We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful service and great surprise”
Review of Trailside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Trailside Inn
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Alturas
Reviewed June 5, 2012

We stayed with our dogs for one night and were thrilled with the service and the spotless clean room. New bed linens, great pillows and a great free breakfast with good coffee! I left my kindle behind and before I even realized it they had called and were ready to mail it back. If we are back through this way we will definitely stay again.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
Thank KellyH867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melody D, General Manager at Trailside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2012

I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and noticed the great detail that we take in keeping our rooms ultra clean. Our staff takes great pride in there work from the front desk to the housekeeping department.

I was more than happy to ship your kindle back to you.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Melody Davis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (210)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

188 - 194 of 210 reviews

Reviewed May 23, 2012

The Hotel is older and smaller and dated but pretty much clean and OK. My big complaint was the internet service. It works for a minute or two then wont work at all. I had problems connecting with Google. If you need to do some work or just want to find a place for dinner on the internet it will take you longer than just asking the guy at a gas station. I tried for over an hour and my browser keep timing out before there internet works. so slower than dial up.

If you need to connect then try another place down the street.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beach942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melody D, Manager at Trailside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2012

I am sorry you had such a bad experience with the internet, I sure hope you used our tech support service?!

We have business people stay with us all the time that do there work over the internet so I know how important having a good fast connection is.

I see that you enjoyed that we have clean rooms, we take great pride in this matter.

I hope that if you come to Alturas again you will give us another chance, and that this won't stop you from staying with us again.

Sincerely,

Melody Davis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2012

I stopped for a night on a my way to eastern Oregon from the Bay Area. Very nice host and check-in, clean and pleasant room, comfortable bed, good self-serve breakfast. good price. No complaints.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pol32066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melody D, Manager at Trailside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2012

Thank you for staying with us, we are so glad you enjoyed the stay and look forward to seeing you again.

Sincerely,

Melody Davis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

This is probably the nicest place to stay in Alturas, that really isn't saying much. The staff was very nice! The hotel is a bit run down. Looks like it is used by Cal trans for their employees working the area. Which is fine... But it seems to be used more as a dormatory than for regular, passing through town guests. It was winter. We were charged about $110.00 for the night for my husband and teen child. The room seemed cool - but again, winter with a winter storm in town. Breakfast was the typical Best Western fair. Grab and go... If I am ever stuck in Alturas again, I would have to say I would stay here again. But not much else to choose from.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cdbyellowstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2012

The best thing I can say was the room was clean. BUT..
My mother and I had to make an emergency trip
to Alturas to assist with my now-terminally ill sister.
We had to cut our intended stay short to drive her to
the ER in Klamath Falls. Now we're told that we will
not be reimbursed as they "lost revenue" because
they turned people away from the ground floor room
we had, even though there were rooms available
on the second floor, apparently. Big convention
in town, I guess? Too bad they'll "lose revenue"
when others in our family will be coming
to town and will be advised to stay elsewhere. :)

Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank gshattog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melody D, General Manager at Trailside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2012

Thank you for enjoying our clean room. As I explained to your mother on the phone that I needed to verify the credit card infromation since it was your mother's credit card. I was able to do this and credit back the stay. I was not able to do this with you since you hung up on me and no, there were no conventions in town but a lot of elder people traveling who do not want to climb stairs to get to there rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2011

The BW trailside was a decent choice for our motorcycle trip to Seattle in late Oct. Check in was fast and effecient. Rooms are small and the lighting could be better the beds were comfy if not a bit soft. Breakfast was standard issue ceral, juice danish, etc. Riteaid pharmacy across the street for any incedentials. Just OK in a town that has very few lodging options.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kratour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2011

Used an 800 number for reservation and was charged $15 dollers more than my allocated Per Diem for the Alturas area.
Recieved my credit card bill and was charged $100 for cleaning fee for having a dog in my room....My dog was 300 miles away.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melody D, General Manager at Trailside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2011

Stephen C,

In response to you review I want to thank you for letting people know that we take pet hair serious in non pet rooms for those people who have allergies to pet hair. You indeed was charged the extra fee because of the hair that was through out the room and bedding. What you fail to let the public know is after you contacted the hotel all charges was reversed back to your card.

We take cleanliness very serious and am sure that guest's are very happy that we do.

As far as the rate that you were charged, you initialed the rate at check in so that was the rate that was charged. When making reservations there is a $7.70 difference in Federal rate and State rate in our area. That was also reversed back to your card even though you initialed the rate.

We regret that you feel we are dispicable and cutthroat when trying to run a clean and honest hotel, when we tell guest's that we only allow pets in certain rooms.

Thank you,
M. Davis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alturas hotels
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Alturas
Super 8 Alturas
#3 of 6 in Alturas
150 reviews
1.1 mi away
Rim Rock Motel
Rim Rock Motel
#1 of 6 in Alturas
186 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hacienda Motel
Hacienda Motel
#4 of 6 in Alturas
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Niles Hotel
Niles Hotel
#1 of 3 in Alturas
59 reviews
0.6 mi away
No photo provided
Essex Motel
#6 of 6 in Alturas
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trailside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trailside Inn

Address: 343 N Main St, Alturas, CA 96101-4065
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Alturas
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Alturas
Price Range: $99 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Trailside Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover this great Alturas hotel- 100% non-smoking near the beautiful Warner Mountain Range. TheTrailside Inn is a clean, quality hotel located in Alturas, California. This hotel is close to many outdoor activities including hunting, hiking, golf, fishing and bird watching. Guests will also find convenient access to key area attractions and restaurants. The hotel is in close proximity to local events such as Fandango Days, the Modoc District Fair, the Hot Air Balloon Festival and the Migratory Bird Festival. A seasonal outdoor heated pool is on the property, business center and continental breakfast. Dogs are welcome to the hotel for a small fee. For superior customer service make a reservation at the Trailside Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Trailside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Trailside Hotel Alturas
Best Western Alturas
Alturas Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing