We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little quaint hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Spa Napa Valley - American Canyon
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in American Canyon
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Windsor, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice little quaint hotel”
Reviewed May 20, 2012

We visited this hotel for 2 days during late august for 2 days to visit six flags discovery kingdom which was the main reason for our visit. I travelled with my family and we had 2 rooms. They were very spacious and cosey the rooms were clean, and the room I stayed in had a high celling and was spacious which made the room even better, It's good for a cheap stay. I would recomend this hotel if visiting six flags discovery kingdom for more than a day as other hotels that are related to the park aren't the best as we checked out online. This one is probably the best one to go for. The hotel was empty when we visited as it was of peak season for six flags which made our stay even better. The hotel staff were helpfull and we recived lovely cookies on arrival.
There is a lovely american diner that we visited a few minuets away from the hotel, make sure you visit that as the food is great and the staff are lovely in there.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikhil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

986 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    339
    350
    194
    71
    32
See reviews for
205
381
42
191
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2012

The hotel itself is not anything spectacular, but it was clean and reasonably priced. The pool is very small. The best thing about this hotel was the staff. The young lady who checked us in was extremely friendly and helpful. She gave us directions and she recommended a wonderful restaurant for dinner. The onsite restaurant served fried fish and french fries during happy hour, which made our children very happy. The next morning another young lady at the front desk recommended another restaurant where locals go for breakfast. Her directions made finding the place easy. The food was wonderful. I would recommend this hotel if you want to visit Napa Valley without paying Napa Valley prices!

Room Tip: Try to get a room overlooking the lagoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dalow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2012

We stayed here while attending a colleague’s wedding at Hiddenbrooke Golf Course. The hotel is a very good choice for anyone travellling to the Napa or the Sonoma Wine Country areas. Although it is actually not really in the wine country, the drive to Hiddenbrooke and also into Napa took only 10 minutes either way. If we ever come back to explore more of the Wine Country we will definitely stay at this hotel again.

Our room was very clean and spacious. We were on the 2nd floor overlooking the pond area with ducks and geese. It was very relaxing. All members of staff the we spoke to were extremely pleasant, and we really enjoyed relaxing at the bar in the restaurant. It is a nice quiet, clean hotel with much to offer.

We plan on taking another trip and visiting the Livermore Valley which is South of the hotel. DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Spa Napa Valley - American Canyon
is a nice stop further North along the way into Napa.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Level 6 Contributor
49 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2012

The hotel is a very good choice for travellers to Napa/Sonoma. Even though it is actually not really in the wine country, the drive to Napa took all of 10 minutes, and one does need to drive around regardless of the location of the hotel. If we ever come back to explore more of the Wine Country we'd definately stay at this hotel again. The room was clean and of a good size. Every member of staff was extremely pleasant, and we really liked the restaurant. It is very quiet and clean place.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andriyko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 1, 2012

Clean, spacious rooms. Fairly close to Napa, but still a drive. Restaurant was surprisingly good, but the ambiance could use some help. Pool is tiny, but the large lagoon is a nice touch.

Room Tip: Rooms on the bottom floor facing the lagoon have nice little patios with table and chairs. Request...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juliaheartsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

This is a nice, clean hotel, with a decent restaurant. I would recommend a second floor room, due to the noise from upstairs guests coming through the ceiling. The only complaint, we have is the hot tub was way too hot.

Room Tip: Take the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RSkier05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Dorado Hills
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

As we get into the spring and summer months, Napa hotels can get very pricey. We often stay at the Doubletree in American Canyon, which is about 20 minutes from Napa. It's an LED hotel, very clean and has a nice restaurant and spa. There isn't much to do in American Canyon but if you want a quiet place for a good night's sleep it's worth the drive.

Room Tip: There is a lovely lagoon with swans--for a first visit it's worth paying a bit more for the view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanJElDoradoHills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near American Canyon
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Napa Valley - American Canyon
9.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Elm House Inn
7.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn At The Vines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Napa
11.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Napa
3.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Napa Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Spa Napa Valley - American Canyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Spa Napa Valley - American Canyon

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Spa Napa Valley - American Canyon
Address: 3600 Broadway St, American Canyon, CA 94503-1259 (Formerly Gaia Napa Valley Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > American Canyon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in American Canyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Spa Napa Valley - American Canyon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree Hotel & Spa Napa Valley - American Canyon hotel in northern California is the World's First LEED-Certified Hotel, located near hundreds of wineries in the Sonoma Valley - on Highway 29 at the gateway to Napa Valley (9 minutes from Napa). Relax at our on-site spa - Spa Gaia - or enjoy organic, locally-gathered meals at the Table 29 Bistro & Bar (also on-site). Our eco-friendly hotel includes a sparkling lagoon (suites with water views available), fitness room, outdoor pool, lounge/bar area, room service, multi-lingual staff and free parking (evening security provided). Host your wedding on our outdoor event deck with views of our sparkling Lagoon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels Direct, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Spa Napa Valley - American Canyon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Hotel And Spa Napa Valley - American Canyon
Hotel Gaia Napa Valley
Gaia Napa Valley American Canyon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing