We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“TINY TOWN THAT WAS DELIGHTFUL!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Imperial Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Amador City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Auburn,CA
Level Contributor
119 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“TINY TOWN THAT WAS DELIGHTFUL!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014

TINY TOWN THAT WAS DELIGHTFUL!

We spent 2 nights in Amador City in room 9 of the garden cottage, an annex of the Imperial Hotel B & B. The suite was clean and comfortable with a small refrigerator. It was pleasant having the privacy of our own little porch. There was no wifi in the cottage, so we took our computers down to the hotel and found a comfortable place on the patio. -- The following morning it was a welcome surprise to have the makings for coffee and tea delivered to our door. A delicious hot breakfast was served in the hotel from 8:00-10:00. Everyone may choose the time for their breakfast the day before. You can have your breakfast in the dining room with white tablecloth and napkins, or in one of the lovely nooks on the patio. -- We were lucky to be there on a Wednesday night when there was live music on the front patio. They have happy hour at the bar, and a very good selection of local wines by the glass (for $5-$9) or by the bottle. We enjoyed a lovely dinner one night, and a delicious dessert the next evening. The chocolate they serve with your check is some of the best, and made locally by the dessert maker. We were told that on Saturday nights during the summer, there is dancing in the streets.

Amador City (population 150) first appears to be just a bend in the road (originally on Hwy 49, but now a bypass away from the traffic). There’s an old cemetery up the hill behind the hotel. We walked down Pig Turd Alley and climbed to the top of God’s Hill Road (real names—see photo). It was a 1-mile roundtrip where we could see across the valley and all the way to the coastal range. Amador City is an ideal location for touring this area. It is 5 minutes from the charming town of Sutter Creek and 9 minutes from Plymouth and the Shenandoah Road which takes you into the heart of the wine country and to the Amador Flower Farm.

Room Tip: On web site there are photos of the rooms, don't miss suites in the cottage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sssnancysss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    21
    12
    4
    2
See reviews for
17
52
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ardmore, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
211 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

We just returned from staying here for a week. We enjoyed the uniqueness of the setting and the private parking lot (which got so full at night for the restaurant that we couldn't find parking). They advertise as a B&B since they include breakfast, but it's more of a hotel instead. Since the bottom is a restaurant and bar and there was no door at the top of the stairs going to the guest rooms, it was quite noisy at night until 10pm or later. Being we traveled from the central time zone, we were ready to go to bed earlier but couldn't because of the noise below. We stayed in Rm 5 and our son and his wife stayed in Rm 6. Our room was very cool, but their AC didn't work very well so they were warm on many nights. Also in Rm. 5 the connecting Rm. 4 had a door between the two rooms which was boarded over, but you could still hear everything in your neighbor's room. Again, it's an old hotel so I'm sure the insulation is not the greatest so if you're looking for a quiet, undisturbed place to stay I would recommend their rooms away from the main hotel. They also didn't have a "common place" where you could play board games or watch videos like most B&B's. The breakfast was quite good except for serving us chicken sausage for 3 days. That got a bit old. And if you're looking to go shopping in the few stores they have or even at nearby downtown Sutter Creek or Jackson, beware that the majority of them are closed on Tuesdays, Wednesdays and some on Thursdays. We were quite surprised and disappointed about that since we had taken a whole day to do just that. Since they are tourist towns, they get most business on weekends.

Room Tip: Room 5 is above the outside break room for the employees so you will hear their conversations and la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charrie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
56 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

Imperial hotel is small but charming with loads of history, definitely worth a detour to stay the night or two. We were welcomed by Peter, checking us in and telling us all about the fantastic history of the hotel and Amador City.

We stayed in a room with brick walls, high ceiling and direct access to the front balcony. There is a bar on the ground floor that carries details from the 19th century such as the bar disc. The hotel has even a great restaurant, serving excellent food. Don’t forget to make a reservation. It’s a popular restaurant that people from other cities like to visit. The dining can be taken either inside in the old restored environment, or outside on one of the hotels two porches.
For breakfast you can chose between Granola or a hot dish that varies from day to day, a nice change from all regular breakfasts.

Amador City is a small town with apx 150 inhabitants with all the buildings still in place from the old days along the main street. There are a few shops, a café and a museum. Behind the hotel is a small cemetery, also from the old days. The graves have interesting articles from old newspaper clips regarding the individuals resting there that give an interesting view of the life back then.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mango60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

One should expect some old stuff when sleeping with history: creaky floor boards, red brick walls, doors with gaps. Obvious renovations include showers, fixtures, lighting, ceiling fans and AC.
The bed was comfy and the windows opened for night air on a warm summer night.
Not really on highway 49, just the back road (old 49) from the much busier Sutter Creek.
Great dinner and breakfast. Fines wines at many wineries in the neighborhood. Bring one back to enjoy on the back patio or front balcony.

Room Tip: The two front rooms have French doors onto the balcony, overlooking the Main Street. No problem with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RobinandKaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2014

My husband and I recently stayed at the Imperial Hotel with our 18-month-old son while visiting family in the area. It wasn't a place I would have ever sought out on my own, coming from Ohio, but I'm glad we stumbled across it. The property -- and town, really -- was absolutely beautiful. I loved the super tall ceilings and big/bright windows, and the bed was really comfortable. The convenient and free parking lot was an added bonus.

We were a little unsure about bringing a little one to a B&B in an area known for its wine tastings, but we never felt out of place. Surprisingly, there was little noise from the bar below at night, which is a good thing with a sleeping baby. The general manager was incredibly friendly and helpful, doing everything possible to make us feel at home. Breakfast was good but the portions weren't huge, so we walked up to Andrae's Bakery afterward and tried the smoked salmon sliders and some other pastries (delicious). We did try dinner at the hotel one night, too, and it was excellent and reasonably priced. All in all an excellent trip.

If you go, definitely explore the little town - it's just one main street. I mentioned the bakery, but the ice cream shop is also good. You'll encounter the very friendly locals -- watch for one of the shop owners, Dale, who is a character.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 5 on the back side of the hotel, facing the parking lot. We chose it because it wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyTraveler915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2014

Spent four days in April at the Imperial. Had an excellant time. The hotel has the feeling of a small English hotel with excellent food, evening entertainment and an intimate bar area where the hotel residents and the locals mingle. Great wine country plus gold country history. A great get away and looking forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trippingagain5005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacaville, California
Level Contributor
419 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 344 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014

We recently visited Amador City, and had dinner at the Imperial Hotel. The dining area itself is quite nice, but the food was just so-so. I have a new york steak which was actually quite good .. however, my wife had the shrimp which was quite tasteless other than the chili pepper used to attempt to spice it up.

I would recommend this restaurant, however, it is not much over an okay meal.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DennisAtkinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuttersEnd, Owner at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
We always appreciate feedback from our customers, so I want to thank this reviewer for his comments. Though I am glad that the New York steak was enjoyable, I do regret that the shrimp was not. I have passed these comments on to the chef for his consideration.

We do instruct our serving staff to offer a substitute menu item if a guest is not pleased with their choice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amador City
2.2 mi away
Hotel Sutter
Hotel Sutter
#2 of 2 in Sutter Creek
3.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
1.8 mi away
Days Inn Sutter Creek
Days Inn Sutter Creek
#1 of 2 in Sutter Creek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
10.4 mi away
The Historic Hotel Leger
The Historic Hotel Leger
#1 of 1 in Mokelumne Hill
4.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 mi away
The Robin's Nest
The Robin's Nest
#1 of 3 in San Andreas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
4.4 mi away
Rest Hotel Plymouth
Rest Hotel Plymouth
#1 of 7 in Plymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
3.6 mi away
Shenandoah Inn
Shenandoah Inn
#3 of 7 in Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Hotel

Property: Imperial Hotel
Address: 14202 Old Hwy. 49, Amador City, CA 95601
Location: United States > California > Amador County > Amador City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Amador City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Imperial Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully restored historic California Gold Country hotel in the heart of Amador County wine country. This small-town bed and breakfast inn offers six handsome guest rooms and three luxurious suites, each with private bath and modern amenities. On-site gourmet restaurant and full bar featuring award-winning local wines. Close to golf courses, antique stores, fishing, skiing and more than 45 wineries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing