We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel with loads of history” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Imperial Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Amador City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
54 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Charming hotel with loads of history”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

Imperial hotel is small but charming with loads of history, definitely worth a detour to stay the night or two. We were welcomed by Peter, checking us in and telling us all about the fantastic history of the hotel and Amador City.

We stayed in a room with brick walls, high ceiling and direct access to the front balcony. There is a bar on the ground floor that carries details from the 19th century such as the bar disc. The hotel has even a great restaurant, serving excellent food. Don’t forget to make a reservation. It’s a popular restaurant that people from other cities like to visit. The dining can be taken either inside in the old restored environment, or outside on one of the hotels two porches.
For breakfast you can chose between Granola or a hot dish that varies from day to day, a nice change from all regular breakfasts.

Amador City is a small town with apx 150 inhabitants with all the buildings still in place from the old days along the main street. There are a few shops, a café and a museum. Behind the hotel is a small cemetery, also from the old days. The graves have interesting articles from old newspaper clips regarding the individuals resting there that give an interesting view of the life back then.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mango60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    21
    12
    4
    2
See reviews for
17
52
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Los Gatos, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

One should expect some old stuff when sleeping with history: creaky floor boards, red brick walls, doors with gaps. Obvious renovations include showers, fixtures, lighting, ceiling fans and AC.
The bed was comfy and the windows opened for night air on a warm summer night.
Not really on highway 49, just the back road (old 49) from the much busier Sutter Creek.
Great dinner and breakfast. Fines wines at many wineries in the neighborhood. Bring one back to enjoy on the back patio or front balcony.

Room Tip: The two front rooms have French doors onto the balcony, overlooking the Main Street. No problem with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RobinandKaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2014

My husband and I recently stayed at the Imperial Hotel with our 18-month-old son while visiting family in the area. It wasn't a place I would have ever sought out on my own, coming from Ohio, but I'm glad we stumbled across it. The property -- and town, really -- was absolutely beautiful. I loved the super tall ceilings and big/bright windows, and the bed was really comfortable. The convenient and free parking lot was an added bonus.

We were a little unsure about bringing a little one to a B&B in an area known for its wine tastings, but we never felt out of place. Surprisingly, there was little noise from the bar below at night, which is a good thing with a sleeping baby. The general manager was incredibly friendly and helpful, doing everything possible to make us feel at home. Breakfast was good but the portions weren't huge, so we walked up to Andrae's Bakery afterward and tried the smoked salmon sliders and some other pastries (delicious). We did try dinner at the hotel one night, too, and it was excellent and reasonably priced. All in all an excellent trip.

If you go, definitely explore the little town - it's just one main street. I mentioned the bakery, but the ice cream shop is also good. You'll encounter the very friendly locals -- watch for one of the shop owners, Dale, who is a character.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 5 on the back side of the hotel, facing the parking lot. We chose it because it wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyTraveler915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2014

Spent four days in April at the Imperial. Had an excellant time. The hotel has the feeling of a small English hotel with excellent food, evening entertainment and an intimate bar area where the hotel residents and the locals mingle. Great wine country plus gold country history. A great get away and looking forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trippingagain5005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacaville, California
Level Contributor
400 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 339 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014

We recently visited Amador City, and had dinner at the Imperial Hotel. The dining area itself is quite nice, but the food was just so-so. I have a new york steak which was actually quite good .. however, my wife had the shrimp which was quite tasteless other than the chili pepper used to attempt to spice it up.

I would recommend this restaurant, however, it is not much over an okay meal.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DennisAtkinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuttersEnd, Owner at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
We always appreciate feedback from our customers, so I want to thank this reviewer for his comments. Though I am glad that the New York steak was enjoyable, I do regret that the shrimp was not. I have passed these comments on to the chef for his consideration.

We do instruct our serving staff to offer a substitute menu item if a guest is not pleased with their choice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014 via mobile

As my husband just said, 'I couldn't have wanted anything more from a hotel'! This might seem odd for a hotel which isn't all 'mod cons', but we absolutely loved it here and can't wait to return. We were welcomed by Pete, who was absolutely lovely and efficient (winning combination!). I was longing for a cup of tea on arrival, and he had it brought swiftly up to the room. The room itself was lovely, with a balcony looking on to the main street. It had a chaise longue as well as other nice furniture, and the bathroom was spacious and spotlessly clean. We ate supper in the restaurant, where the food was excellent, the service friendly (thank you Chelsey!) and Pete's hospitality triumphed again when he helped us with wine choices, giving us free tastings of a few to help us make up our mind. In the morning, we really appreciated being able to help ourselves to coffee on the landing and relax in our room before breakfast. The Imperial is a beautiful, characterful and history filled hotel with excellent service - we couldn't recommend it more!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MissMoneypennyAgain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocklin, California
Level Contributor
123 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

Our first stay in Amador City was at the Imperial Hotel. Historic charm is everywhere and accentuated with appropriate modern conveniences. Our upstairs guest room bed was very comfortable and the pillows were too. I like a medium to full feather pillow at home and judge a hotel by how good the bed and pillows are. The linens are higher quality and the over head fan was perfect. The furniture in the room was eclectic and a bit funky, but fun. The updated bath complete with a towel warmer was a nice touch. Free wifi is available. In the morning good fresh coffee, cream and sugars are placed on a sideboard in the hall upstairs which was really appreciated. Our dinner of starters and desserts was lovely, beautifully presented and the double chocolate cake and homemade vanilla ice cream was Amazing! Breakfast was equally delicious and we enjoyed the view of the patio. The staff all seemed ready to assist in any way that they could. What made the Imperial an easy choice for us was the ability to stay just one night as opposed to two required at other BB type locations. The window blinds need dusting in the room.

Room Tip: We were in room 5, next time I'd ask for room 6 for a little more room and on the other side of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sourdoe2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amador City
2.2 mi away
Hotel Sutter
Hotel Sutter
#2 of 2 in Sutter Creek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
1.8 mi away
Days Inn Sutter Creek
Days Inn Sutter Creek
#1 of 2 in Sutter Creek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
10.4 mi away
The Historic Hotel Leger
The Historic Hotel Leger
#1 of 1 in Mokelumne Hill
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Amador Inn
1.9 mi away
Grey Gables Inn
Grey Gables Inn
#2 of 6 in Sutter Creek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
4.5 mi away
Plymouth House Inn
Plymouth House Inn
#2 of 6 in Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Hotel

Property: Imperial Hotel
Address: 14202 Old Hwy. 49, Amador City, CA 95601
Location: United States > California > Amador City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Amador City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Imperial Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully restored historic California Gold Country hotel in the heart of Amador County wine country. This small-town bed and breakfast inn offers six handsome guest rooms and three luxurious suites, each with private bath and modern amenities. On-site gourmet restaurant and full bar featuring award-winning local wines. Close to golf courses, antique stores, fishing, skiing and more than 45 wineries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing