We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Green hotel/big room/convenient location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Spa Napa Valley - American Canyon
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in American Canyon
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
California
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Green hotel/big room/convenient location”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

This hotel is right off hwy 29, just 10-15 minutes south of riverfront/oxbow public market and maybe 20 min to Yountville, convenient to most everything in napa, assuming u have a car. There is not much near the hotel so if u need toiletries/groceries, get them when u are downtown. There is a small market across the highway by Caffino. Not many restaurants nearby except greasy spoons. We had a corner room on the 2nd floor by the railroad tracks. I was concerned i'd be hearing trains all night but it was very quiet. The room was huge but could have been better appointed. A lot of open space that u can't do anything with. With so much extra space I am not sure why they made the bathroom so small that you can't fully open the bathroom door. The door bangs against the toilet.  Also the bathroom has no place to hang towels. It is nice that they have dispensers for soap, shampoo, conditioner instead of individual bottles. Also have recycle bins in the rooms. Fridge and free wifi too. There are rooms on the first floor with patios facing the pond if u want a room with a view. The pool is small but does the job. Only 2 lounge chairs. There is a hot tub but it did not appear to be working. Free parking. You can park your car close to your room, nice for loading/unloading your luggage. Was very glad that all doors to the hotel are locked 24/7 and you can only enter with a room key. Did not use restaurant or spa. Hotel desperately needs updating. Everything seems very early 80s. Drove to SFO on Fri morning (10am) and it took no longer than one hour from door to door, including dropping off our rental car and taking the air train in. Overall, this is a perfectly fine hotel if u are just looking for a clean and fairly convenient place to sleep n shower. 

Room Tip: If u want a quiet room, ask for a corner room on the 2nd floor away from the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roastduck90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

976 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    336
    347
    192
    70
    31
See reviews for
201
378
41
189
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paradise, California
2 reviews
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Once a Gaia facility, the Double Tree has kept the classy feel, eco-friendly attitude; and interesting restaurant. The place has a first-tier feel, but at highly reasonable rates. Loved it again and will go back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for a week while in napa valley. Room rate is amongst the best you will get for a Hilton at 99 a night especially near Napa valley. It's a green hotel so you don't get bottles of soap or shampoo it is in a dispenser in your room and the toilet has a special flush but it all works just fine. Only complaint I would have is that the shower has very little pressure but its hot and gets the job done. The lobby is quite nice as well as the restaurant and bar. Pool looks nice but we didnt get to try since we were in the napa valley in March. The carpets in the room have water stains everywhere and are in great need of replacement as it makes the whole hotel look out of the 70's. the rooms are given names of animals - not sure what that's about, bedding had a few stains on it; I think the problem is everything is just old. I wouldn't say the hotel is dirty but carpet can make a big difference in overall impressions in cleanliness of a hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nav531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodland Park, New Jersey, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 8, 2013

The location is convenient as the hotel is on the major route to Napa Valley and close to major highways. Also room is clean, well maintained and spacious. overall quality is as good as the brand name Double Tree. The only problem was internet connection in the business center which displayed just hotel promotion. Could not connect any other website. But wifi connection in the room was excellent. So as long as you don't need printing, it's not big problem.
I would stay here if I visit the area again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sang S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topanga
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

We had a two-night stay here, for a meeting in Vallejo. I was most impressed by the staff's helpfulness and friendliness. Architecturally the building is very impressive.
Since the hotel has a special Leed's rating, all extras are in refillable dispensers. I missed having a bar of soap and Kleenex ... guess we were supposed to use toilet paper instead.
Because there was a special rate for the meeting, we were staying in an economy room. Perhaps there would be more niceties in a more expensive room.
There is no breakfast. We had dinner in the adjoining restaurant and it was pricey but very good.
I would definitely stay again - especially if touring the Napa Valley. It's very close and the hotel is reasonably priced compared to Wine Country lodgings.

Room Tip: Stay away from the ice machine and exits!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisville, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

We stayed 3 night here and toured the local Napa and Sonoma wineries and some of the best nights sleep we've had in a while. The beds are so very comfortable and the hotel is absolutely quiet. We got a great price too which made it even better!

The only detraction would be the place is a bit worn and dated.

Room Tip: Upstairs is always the way to go - no stomping around in the middle of the night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 9Key
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy, California, United States
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Staff are helpful. If you are going to use the comp breakfast, be prepared for absolutely no service with your meal. And restocking the food does not happen either. But it is not the staff's fault. The wait staff service the paying tables and have to restock the food at the same time. Impossible! The quality of food at the comp breakfast is good.

Note: the hotel parking lot backs up to the railroad tracks. We did not hear one train go by at all.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niki C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near American Canyon
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Napa Valley - American Canyon
9.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Elm House Inn
7.7 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Napa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn At The Vines
11.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Napa
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Napa American Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Spa Napa Valley - American Canyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Spa Napa Valley - American Canyon

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Spa Napa Valley - American Canyon
Address: 3600 Broadway St, American Canyon, CA 94503-1259 (Formerly Gaia Napa Valley Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > American Canyon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in American Canyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Spa Napa Valley - American Canyon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree Hotel & Spa Napa Valley - American Canyon hotel in northern California is the World's First LEED-Certified Hotel, located near hundreds of wineries in the Sonoma Valley - on Highway 29 at the gateway to Napa Valley (9 minutes from Napa). Relax at our on-site spa - Spa Gaia - or enjoy organic, locally-gathered meals at the Table 29 Bistro & Bar (also on-site). Our eco-friendly hotel includes a sparkling lagoon (suites with water views available), fitness room, outdoor pool, lounge/bar area, room service, multi-lingual staff and free parking (evening security provided). Host your wedding on our outdoor event deck with views of our sparkling Lagoon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Spa Napa Valley - American Canyon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Hotel And Spa Napa Valley - American Canyon
Hotel Gaia Napa Valley
Gaia Napa Valley American Canyon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing