We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thin walls = Poor Sleep” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites Napa Valley - American Canyon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Napa Valley - American Canyon
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in American Canyon
New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Thin walls = Poor Sleep”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2011

My husband and I stayed here 2 nights on a trip to Napa. Someone in the room next door was talking and it was enough to keep us up all night. The people are nice, and the room is clean, but that's about the only benefit to this place. The breakfast was HORRIBLE, and there is a sign in the lobby that talks about how some of the materials in the hotel may be cancerous. I guess they neglect to mention that on their website so you stay, but I was pretty unhappy once I saw it!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rderedita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    124
    58
    11
    9
See reviews for
73
111
10
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2010

We took my mother in law to Napa for a weekend of sightseeing and wine tasting, and the Holiday Inn Express in American Canyon was an excellent choice, convenient location, and very reasonable price. The free hot breakfast on saturday and sunday morning was a bit crowded, but there was lots of hot food, which meant we weren't stuck eating a Starbucks breakfast. The last couple of times we went to Napa, we stayed in the Sheraton hotel in Petaluma, and if you've ever tried to drive from Napa to Petaluma at 7 pm in the evening, you know that it is not an easy drive. After dinner in Napa, it was only a 20 min drive back to the hotel in non-back roads, which was great. we will definitely stay here the next time we want a weekend in Napa.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank isy_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport
Level Contributor
101 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2010

We could not fault the room or the service at this place - all you expect at a Holiday Inn Express. It is fairly new and the rooms are large and well appointed. The bed comfortable.
Everything works and the service is good.
As a base for exploring wine country it is fine but unless you want to drive there is nowhere to eat in the evenings. We were there for 2 nights and ended up getting a taxi to a restaurant, not a problem but an additional expense if you are not prepared for it. There is a Walmart next door and a McDonalds, Starbucks, Panda Express and a pizza takeaway, if all you want is fast food.
The only other drawback is that of you are at the front of the hotel there may be some road noise and at the back the local industry starts up before 7am and it is quite noisy!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sooz0702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
105 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2010

The hotel is definitely on the fringe of the Napa/Sonoma wine country but don't let that stop you from checking this out. The hotel is basic but very clean and well kept. We also found the service at the hotel very solid - from the front desk to the breakfast attendant. Everyone seemed interested in helping us and ensuring we had a good stay. A nice perk is a location near some local shopping that includes a Starbucks, some low key dinning and a Walmart for the forgotten necessities.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaimada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaluma, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2010

Stayed here for two nights during a wine weekend.

Pros of staying here:
Proximity to the Napa Valley and wineries -- you can be tasting in about 10-15 minutes
Lots of parking
Close to shopping/eateries
Clean rooms
Great heated pool and hot tub
Free breakfast
Easy checkout

Cons of staying here:
Mediocre service - employees don't go out of their way to make your stay fantastic
No black out curtains - don't anticipate sleeping in
Weird layout of hotel
Poor water pressure
Noisy - You'll hear your neighbors

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank leetha24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2010

I stayed at this motel every week for 9 months - only going home on Sat night and returning Sun night. They got to know me very well and check in was a breeze - no need to give them my credit card for incidentals - my room keys were always ready when I walked in and I usually got the first floor. Breakfast was always early so I was able to eat and head off to work. This motel is #1 on my list for the Napa and American Canyon area.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Howard-Clark-Jr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2010

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights while we sampled the fruit of the vine in the area. The hotel was very well appointed, the price was reasonable and the staff very friendly. We were put in a room next to the work-out area which was fine till 6:00 am when the "Hard Boddies" came to work out...very noisy. I spoke to maanagement and they moved us and upgraded us without a question. GREAT PLACE TO STAY!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jeff039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near American Canyon
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Spa Napa Valley - American Canyon
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Napa American Canyon
10.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Napa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Napa
7.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at the Vines
8.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Elm House Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Napa Valley - American Canyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Napa Valley - American Canyon

Property: Holiday Inn Express & Suites Napa Valley - American Canyon
Address: 5001 Main St, American Canyon, CA 94503-1196
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > American Canyon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in American Canyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Napa Valley - American Canyon 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NOW OPEN! The NEW Holiday Inn Express & Suites Napa Valley is located in one of the world s most prestigious wine regions featuring first class dining, golf courses, and wineries. Situated at Napa Junction across from beautiful Main Street Park the hotel is adjacent to numerous eateries and retail businesses including Starbucks, Sonic and Wal-Mart. A short eight mile drive along historic HWY 29 brings you to downtown Napa with world-renowned restaurants, boutique shops and Yountville & St. Helena with over 350 wineries & numerous championship golf courses. For family fun try Six Flags Discovery Kingdom Vallejo. Adults will love the Napa Valley Wine Train s lunch & dinner excursions through Napa s countryside. Notable local area companies include Foster s Wine Group, Coca Cola, GL Mezetta & Anheuser-Busch. Napa Valley s newest hotel has 101 luxuriously appointed guest rooms and suites are equipped with pillow top beds, the signature Smart Bath Collection, 32 flat panel televisions, and complimentary wired/wireless high-speed Internet access. The hotel also features a beautifully designed patio area with outdoor pool and spa, a state-of-the-art exercise room, business center, and over 2,000 square feet of flexible meeting space. Make your experience in the wine country a memorable one and join us at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites - the only hotel in the Napa Valley where you can Stay Smart! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Napa Valley - American Canyon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Napa Valley - American Canyon
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Napa Valley - American Canyon Hotel American Canyon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing