down room. Lower parts of the bathrooms walls had water damage, and there's nothing new or nice looking. Beds were not comfortable and the wall air conditioner was super loud.

The staff was quick and attentive, however, which was a plus, and the room was in a clean condition. Its's also a close walk to the parks. I did like that the doors open inside a hallway, rather than outside.

Would definitely not stay here again, but if you don't expect much, it could work.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greekgoddess122481
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmRegards, General Manager at Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear greekgoddess122481,

We are extremely excited to inform you that we have just undergone many new and nice looking transformations at the Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim; new quilted bed sheets, countertops, bathroom fixtures, flat screen televisions and a brand new wifi system with increased bandwidth! We have also installed new carpet and wallpaper in our hallways. There's quite a lot to be excited about and we would love to have you back to show you all of our updates and renovations. Thank you for your great compliments on our quick and attentive staff. We appreciate your time in completing the review and hope you and your family decide to return.

Best Regards,
Mitch Healy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,664 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    470
    659
    312
    138
    85
See reviews for
1,153
92
24
109
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (335)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nanaimo, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

The hotel is very average. I would say it is not a nice hotel, but a cheap convenient place to stay. The halls were noisy. The swimming pool is small. The hotel staff forgot to give us coffee one day and shampoo another. Easily fixed by finding a housekeeper in the hall, but inconvenient. No breakfast included. I hop is across the street, but it was disgusting. 7 11 on the corner was pretty decent for grab and go food. They had fruits yogurts sandwiches etc... There was a pizza place across that was pretty good too. Coffee was a nightmare to find in anaheim! the hilton is the only starbucks. Overall, I would find somewhere nicer next time.

Room Tip: We stayed in a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Svanoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmRegards, General Manager at Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Svanoo,

We are extremely sorry that we failed to deliver a memorable experience. Please be assured that we have followed up on your comments in regard to our housekeeping staff. We replenish toiletries when they are depleted upon room cleaning and they can always be delivered to your door at your request at any time. Again, we do apologize that your stay with us was less than impressive and would appreciate you reconsidering a return visit. We have recently updated and transformed many features throughout our hotel and would be grateful for the opportunity to deliver an improved stay.

Sincerely,
Mitch Healy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We took our family over spring break to Disneyland (big mistake). While the park was insanely crowded, the hotel was close by and comfortable. We got the kids suite since we had 4 kids and 2 adults. It was smaller than the photo but it worked out fine for our family. The service was great and parking was great. Very friendly staff. There is a convienent store on the property so that was nice as well. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Opt for the kids suite if you have 6 like we did. They come with bunkbeds, fridge, and microwave.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leslie Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmRegards, General Manager at Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Leslie Q,

We are so glad that you found the Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim a good place to take your family! Thank you for sharing how comfortable you and your family of 6 were in one of our Kids Suites. We appreciate your positive feedback on our complimentary parking, friendly staff and convenient location. Your recommendation of our Anaheim hotel means the world to us and we are so happy that you and your family would stay with us again. Thank you for completing the review.

Kind Regards,
Mitch Healy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California, United States
1 review
Reviewed March 28, 2013

My family of 5 will be staying here very soon and all I can say is I hope the customer service is significantly better than they are on the phone. I called when I noticed there is a breakfast package, and I wanted to know if this was something I could add because it states you need to have one of two rooms to be able to get it which we did and when they were speaking to me they were rude and made me feel stupid for asking if we could add it after we had made our reservations a month ago. If we wanted to add it, we would have to pay an extra $100 a night! That is a little outrageous to add it and if it isn't possible to add, then the ladies (yes I spoke with 2 different people because I was transferred) got rude that I pointed out the price difference and she told me I should've paid attention when I was placing the reservation because this isn't a new thing. (Yes I know I should have but she didn't need to be rude). After reading the reviews I am unbelievably skeptical about staying here. Ants and stray hair? I am not a germophobe by any stretch but I do not like other people's stray hair! Here's hoping this hotel is what I hope it to be! We chose this place because of the kid's suite and price! Will update after our stay!

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank AnnePaige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmRegards, General Manager at Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear AnnePaige,

Please be confident that we are constantly focused on our guests and delivering an enjoyable experience. Thank you for your review on the phone call you placed to our hotel, as the details described are not typical of our staff. We look forward to welcoming you to Anaheim and having you as our guest soon!

Best Regards,
Mitch Healy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Four of us (wife, 3 and 5 year old) stayed one night to get an early jump on Disneyland. The hotel was extremely noisy from the halls and the room(s) above. The thumping from above didn't end until midnight and began again at 5:45 am. I am not sure if it was one bad group above or if this is common, either way some of us didn't get a lot of sleep. The room had a user friendly floor plan to have separation between the kids and adults. We felt the room wasn't properly cleaned, as we found long black hairs on the towels, bathroom ceiling and hair dryer. No one in our family has dark hair so our find was obviously disturbing. The 15 min. walk to Disney and back to the hotel wasn't to bad. They did let us park at the hotel for the day which we appreciated ans saved $15

Room Tip: Stay on the top floor if you have to stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmRegards, General Manager at Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Scott R,

Thank you for providing us with you feedback by posting a review on TripAdvisor. We regret that your experience was not favorable and that the noise caused by neighboring guests kept members of your family from enjoying a good night's sleep. Please know that we are at your service at any time throughout your entire stay, and are more than happy to resolve any issue in order to ensure your comfort. We apologize for the condition that you found your room and appreciate you bringing this to our attention. Your comments have been shared with the appropriate departments for immediate attention and I will, personally, follow up on this to make certain this remains an isolated incident. Again, thank you for your review. We hope you will consider staying with us again to enjoy an improved and impressive experience on your next visit to Anaheim.

Best,
Mitch Healy, General Manager

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmdale, California
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Recently my husband and I took our 8 yo granddaughter to Disneyland for a weekend. We usually stay at the Candy Cane Inn, but they were booked as were many of the hotels within a comfortable walking distance to Disneyland. We were pleased with our accommodations at the Portofino Inn, the two queen bed room was clean, smelled fresh and was rather spacious compared to other hotels we've stayed at in this vicinity. It takes a bit over 15 minutes to walk to the parks, not too bad all-in-all. There is no free breakfast - no restaurant on site, but an IHop across the street and several other reasonably priced eating establishments within a short walk. Our room had a nice size balcony with two plastic garden chairs and a small table. We thought we'd have a view of the fireworks, but we couldn't see a thing...a bit disappointing but in no way the hotel's fault. Check-in was quick and easy...one of the best experiences we've had in recent memory. Truly, the only negative things I have to say about this hotel are that our room keys stopped working several times....and just as suddenly worked again; and, given my limited mobility (rheumatoid arthritis) it would have been nice to have a shuttle from this hotel to take to the parks. The price can be considered steep ($400 for two nights but that included taxes) but since this area of Anaheim has outrageous hotel rates and it was actually one of the cheaper hotels with room availability during the start of Spring Break. All in all I would recommend the Portofino Inn and if our favorite hotel is not available we will certainly book a room with them again.

Room Tip: This hotel has three buildings, one of which is a 5 story "Venice" tower that depending on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BestNana_93505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmRegards, General Manager at Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear BestNana_93505,

It was our pleasure to have the opportunity to accommodate you and your family. We are very excited to hear that your check in experience was one of the best in recent memory! It is extremely important to our staff to go above and beyond for our guests in any way possible to ensure their comfort and enjoyment, from their arrival all the way through to their departure. Please keep in mind for your next visit that we do, indeed, have several rooms with spectacular views of Disney’s firework show! Also, we apologize for your room keycard inconvenience. We regret that we had not yet received our brand new keycard encoder while you were staying with us. Please know that is has been installed and is working seamlessly. Thank you for your detailed review on our hotel. We would love to have you and your family as our loyal guests and hope to welcome you back to Anaheim on your next visit!

Best Regards,
Mitch Healy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

I recently stayed at the Portofino with my wife and 2 1/2 year old son. He goes to bed early, so we wanted a place with two separate sleeping areas. We wanted to walk to Disneyland everyday, and many of the other hotel options were very expensive. The king suite at the Portofino was perfect. We put extra blankets over the sliding glass doors to make his room even darker. He slept while we stayed up late in our room.

The hotel staff is unbelievably friendly, the hotel is in a great location (10 minute walk and you're in Disneyland) and the price is right. I would stay at the Portofino again and recommend it to any family in a similar circumstance to ours.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CalgaryRadioGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmRegards, General Manager at Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear CalgaryRadioGuy,

Thank you for providing us with your response. We appreciate the time and effort you took to give us your feedback. It's great to hear that our King Suite was perfect for you and your family. Thank you for mentioning that the separate sleeping areas provided you with the space and privacy that you were looking for to ensure that your son got his much needed rest while you and your wife stayed up late. Again, thank you for your review and recommendation. We're glad that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to serving you in the future.

Kind Regards,
Mitch Healy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
0.3 mi away
Cortona Inn & Suites Anaheim Resort
0.1 mi away
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
#5 of 118 in Anaheim
1,172 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Anaheim (1 BLK/Disneyland)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place at Anaheim Resort/Convention Center
0.0 mi away
SpringHill Suites at Anaheim Resort/Convention Center
0.1 mi away
Desert Palms Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel

Property: Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel
Address: 1831 S Harbor Blvd, Anaheim, CA 92802-3509
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Anaheim
#41 Family Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring spacious King Suites and Kids Suites perfect for families. Heated outdoor pool and spa, fitness center, video game room, complimentary newspaper, coin-operated guest laundry facilities and free parking. Across the street from Disneyland Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portofino Inn And Suites Anaheim Hotel
Portofino Hotel Anaheim
Portofino Suites
Portofino Anaheim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing