We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and Clean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Trailside Inn
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Alturas
Carson City, NV
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice and Clean”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the Trailside Inn. The rooms were very clean and well kept. We would stay here again. We didn't try the continental breakfast however so I can't rate that. There were waffles available.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bridgette1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    76
    51
    10
    7
See reviews for
54
47
18
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level 6 Contributor
281 reviews
259 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 817 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

There aren't many choices in Alturas and even the existing options aren't cheap. So finally decided to stay at the local BW. Was checked-in by Cody, who was very friendly and professional. However the room I got was not what my reservation stated, there was no micro and fridge in the room, so had to go back and get another room. The room was OK, spacious and clean, however the decor and furniture is rather dated. Early in the morning I wanted to use the hairdryer, but found out it's broken. Went to the front desk for help, this time an older gentleman helped me right away, found a new hairdryer in the back and took it to my room. Went to have breakfast, the choice of items is OK, the problem is the breakfast room has exactly TWO tables! And the hotel was fully booked! I advise them to at least provide trays in the breakfast room, so you can take food to your room instead of waiting forever for a vaccant spot. I used the small pool in the evening, to fresh up and the pool area was clean. For an overnight stay it's an OK option, they just need to improve the breakfast experience.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Slo-Lju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puyallup, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

This motel is a great choice for an over night stay in Alturas. The Trailside is a fairly small two story facility with parking in front of the rooms. There was a pool with tables, chairs and umbrellas to aid in our attempt to escaped the hot summer sunshine. There is an upper deck sitting area too but it's unshaded and it was too hot for us to venture up there. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. Check in was easy and the staff friendly. There is a gas and mini store across the street. We ate at the Mexican restaurant across the street and down a couple of blocks. Very good food and excellent friendly service. If we return to Alturas we'll stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harleytravelerx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, CA
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Stayed here for just one night.
It's Alturas and not many choices. Best Western Trailside Inn was not too too bad for just a night. The place is a bit run-down, and the beds are so-so.

We didn't try the breakfast.

However, it was quite - even when it was full and the staff was very helpful and friendly.

It looses marks for being so rundown.
Gains marks for helpful friend staff. Thanks Cody !

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DSCmePleasanton_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Altos, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Clean, comfortable, Greg place to overnite. We had 2 dogs and expected to be put in a lesser quality room, but it was really lovely. Highly re ommended this place if you have to overnite in the area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
246 reviews
139 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Large room that was very clean and comfortable.Breakfast had hard boiled eggs, waffles, yogurt, cereal, muffins, danishes, fresh fruit, and beverages. Facility, overall, is spotless! Cody, John, and Melony are professional and guest-oriented. Free internet in the rooms. Very quiet facility. I didn't hear a peep during my entire stay. Only downfall is that I did not have a refrigerator like many of the other rooms. Refrigerators are very common with today's hotel/motel's overall standards. They are almost expected by the business traveler.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NeilRocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan Hill, California
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2012

A group of us traveled to Alturas for a guided goose hunt we stay here and the rooms were nice and clean staff was very friendly. I would stay here again on my next visit. While in town don't miss eating at the Brass Rail or Antonio's Awesome Steak and Pizza respectively!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deadgrassdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alturas
1.0 mi away
Rim Rock Motel
Rim Rock Motel
#1 of 6 in Alturas
168 reviews
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Alturas
Super 8 Alturas
#3 of 6 in Alturas
138 reviews
19.4 mi away
JnR Hotel
JnR Hotel
#4 of 4 in Cedarville
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Niles Hotel
Niles Hotel
#1 of 3 in Alturas
45 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hacienda Motel
Hacienda Motel
#4 of 6 in Alturas
19 reviews
0.6 mi away
No photo provided
Essex Motel
#6 of 6 in Alturas
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Trailside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Trailside Inn

Property: Best Western Trailside Inn
Address: 343 N Main St, Alturas, CA 96101-4065
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Alturas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Alturas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Trailside Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover this great Alutras hotel- 100% non-smoking near the beautiful Warner Mountain Range. The Best Western Trailside Inn is a clean, quality hotel located in Alturas, California. This hotel is close to many outdoor activities including hunting, hiking, golf, fishing and bird watching. Guests will also find convenient access to key area attractions and restaurants. The hotel is in close proximity to local events such as Fandango Days, the Modoc District Fair, the Hot Air Balloon Festival and the Migratory Bird Festival. A seasonal outdoor heated pool is on the property, business center and continental breakfast. Dogs are welcome to the hotel for a small fee. For superior customer service make a reservation at the Best Western Trailside Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Trailside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Trailside Hotel Alturas
Best Western Alturas
Alturas Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing