We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Days Inn by Wyndham Sutter Creek(Sutter Creek)(Great Value!)
$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of $97/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Sutter(Sutter Creek)
$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$85
$77
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$126
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Historic Hotel Leger(Mokelumne Hill)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pioneer Inn & Suites(Pioneer)(Great Value!)
$83
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Murieta Inn & Spa(Rancho Murieta)
$129
$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (107)
Filter reviews
107 results
Traveler rating
59
25
15
6
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
59
25
15
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgold countrygold rushnext morninghoneymoon suitesutter creekmid weeksmall townamador countyits charmold westwonderful wineriesgranolaone night stayevery morninglove this placebalcony overlookingfresh fruit
Filter
Updating list...
54 - 59 of 107 reviews
Reviewed June 22, 2014

We just returned from staying here for a week. We enjoyed the uniqueness of the setting and the private parking lot (which got so full at night for the restaurant that we couldn't find parking). They advertise as a B&B since they include breakfast, but it's more of a hotel instead. Since the bottom is a restaurant and bar and there was no door at the top of the stairs going to the guest rooms, it was quite noisy at night until 10pm or later. Being we traveled from the central time zone, we were ready to go to bed earlier but couldn't because of the noise below. We stayed in Rm 5 and our son and his wife stayed in Rm 6. Our room was very cool, but their AC didn't work very well so they were warm on many nights. Also in Rm. 5 the connecting Rm. 4 had a door between the two rooms which was boarded over, but you could still hear everything in your neighbor's room. Again, it's an old hotel so I'm sure the insulation is not the greatest so if you're looking for a quiet, undisturbed place to stay I would recommend their rooms away from the main hotel. They also didn't have a "common place" where you could play board games or watch videos like most B&B's. The breakfast was quite good except for serving us chicken sausage for 3 days. That got a bit old. And if you're looking to go shopping in the few stores they have or even at nearby downtown Sutter Creek or Jackson, beware that the majority of them are closed on Tuesdays, Wednesdays and some on Thursdays. We were quite surprised and disappointed about that since we had taken a whole day to do just that. Since they are tourist towns, they get most business on weekends.

Room Tip: Room 5 is above the outside break room for the employees so you will hear their conversations and laughing til late at night at times.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charrie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Imperial hotel is small but charming with loads of history, definitely worth a detour to stay the night or two. We were welcomed by Peter, checking us in and telling us all about the fantastic history of the hotel and Amador City.

We stayed in a room with brick walls, high ceiling and direct access to the front balcony. There is a bar on the ground floor that carries details from the 19th century such as the bar disc. The hotel has even a great restaurant, serving excellent food. Don’t forget to make a reservation. It’s a popular restaurant that people from other cities like to visit. The dining can be taken either inside in the old restored environment, or outside on one of the hotels two porches.
For breakfast you can chose between Granola or a hot dish that varies from day to day, a nice change from all regular breakfasts.

Amador City is a small town with apx 150 inhabitants with all the buildings still in place from the old days along the main street. There are a few shops, a café and a museum. Behind the hotel is a small cemetery, also from the old days. The graves have interesting articles from old newspaper clips regarding the individuals resting there that give an interesting view of the life back then.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mango60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014

One should expect some old stuff when sleeping with history: creaky floor boards, red brick walls, doors with gaps. Obvious renovations include showers, fixtures, lighting, ceiling fans and AC.
The bed was comfy and the windows opened for night air on a warm summer night.
Not really on highway 49, just the back road (old 49) from the much busier Sutter Creek.
Great dinner and breakfast. Fines wines at many wineries in the neighborhood. Bring one back to enjoy on the back patio or front balcony.

Room Tip: The two front rooms have French doors onto the balcony, overlooking the Main Street. No problem with night noise since there is no traffic at night.. Check out the back patio and stairway to historic cemetery out back.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobinandKaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2014

My husband and I recently stayed at the Imperial Hotel with our 18-month-old son while visiting family in the area. It wasn't a place I would have ever sought out on my own, coming from Ohio, but I'm glad we stumbled across it. The property -- and town, really -- was absolutely beautiful. I loved the super tall ceilings and big/bright windows, and the bed was really comfortable. The convenient and free parking lot was an added bonus.

We were a little unsure about bringing a little one to a B&B in an area known for its wine tastings, but we never felt out of place. Surprisingly, there was little noise from the bar below at night, which is a good thing with a sleeping baby. The general manager was incredibly friendly and helpful, doing everything possible to make us feel at home. Breakfast was good but the portions weren't huge, so we walked up to Andrae's Bakery afterward and tried the smoked salmon sliders and some other pastries (delicious). We did try dinner at the hotel one night, too, and it was excellent and reasonably priced. All in all an excellent trip.

If you go, definitely explore the little town - it's just one main street. I mentioned the bakery, but the ice cream shop is also good. You'll encounter the very friendly locals -- watch for one of the shop owners, Dale, who is a character.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 5 on the back side of the hotel, facing the parking lot. We chose it because it was one of only two rooms with a tub to bathe our son. The rooms in the front have access to the really cool front porch, so those are worth checking out if you don't need a tub.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyTraveler915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2014

Spent four days in April at the Imperial. Had an excellant time. The hotel has the feeling of a small English hotel with excellent food, evening entertainment and an intimate bar area where the hotel residents and the locals mingle. Great wine country plus gold country history. A great get away and looking forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trippingagain5005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews