We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only place in town”
Review of Bear Creek Cafe - CLOSED

Bear Creek Cafe
Restaurant details
Bay Area, California
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“The only place in town”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We walked up and down the streets of Alturas, and, baby there isn't much good eatin' in Alturas. This is an independently-owned coffee shop and it serves pretty good food. The ambiance is not super as it is pretty spartan. The main problem was the service. We waited over a half an hour for our food and it came in spurts and dribbles....The owner apologized but we thought he should have cut short all his chatting with the customers in order to get the food out on time.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank bikegem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    4
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Orem, Utah
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Good food and friendly place”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Ate breakfast one morning. Service was quick and the food was very good. The pancakes are huge so be sure to order only 1 unless you're starving.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank solartj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carson City, NV
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Guess we came in on a bad day...”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We were at the Bear Creek Cafe on Sunday September 2nd. The town was packed with folks on their way home from Burning Man, in fact they had a sign in front of the restaurant saying "burners welcome". We were greeted at the door by the girl we named "Dorothy" because of her head band, braids and blue apron. We took the last available table and were told there would be a 45 minute wait. So we stayed...not too bad we figured. They were out of Pancakes, and homefries so we ordered something else, eggs, bacon, french toast and hashbrowns. I believe all the waitresses were new or so the rumor around the restaurant was as no ones food was coming out and customers began talking amongest themselves. The first order that came out about 20 minutes into our wait, was wrong and was a combination of two different tables...some people got to eat as others sat and waited for the rest of their order. I was told this by the lady at the table next to us. She did say her food was good. A couple came in and was told there would be an hour wait, they left. Some customers started complaining and "Dorothy", bless her heart , was trying to get everything straightened out for them. Anytime Dorothy would go to the window to talk to the cooks they would yell at her, we could all see this from the restaurant, this happened many times while we waited. The cooks who obviously weren't cooking, because you could not even smell food, argued between each other and were terribly rude to their fellow employees. By this time then next couple came in and wanted a table and they were told it would be an hour and a half before they could eat, they also left. After this couple came in we decided to leave, it had been an hour already, there were still 9 tickets in the window and we were the last ones seated. The waitress told us our order was up next but I don't see how since noone else was eating. We paid our $3.00 for our coffee and left. We ended up eating at Subway and their egg and sausage muffin was pretty good.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bridgette1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alturas, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“regular burger place”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

it was okay, nothing special, nothing unspecial. Not a place I would say "Family, lets meet at Bear Creek". it was just average in my opinion.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Betsy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cayucos, California
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Breakfast at Bear Creek cafe on Rt 395 in Alturas, California”
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Alturas, CA. is just South of the Oregon State line on Route 395. Just about my favorite town on my favorite road. Around 11AM I discovered the Bear Creek Cafe and stopped for breakfast .
The home fries were scrumptious and not out of any frozed food package. I stopped bythere on the return trip and took these pictures. Great place in Alturas. I would stop there for eats anytime.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank flapz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing