We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Spa Napa Valley - American Canyon
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in American Canyon
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Columbus, Georgia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Almost good”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

It was a last minute trip to Napa and this was the only hotel available. Check in, although prepaid via Expedia, was a bit difficult. The major problem was that they were cleaning the carpets, which really needed to be replaced. Both couples in our party had to move to new rooms that "supposedly" had been cleaned, but were worse than the previous. The breakfast in the restaurant was excellent and the service superb. Although 9 miles from downtown Napa, it was an easy drive. Would stay there again if improvements completed.

Room Tip: Entry doors to rooms required key cards, so get a room near an exit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAYWILKOFF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erik B, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Spa Napa Valley - American Canyon, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Almost good? I prefer to think of our hotel as great! And I hope ultimately, you will too. I do sincerely apologize as our commercial carpet cleaning caused you and your friends to be inconvenienced during your recent stay. As a Gold LEED certified hotel, our guestroom carpet is manufactured with recycled content. This includes the material in the backing, fiber and pad. Timely professional cleaning and maintenance is necessary. Unfortunately, there are times we have to execute this process during high occupancy periods and while we do our best to properly communicate this situation, there may be some inconvenience to our guests. I would like to invite you back as my personal guest and allow our wonderful accommodations and outstanding staff to “WOW” you! I truly believe that following your next stay, you too, will think of our hotel as great!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

927 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    332
    180
    62
    28
See reviews for
191
355
39
185
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

Not the fanciest hotel, but the amenities were basic, easy to access, and the staff was very friendly and helpful. We booked the hotel for a family reunion and it provided a lovely community for us to have fun and relax. it is just outside of Napa, so you get the budget friendly option with the vineyards close by. Pool and hot tub were good and the fitness room is small, but it is there. Free coffee in the morning and again, very friendly staff.

Room Tip: Ask for pool or garden view, but truly the other views are noting special but not bad at all.
See more room tips
Green Features: Very impressed by the hotel's green initiatives. Very happy to support a hotel that holds these values high.
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Molly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
230 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

Had reservations for the weekend to celebrate our anniversary. As Hilton Honors members, we had upgraded to the patio, lagoon view room. Checked in for room 138, imagine our surprise when we entered the room and found that it was already occupied- thankfully no one was there. Back to the lobby...manager comped us with a breakfast coupon and changed our room to 134 - thankfully private, had a patio but wasted our upgrade since there was a view of the building next door. For the money, a definite disappointment.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PattiCNS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilroy, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

Beware if you are making your reservation through a third party. You will not have the same conditions at check in as other customers. You will be treated as a second class customer. No cookie, lesser room and who know what else!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank raychristy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

Hotel is located right off of highway 29. The staff was very friendly and the room was clean. We received warm chocolate chip cookies when we arrived. We ate at the onsite restaurant and the food and wait staff was great. We would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank James Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Making the best of a bad situation, but Hilton will never see another dime from me. Unfortunate, because a little assistance would have easily fixed the issue and they would have had a long time customer. Full disclosure - room was booked through getaroom.com, which I found out after the fact is connected with Expedia. I booked 4 nights in this place. As we drive to the hotel, I notice the buildings on the cross street are boarded up. Great. When we checked in, the front desk clerk could not have been less interested or helpful. When we were not happy with room assigned, we were informed there were no other rooms available. Not thrilled, but understood, so off we went to the room. Damp, moldy smell upon entering. Yuck. Then, realised the lock was broken. Back to front desk. Insisted we be moved or we were out of there. Magically, another room became available. Hauled our stuff to that room only to find it marginally better. Lights were still on and one of the washcloths in the bath had been used...at first we thought the room was still occupied!. By now, it's late, we had been traveling all day and just needed to relax.
Called hilton next day to request they find new accomodations. CSR was very unhelpful and condescending. She would book us in another hotel but we would have to pay going rate and deal with expedia for a refund of the prepaid nights. Asked to speak with someone who could assist and was told "no one else here is going to tell you anything different". Get a room and expedia were both polite but referred me back to hilton. So we are stuck in this pit...fine. but my reservation for the next leg of our trip is being cancelled and hilton loses my business

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcs2104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagleville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
88 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was a pleasant surprise. The room, although a little old/dated, was spacious and nice. It may have been an upgraded room due to my diamond status with Hilton. The pool and hot tub looked nice and our room overlooked the lagoon, pool, and spa, and it was a pretty view.

The bathroom was the disappointment for us. They offer toiletries through dispensers, which is nice and environmentally friendly, but they don't really have any places to hang towels, so that isn't very environmentally friendly if you have to wash them every single day. The only place to hang the towels is on a hook on the door, which isn't ideal or on the shower rod, which doesn't work when someone else has to use the shower.

The restaurant and spa are close by. The restaurant was absolutely wonderful. The shrimp bruschetta is so delicious! We also tried a vegetable fondu appetizer that was really good too. The salmon dinner was ok. The wine was yummy, although the staff didn't know much about the wine they were serving. The breakfast at the restaurant was very good. There were a fair amount of options and everything was pretty good. They also offer make breakfasts to order.

The front desk staff was helpful and pleasant.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank tawnyaluna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near American Canyon
11.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Napa
8.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Elm House Inn
7.7 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Napa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Napa Valley - American Canyon
10.9 mi away
Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa
7.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at the Vines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Spa Napa Valley - American Canyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Spa Napa Valley - American Canyon

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Spa Napa Valley - American Canyon
Address: 3600 Broadway St, American Canyon, CA 94503-1259 (Formerly Gaia Napa Valley Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > American Canyon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in American Canyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Spa Napa Valley - American Canyon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree Hotel & Spa Napa Valley - American Canyon hotel in northern California is the World's First LEED-Certified Hotel, located near hundreds of wineries in the Sonoma Valley - on Highway 29 at the gateway to Napa Valley (9 minutes from Napa). Relax at our on-site spa - Spa Gaia - or enjoy organic, locally-gathered meals at the Table 29 Bistro & Bar (also on-site). Our eco-friendly hotel includes a sparkling lagoon (suites with water views available), fitness room, outdoor pool, lounge/bar area, room service, multi-lingual staff and free parking (evening security provided). Host your wedding on our outdoor event deck with views of our sparkling Lagoon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Spa Napa Valley - American Canyon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Hotel And Spa Napa Valley - American Canyon
Hotel Gaia Napa Valley
Gaia Napa Valley American Canyon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing