We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Spa Napa Valley - American Canyon
Nearby Hotels
$129
$117
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairfield Inn & Suites Napa American Canyon(American Canyon)(Great Value!)
$135
Fairfield Inn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$80
Motel 6
View Deal
  • Free Parking
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$136
$110
Courtyard
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
SpringHill Suites Napa Valley(Napa)(Great Value!)
$199
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$98
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,072)
Filter reviews
1,072 results
Traveler rating
372
370
210
81
39
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
372
370
210
81
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdouble treecookiesnapa valleypatio roomwine countryrestaurant staffbreakfast buffetwould stay here againlagoon viewsan franciscoshort drivefront desk staffupon checkeasy accessnice staypool and hot tubwine tasting
Filter
Updating list...
956 - 961 of 1,072 reviews
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Stayed here 1 night before our arrival in Napa. Good service, nice large clean rooms, loved the cookies at check in. Had a 'green' twist to it that we liked, solar power and refillable soaps and lotions. Nice restaurant as well, great wine list and appetizers! Would stay again for sure.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LivinGreat808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

If you can't find a place in Napa, this is a good place to go as your "Plan B". Napa gets crazy busy at times, so good luck finding a nice place to stay unless you book far in advance. Plan B is American Canyon, the built-up stretch of Highway 29 between Vallejo and Napa.

Of the several American Canyon Hotels, the Doubletree / Hilton has the most unique exterior. It was, until recently, the Gaia Hotel. The restaurant still carries the name. It's LEED Gold certified, which will make you feel warm and fuzzy inside if you care about the planet. From a practical point of view, the only thing you'll notice is that they don't put out little bottles of shampoo and lotion for you to take home (unless you ask for them). The green / earth friendly heritage does show in the central lagoon and the plantings around the hotel. The lagoon is home to a pair of resident swans and a collection of local birds. The plantings are very nicely chosen and well-maintained California native plants. Most hotel guests won't notice that, but it's actually pretty well done.

There's a tiny pool, a hot tub / jacuzzi, and a few lounge chairs by the lagoon. It's nice, but it would get crowded pretty quickly with just a few people.

The rooms are standard hotel rooms. Not dull, not exciting. Our room had a tiny patio with a couple of chairs. Free WiFi was nice, since so many places try to soak you for that these days.

We had breakfast at the restaurant. The food was good and the service was excellent. We bought package that included breakfast with our room, so the meal only worked out to $10 each. An excellent value.

I'm setting the rating to 3 / 5 (Average), although it deserves a 3.5 "Above Average" rating.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marc_Majka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

My husband and I stayed there for two nights. We were out there for wine tasting in Napa and Sonoma. Napa is close... but not close enough. Sonoma was 35 minutes away. It was a bit of a drive out to the wineries. And let me reiterate that there is NOTHING to do in American Canyon, you have to drive EVERYWHERE.

The hotel staff was nice enough and the room was OK. However, the AC was loud, the bathroom echoed and you could hear pipes and stuff working through the walls. They are apparently a "green" hotel, so that's nice. The buffet breakfast was decent.

No frills, nothing fancy though. And we didn't try the "spa" services, so I have no opinion on that.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a room in the back of the property. The hotel faces the main road, but we were at the back of the hotel and had quiet nights.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cxguti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

More like rooms surrounding a mud hole. The wildlife is nice, but the atmosphere is not. This hotel is so isolated - and mis-advertised. The beds were comfortable, the restaurant was nice, the rooms were quiet. The pool was small but warm enough to swim...and that is where it ended. I was so disappointed because we planned to hang out more and read our books, but instead we left the hotel early and came "home" late.

We had advance reservations for 5 nights, unfortunately. When we realized we were three hours away from the airport in traffic, with a morning flight back to Boston after Hurricane Sandy, I went to the front desk (and also called the Hilton Honors number) to stay the last night at the airport Doubletree. No one would move an inch: I had prepaid and I knew it. Read my small print.

I have always loved Doubletrees and Hilton, but apparently management has changed and customer satisfaction is not important.

Room Tip: Stay in Napa Valley, not Napa or American Canyon. American Canyon is just a roadside strip mall, not an exotic location.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathymcc613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Stayed here not for the Napa Valley wine tasting (although you could very well do that) I was on my way to Infineon race track for some car racing. First of all if you're going to the track from this hotel on a weekday morning, it backs up on hwy 37 going West from about 7am. Plan accordingly. Now on to the hotel. I checked in at 10:30pm, room reserved no problem and had 2 warm cookies after receiving my room keys. Nice touch, each room is named in case you're not a number person. The room was clean, the bed was comfy, and the bath towels weren't like gym towels. The back patio opened up into a pond with a few ducks and birds and it's actually nice. You almost couldn't here road noise as this room faced the inside of the complex as opposed to the outside. Light sleeper, I'd opt for a room like this. Overall a very nice stay, I'd come back.

Room Tip: see review
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travlholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews