We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect for a night if you just visit the area for a day”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Spa Napa Valley - American Canyon
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in American Canyon
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
81 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Perfect for a night if you just visit the area for a day”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2011

Decided to stay here during our visit to Napa Valley. We just visit the area for a day with our car and choose this place for the right price and the values that DoubleTree stands for. The hotel was great for our suppose and much cheaper than other hotels in Napa region. We had a deal comparable with four star hotels in Napa city that was actually 60%, or more, cheaper. I think this is because their location outside the city. We arrived late afternoon after our trips in the valley and checked out early morning the day after on our way to Santa Barbara!

The building is like a typical motel, located just by the high way and you need a car if you stay here. Free, and a lot of space, parking just outside your hotel room. Smooth check-in and nice with a welcome cookie (there are complimentary coffee/tea making facilities in the room). Easy to find to our room, all rooms are by the way named after the nature with birds, animals and flowers. Very funny - our was named the Nighthawk. Room was in decent size, plenty of room for luggage and working space. Empty minibar to store your own things. There is a Wal-Mart just a few minutes away so buy your water or what you need there and store it in the hotel. Comfy big bed, large TV and iron/iron board. The bathroom was too small, strange while the room was so big. There was unfortunately dispensers for shampoo and soap and I really hate this! I was convinced that DoubleTree had their own bottle of shampoos etc. but obvious not. These dispensers are not hygienic and you never know what the previous guest has done there! (Not at this property in particular, in all properties that use this system). I understand that this hotel take a great responsible to be a "green hotel" but there are some lovely alternatives that not decrease the comfort in amenity way. The management should go to the Crowne Plaza in Copenhagen - the greenest hotel in the world - they really know how to make a green hotel without decrease the guests comfort.

Small pool, that we didn't use. Nice surroundings with two swans in a lake as well as a duck family. We spend some minutes to look at these and it was very funny and a nice attribute to the hotel, that otherwise could be a boring place.

Restaurant had not a nice atmosphere, but with a lovely staff and very good food. I was in car the entire day and couldn't taste some wine so it was much appreciated to have wines from Napa and Sonoma here. They have several on glass to a good price so we tried both Mumm, Robert M and Beringer. All food is local and they have great salads and dishes from the area. If you do not want a fine dining place - have you dinner here, the food is very good and local.

Breakfast was included in our rate, and had a large focus on hot food items. As a scandinavian, you want rye/dark bread and couldn't find it. They had unfortunately no natural yogurt, cheese or cold meats for breakfast. We requested cheese and get the burger cheese so the staff really try to meet our needs.

I would love to give this place a 5/5, but a small change in the breakfast and update of bathroom amenities would definitely be here! I will stay here again if I go to Napa for a day with car and do not want to spend to much time in my hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank KamiltonTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

927 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    332
    180
    62
    28
See reviews for
191
355
39
185
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
468 reviews
266 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 388 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2011

We stayed at this location for two nights while traveling for a leisure to Napa / Sonoma. While this location has the potential to be a super star, there are several things that are not polished and they should really look at. That being said the manager went above and beyond to ensure a quality stay after our concerns were brought up.

We arrived late after an evening flight. We knew before choosing this hotel that it was nearby Napa / Sonoma (less than 20 minutes to each) but not directly in either. That was fine...we had to get into the car to drive to the wineries so an extra 15-20 minutes or so each day was nothing and the price was about half of what it would have been in either Napa or Sonoma proper. Check in was quick and easy and of course they had the yummy Doubletree cookies. When we got to our room, our keys did not work so back down we went. One thing to note, is that though there are inside corridors, the hotel is a series of buildings so you need to walk outside to get to the lobby, restaurant, and bar.

Some oddities to note, upon arriving in the room we found a stuffy 79 degrees, light comes in around the door...excessive light. The phone was unplugged, window unlocked, only two bath / hand towels, and no wash cloths. There are no toiletries other than two large dispensers...but we did see a sign that you can request traditional toiletries. One major concern though...the one that led us to contact management was the fact that even though we put the request for hypoallergenic pillows in the Hilton NOR1 System, there were none available. The night audit clerk tried to find some to no avail so brought several decorative pillows. Not the best nights sleep. That being said the manager took great care of us when he talked to us in the morning and we absolutely left satisfied and would stay again. We would just like to see them polish up their offering...many of the issues above are a quick fix. I think this may be growing pains, as they recently moved to the Doubletree brand. I have full faith that the new manager will do everything in his power to make this a great hotel. Many thanks to him for his prompt, courteous, and efficient handling of the matter. He even went out and bought new pillows.

The location was right off the highway, but we did not experience any noise. We only booked a regular room, but due to my HHonors Diamond status they moved us to a lagoon view which was nice and quiet and we enjoyed watching the lagoon and swans.

We did not get the opportunity to check out their gym so can not comment on that. There is an outdoor pool and hot tub, though the hot tub was out of service when we wanted to use it. They have a nicely appointed business center off the lobby with two pc's and a printer. The hotel has free internet.

The rooms were nicely decorated, and comfortable but nothing fancy. The bed was not as comfortable as we are used to for Hilton branded properties, but was not horrible either. The curtains did an excellent job of blocking out the light though as mentioned above an excessive amount of light came in where the door did not close fully. They have nice flat screen TV's with sufficient channels, and the room included a large work desk, and plenty of plugs. There is a coffee/tea maker, ice bucket, and fridge. Everything was very clean. The climate control works well but unfortunately you can not leave the blower motor on for white noise while the climate control is still functioning. Bathrooms are large but lacking in amenities. We tipped housekeeping and asked for additional towels and toiletries to be left on our second day, but even after taking the tip, they did not leave the requested items. That being said when we called down to get the items, the staff brought them right away.

There is a nice restaurant and bar in the hotel and the prices were reasonable. We considered eating dinner there, but ended up in Napa instead. We did partake of the bar one night and the drink selection and bartender were great. The breakfast buffet and service were both pretty good. We can not fully comment on the price of the breakfast as it was comped as a Diamond member. Though we were only supposed to get continental breakfast (which was nice enough) the staff offered us the full breakfast each day.

This hotel has a lot of potential.....we will absolutely stay there again based on the managers responsiveness, and we hope that they make some nice continued improvements as they continue to launch into the Doubletree brand. All things said, we would recommend this hotel. We are happy having stayed here.

Room Tip: Get a Lagoon View if you want quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pcsanity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2011

I recently spent 4 nights at this hotel. This trip was partially business and partially leisure. We really enjoyed our hotel stay. I had read some bad reviews so I was a little skeptical, but to my surprise I was very pleased with our hotel stay here. It was about a 15 to 20 minute drive away from the wineries that we were interested in visiting in Napa. We ate breakfast at the hotel twice while we were there. We had the breakfast buffet both times. It was delicious. It consisted of waffles, french toast, bacon, sausage, eggs, omelets to order, fruit, pastries, cereal, bagels, organic apple and tomato juice, coffee, tea, milk, and orange juice. I may have left a few things out, but you get the point. Bodywash, shampoo, conditioner, and handsoap were provided in the bathroom. Cookies were offered when we arrived and brought to our room on request. There is also a spa at the resort, but it's a little expensive in my opinion. We chose the Mais Oui spa for our services instead. You basically can't beat the price of this hotel compared to other hotels in the Napa area for the level of service and quality that you'll receive here.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cruisefanatic01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2011

The hotel is very attractive and new, we just did not realize that it was so far away from the heart of napa...our fault for not researching better. We spent alot of time driving back and forth the three days we were there, seems like all the good restaurants and wineries were farther north. As far as the room, it was very large, but shame on the designer....for a new facility it should have had a larger bathroom and a counter with mirror outside the bathroom since the toilet, tub and sink were all in one room. Had to put makeup on at a small mirror outside bathroom using my suitcase as a table. The air conditioner made rattling noises which made it very difficult to sleep. Had to leave window open and was very noisy outside with traffic. The spa was overpriced for the quality of services and apparantly underused since we were the only two in there on a saturday afternoon. The restaurant was ok, and not their fault, but had to have dinner with a screaming child two booths away, ruins our experience. Also, kids always in pool, not a couples getaway we were hoping for. Would have liked to have continental breakfast included wih the cost of room. Beds were comfy, liked the coffee service.

Room Tip: The lower floors have a patio with table and chairs which would be nice for sitting in evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lsrs99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ålesund, Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2011

The warm cookies we received at our arrival set a perfect stop to our 13 hour drive from Las Vegas, and was the perfect beginning of our stay in American Canyon. The front desk staff were super helpful, and we received a lot of useful information about winetours and the area around.

Our room had a little patio facing the pond which the hotel surrounds, and in this pond were tame swans and a duck with ducklings! The ducklings even came up to our patio to eat the crumbs from our breakfast.

There's a pool, which was great as the temperatures were pretty high. The only negative thing about the pool is that there is barely enough room to lie around it.

The restaurant, however, served a lousy breakfast for $15 per person. Okay, you get your eggs fried the way you want and the fruit was delicious, but that was it. If you need more for breakfast than fruit, I suggest you spend your money on Subway just down the street. One of the waiters was totally incompetent as well, and it wasn't hard to see the frustration of his co-worker.

Room Tip: Ask for king bed if you want that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ings_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

I am a Diamond Member with Hilton, and love the brand, but this Doubletree is in so many words, " an imposter." With that being said, the Hotel is located just on the outskirts of Napa Valley, but the price makes you feel like your right smack in the middle. Upon Check in the Hotel lobby seemed empty and un inviting. This hotel promoted the fact that they are LEED Certified, which is nice, but they have about 6 flat screens with fake gauges on how much electric i being used. (the Gauges stayed the same all 5 days I was there) The staff was friendly, but again, didn't give the hospitality that I have grown to love within the Hilton Brand. The grounds were nice, but to me it just didn't seem like it was a true Hilton Property, something was wrong. Upon entering the room, there was a very large red stain on the rug in the middle of my room (which smelled very musty). I either thought it was blood, or was hoping since we were in Wine Country it was Red Wine- Either way, this stain was in my very expensive room- I ended up looking up the hotel, and it turns out it was just acquired by Hilton (Doubletree) months earlier- The old sign is still worn in the front marquee outside the hotel, and they kept there restaraunt and "spa" the same as the old hotel name. In my mind this place isn't worth half what we paid, and would probably never come back when Im in the area.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bfree7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2011

My family and I stayed here after attending my cousin's wedding in Sonoma. All of the other accommodations in Napa and Sonoma were over $200/nt. We got a double room here for around $100! The rooms were spacious and clean. It's only about a 15 minute drive into downtown Napa from the hotel. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nyo2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near American Canyon
11.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Napa
8.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Elm House Inn
7.7 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Napa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Napa Valley - American Canyon
10.9 mi away
Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa
7.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at the Vines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Spa Napa Valley - American Canyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Spa Napa Valley - American Canyon

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Spa Napa Valley - American Canyon
Address: 3600 Broadway St, American Canyon, CA 94503-1259 (Formerly Gaia Napa Valley Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > American Canyon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in American Canyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Spa Napa Valley - American Canyon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree Hotel & Spa Napa Valley - American Canyon hotel in northern California is the World's First LEED-Certified Hotel, located near hundreds of wineries in the Sonoma Valley - on Highway 29 at the gateway to Napa Valley (9 minutes from Napa). Relax at our on-site spa - Spa Gaia - or enjoy organic, locally-gathered meals at the Table 29 Bistro & Bar (also on-site). Our eco-friendly hotel includes a sparkling lagoon (suites with water views available), fitness room, outdoor pool, lounge/bar area, room service, multi-lingual staff and free parking (evening security provided). Host your wedding on our outdoor event deck with views of our sparkling Lagoon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Spa Napa Valley - American Canyon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Hotel And Spa Napa Valley - American Canyon
Hotel Gaia Napa Valley
Gaia Napa Valley American Canyon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing