We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for what it is”
Review of Roy's Restaurant

Roy's Restaurant
Reserve a table
2
Tue, 5/24
8:00 PM
Ranked #28 of 956 Restaurants in Anaheim
Price range: $15 - $59
Cuisines: Asian, Seafood, Hawaiian, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Private Dining, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Disneyland
Cross street: South Clementine Street
Transit: Harbor Blvd/Katella Ave, Clementine/Katella Ave, “ART” Anaheim Resort Transit (located within Anaheim Gardenwalk), Train Station located at Angels Stadium.
Description: Blending classic techniques with adventurous Pacific Rim flavors, culinary pioneer Roy Yamaguchi created an entirely new approach to fine dining. The first Roy's opened in Honolulu in 1988 and we've spread our warm hospitality and passion for innovative and creative cuisine and beverage around the world ever since. Join us tonight in Anaheim, CA to discover the fresh ingredients and outstanding seafood, expertly prepared by our local chefs that made us famous.
Reviewed March 13, 2016

There are limited options for restaurants in the immediate Disney/Convention Center area, which means they have a captive audience. And you pay accordingly. I had a $30 salmon entree, and wasn't exactly full. The food quality and presentation, were both good. Service was very good. The small amount of pickled vegetables atop the grilled salmon were a nice complement to the fish. The scoop of rice sprinkled with herbs was fair, and the sauce at the bottom of the dish was tasty. You decide if it's worth it.

Date of visit: March 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank R C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (556)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

236 - 240 of 556 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2016

Food was good (not great but good) for a chain. Very expensive on the drinks! Since we had been to Roy's before in Hawaii we didn't have sticker shock. Very crowded but the location is great. Walk down to the beach or watch a volleyball match. Walk the pier or just people watch.

Date of visit: February 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jokenoken
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2016

Though we had a business dinner, the food was delicious. My salmon was slightly overcooked and small but my wife's beef was very tender and perfectly flavored.

Date of visit: February 2016
Thank halcyon-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2016

The atmosphere was great but the food was lacking. The steak was tough, potatoes overly salted for one of my guests. The portion for the key lime tart was small, also overdone.

Date of visit: February 2016
Thank kilichick1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2016

I've been to Roy's in Honolulu, but this was my first visit to the Roy's Anaheim. Service was outstanding, and the food overall was pretty good, but some hits and misses.

Here's what we had:
- Lakanilau Roll - read better than it actually tasted. I actually think the wagyu beef actually took away from the typical "fresh" feel of eating sushi.
- Korean Fried Lollipop Chicken - marked as a signature dish, and I could immediately tell why. It was amazing, it was incredibly crispy on the outside and tender on the inside. The best dish of the night. It is costly - there's only four pieces.
- Crunchy Filet Mignon Dumplings - also really good. Not sure if it's wise to use filet mignon as the filling, but together with the sauce, it was very good.
- Seared Salmon - cooked medium, so saved from being overcooked. Not bad, not great.
- Grilled Pork Porterhouse - huge! Nice BBQ sauce, but found some parts of it overcooked and dry.
- Signature Chocolate Souffle - very good. Just about every fine dining restaurant has a flourless chocolate cake so they all taste the same, but this one was done flawlessly, and paired with the rasberry coulis and ice cream, it was quite nice.
- Kids meals come with complimentary cheese quesadillia and carrots/celery which can be quite filling on their own, so I suggesting splitting when you have small children

The service was really outstanding. Server was super friendly, very informative, and really good with the kids. Made every person at the table feel at home.

Overall, a good visit. Not all the dishes are great, so I would recommend sticking to the signature dishes where possible. The 3 course prix fixe is a great deal too.

Date of visit: February 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Roary_and_Friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roy's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Roy's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2022 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.