We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Enter California's Gold Rush” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Imperial Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Amador City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco
Level Contributor
75 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Enter California's Gold Rush”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

I had not been to Amador City for over 25 years, so I was quite surprised when we rolled into town. I do not remember much of anything being open then, but now it was a little village all shined up for the weekend guests. We had booked a room in advance at the Imperial Hotel, a substantial brick building on the road into town. We requested a room with a balcony. So here I sit, on our balcony, in the quiet of the afternoon and the shadows of sunset coming on. There are only two rooms with a balcony [room 1 and 2], but well worth the few extra dollars.
We arrived around noon, before check in but we were given our room immediately. Very clean and pleasant room and since all the room doors were open on the second floor I took the liberty of checking them out. I also took photos. Each room is distinct and appeared quite comfortable. We inquired at the front desk about lunch places and we received a lot of information about local attractions. We made reservations for dinner in the hotel restaurant. The room price included full breakfast. We were asked to place our order the night before. Our breakfast included pancakes, sausage, juice and fresh fruit. In the morning before went went down to the dining room for breakfast, fresh brewed coffee was placed outside our door.
Our room had a queen bed and a small chaise. The mattress was a little too soft but that is a personal choice. No TV, but they do have Internet. I must say, the accommodations are quite comfortable. I caution visitor that many shops are closed Mondays, Tuesdays, and Wednesdays. You get a better room rate if you avoid Friday and Saturday night.
All the staff was wonderful. In the evening when we went down to dinner we met Peter, the manager/bartender/waiter/bus boy/anything else you needed done. Everyone was most accommodating.
A note to dog owners, there is one room that allows dogs, [number 9] and the suites annex across the road. This building sits slightly uphill and has a big garden with a lawn area.

Room Tip: Rooms 1 and 2 have access to the second floor balcony. Room 9 is dog friendly. The two rooms in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jadranko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    21
    12
    4
    2
See reviews for
17
52
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Redding, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

My wife and I happended upon the Imperial Hotel. A phone call to check availability was handled by Peter who was very polite and accomodating. Our stay was fabulous. We enjoyed a very good a dinner and wine on the balcony ovelooking the town's intersection. What a great time. Enjoyed coffe at the historic bar in the morning before a breakfast that was just okay. The staff was very eager to please and we look forward to staying here again on our visit to Gold Country and the Shenendoah Valley.

Room Tip: We had a room with direct access to the front balcony and enjoyed a quiet evening watching cars go b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tinastreats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

I very much enjoyed my recent stay at the Imperial Hotel in Amador City. This historical inn, around 130 years old is quaint and wonderful. The staff is incredibly accommodating. Enjoyed the historical bar, lovely dining area, patio and balcony. I also enjoyed taking in the beautiful mountain scenery of Amador City. The shops in this "smallest town in California" feature fun and original merchandise.

The surrounding wine area is developing at a rapid pace. There are some wonderful wineries to explore and delicious wines to sample.

This is a lovely getaway, around 2 hours from the Bay Area. Being less developed than other regions, I found it to be both relaxing and a good value. The hotels promotion of paying for two nights and receiving the third for only $30 was an attractive offer.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 3 and enjoyed it. The lavatory is located in the bedroom....
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank L'Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Occidental, California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

If you can get away mid week do not miss a fun overnight here where for $150 during January and possibly beyond one can get room, breakfast AND dinner for two. Rooms of this former brothel and hotel are comfy, food is reasonable (beware minced garlic on absolutely everything -- just ask and they will go light) and bar is downright glorious. Construction still going on for new bridge in front, but workers finish reasonably early and were not yet going by 9 am so no problem.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Occi0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

Love this little B&B in Amador. Near lots of great history and amazing wineries all within 20 minutes any direction. If you're not quite tired after dinner, pop into their bar to make new friends or have a night cap. The rooms are decorated in period decor with modern amenities. The restaurant is wonderful and does regular wine pairing dinners featuring local wineries. Beautiful area to walk in the morning to stretch your legs and enjoy the wonderful clean fresh air! Love the Imperial Hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank larndt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

My wife and I recently retraced our honeymoon for our 30th anniversary and stayed at the Imperial Hotel for 1 night. It turned out to be one of the most enjoyable stays of our trip - the manager, the waitress for our evening meal, and the waitress for our morning breakfast all went out of their way to make us feel welcome. At first we were a bit put off by the road construction going on out front, but actually kind of enjoyed watching what they were doing since we stayed in one of the front rooms with a balcony overlooking the street. The evening meal in the restaurant was excellent as was the morning breakfast looking out over the courtyard in the back of the building. My wife really liked the towel warmer in the bathroom and I liked the comfortable chair (and balcony) to read on. There is a lot of interesting history in the area related to the gold rush, and interesting shops in nearby towns such as Jackson (the only one we had time to visit).

Room Tip: Rooms with balcony at the front of the hotel would be best. But there is also a nice sitting room of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yerfsdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe Springs
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

Quaint and clean. But they didn't tell me that the street was torn up and it looked terrible outside.
Room was clean, but very small. My mother in law stayed with us and the sink is not in the bathroom, but at the foot of the bed.
I had to leave room to allow privacy and space for them to get showered and ready. Food was very good. Coffee service in the morning was very good. I might try it again. Rooms are NOT comfortable for more than one or two people.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Gonzalo E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuttersEnd, Owner at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
I am sorry for the disruption the bridge replacement project is causing out in front of our little hotel. It has been in the planning stages for years, but the exact timing of the work has been difficult to predict, as the start date was delayed for years, then months, then weeks. Now that it is definitely underway, we have added a note in the reservation reminder that is emailed to all guests to let them know about the construction. So far all of our hotel guests have been most understanding, which we greatly appreciate. The construction crew has been very sensitive to the needs of the town's merchants and have tried to keep the disruption to a minimum. We're looking forward to completion very soon (so far they are 2 weeks ahead of schedule!) when we have a brand new, safe bridge --- and a new patio out in front of the hotel for guests to enjoy with a glass of wine!
Regarding room occupancy, most of our rooms are listed for 2 people, but if requested, we will add a roll away bed for a third occupant in some of the rooms. We do warn guests that, especially in some of the smaller rooms, this will take away some sitting area and make things quite cozy. This generally works better for families who are traveling with a child rather than 3 adults.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amador City
2.2 mi away
Hotel Sutter
Hotel Sutter
#2 of 2 in Sutter Creek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
1.8 mi away
Days Inn Sutter Creek
Days Inn Sutter Creek
#1 of 2 in Sutter Creek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
10.4 mi away
The Historic Hotel Leger
The Historic Hotel Leger
#1 of 1 in Mokelumne Hill
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Amador Inn
1.9 mi away
Grey Gables Inn
Grey Gables Inn
#2 of 6 in Sutter Creek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
4.5 mi away
Plymouth House Inn
Plymouth House Inn
#2 of 6 in Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Hotel

Property: Imperial Hotel
Address: 14202 Old Hwy. 49, Amador City, CA 95601
Location: United States > California > Amador City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Amador City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Imperial Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully restored historic California Gold Country hotel in the heart of Amador County wine country. This small-town bed and breakfast inn offers six handsome guest rooms and three luxurious suites, each with private bath and modern amenities. On-site gourmet restaurant and full bar featuring award-winning local wines. Close to golf courses, antique stores, fishing, skiing and more than 45 wineries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing