We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly Good Lunch Stop”
Review of Bear Creek Cafe - CLOSED

Bear Creek Cafe
Restaurant details
Reno, Nevada
1 review
“Surprisingly Good Lunch Stop”
Reviewed July 29, 2014

Places to stop for lunch on road trips can be hit or miss. Bear Creek Café is a definite hit. The atmosphere is very friendly and the staff is quick to satisfy their customers. Our beverages were served as soon as we sat down and our order was taken soon after. I had their Chicken, Bacon Swiss sandwich. My husband had a patty melt. Both included fries and all was delicious. While we were waiting for our orders to come up, I noticed that they were using freshly peeled potatoes to make the fries and we really could taste the difference. We travel thru Alturas at least a couple times of year and will look forward to stopping here each time we come through.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    4
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful lunch!”
Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

Very glad we decided to stop here. Great service and food was very good. We will definitely stop here again on our travels.

Helpful?
Thank Cindy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good American Classic Food”
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Stopped on way through Alturas California on way to contest in Reno. Salads were great and well portioned. Burgers great. Had a good fish and chips made from Tilapia which was outstanding. We will be back on the way through next year.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sing4you57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“excellent coffee & scones”
Reviewed March 18, 2014

The service is friendly, fast. And the food is fresh. The coffee was the best we had had on our trip so far.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dewatobay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great little cafe with very friendly and efficient staff.”
Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

Our first time at this little cafe was a very pleasant surprise. They make homemade salad dressings. The bleu cheese is especially good. We were greeted upon arrival with a cheerful smile and chatty, delightful young man. This business is family run with a great deal of enthusiasm and pride. My husband had a cheeseburger and fries and I had a grilled chicken salad, both were very tasty. suecityglobal

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank suecityglobal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bear Creek Cafe also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing