We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice job”
Review of Ayres Lodge Alpine

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ayres Lodge Alpine
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Alpine
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed July 22, 2014

loved this hotel..... nice furniture, friendly staff, beautiful grounds. buffet breakfast is a little limited but had french toast, sausage sandwiches, biscuits and gravy, breakfast burritos, plus the usual cereal, danish, juice, and coffee. we ate by the beautiful fireplace and the house cat.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (829)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

510 - 516 of 829 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2014

Hotel was reasonably priced and the Greek restaraunt near hotel was yummy. Staff was friendly and helpful. Room was clean and comfortable. I would definitely stay here again if I needed a quick stopover on my travels

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cougarsfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2014

The only hotel in town Besides the overpriced Viejas Casino. The walls are paper thin, Breakfast was weak and managed by Arude muscle head who does'nt answer questions with words only pointing. No elevator to second floor and loud maids carts that wake you up once someone checks out. oh and you cant check in til the stroke of 3 pm. Some TV channels have no sound. The Place is overpriced and no value. I would rather have stayed at HIE for the same amount.

Room Tip: choose ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyresHotels, General Manager at Ayres Lodge Alpine, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2014

Dear Joe M,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. We truly appreciate your feedback! In regards to your recent stay, we're very sorry to hear that your experience at our hotel was anything less that remarkable. I apologize about the unprofessional encounter you experienced with our staff and have addressed this issue to ensure that it does not occur in the future. We appreciate your understanding. In the future, if an of these isolated issues may arise, please feel free to inform our management team so that we may improve our service. Once again, thank you for your review and we hope you'll return soon so we can improve upon your experience.

Sincerely,

Heather Scott
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2014

We just stayed at the ayres and had a wonderful experience, hotel room was a bit small but very clean and nice looking, housekeeping was great,nearby playground, pharmacy, even a good will and a veteran memorial. One complaint a group of baseball kids took over the entire place and it was quiet loud past 11 pm. So sleep was a pain, breakfast was great, will stay again

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sahraje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2014

Beds and rooms are comfortable and clean. Staffs are extremely nice and breakfast in the morning is decent. Swimming pool is clean while the spar is out of date. Was expecting a little bit more upscale hotel but overall it is a great staying experience.

Room Tip: Rooms near the corners of the building might be easier to access
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jiao2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2014

The rooms at Ayres Lodge Alpine are very neat and clean with great furniture and TV. Free breakfast in the morning is also great. Customer service is good too. Also there is the cat at the lodge that has been there for years and is real nice.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Leif J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014

This would be an easy 2 or even 3 star review,but thanks to hotel reception Tiffany lady it is one star, she is at the reception and constantly on her smart phone if you ever happen to bother or ask a question she will be nervous and angry at you,god save you from her punishment, very rude person and she will hide under company policies, there are ants around and I have seen people working on it,average rooms with bad customer service

Room Tip: If you don't like noise,don't get room next to hwy they will try to sell it by saying nice m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chris a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyresHotels, General Manager at Ayres Lodge Alpine, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2014

Dear chris a,

I would like to offer my most sincere apology that your experience at you our hotel was anything less than remarkable. We're truly sorry for the unprofessional encounter you experienced with our staff and have addressed this issue to ensure that it does not occur in the future. Our customer service is very important to us and we appreciate you bringing this issue to our attention. Once again we truly apologize that we weren't able to exceed your expectations and only hope that we have the opportunity to show you the service we are known for. Thank you again for your review.

Sincerely,

Heather Scott
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alpine
7.3 mi away
Sycuan Golf Resort
Sycuan Golf Resort
#2 of 15 in El Cajon
159 reviews
9.5 mi away
Best Western Courtesy Inn
Best Western Courtesy Inn
#3 of 15 in El Cajon
168 reviews
11.0 mi away
Best Western Santee Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Days Inn San Diego-East/El Cajon
17.2 mi away
Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU
16.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites San Diego-Poway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ayres Lodge Alpine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ayres Lodge Alpine

Address: 1251 Tavern Rd, Alpine, CA 91901-3819
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Alpine
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Alpine
Price Range: $115 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ayres Lodge Alpine 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Alpine, California, just east of San Diego, lies a unique, rustic getaway destination that combines the comforts and conveniences of home with the warm hospitality you’ve come to expect from the Ayres name. All of the luxurious guest rooms at Ayres Lodge Alpine are impeccably appointed with a full suite of complimentary amenities including our signature double pillow top beds, flat screen TV’s, coffeemakers,well lit work desks and Wifi, iHomes, hairdryers, curved shower rods,and hookless shower curtains. And every morning you will start your day right with our complimentary extended continental breakfast. The outdoor lover’s paradise awaits at Ayres Lodge Alpine. Only minutes from the Cleveland National Forest the Ayres Lodge Alpine is where you can enjoy close by outdoor adventures such as boating, fishing, hiking, or horseback riding. For quaint hometown culture, explore nearby Julian, CA for wine tasting, antique shopping, and apple picking. If the outdoors do not appeal to you, spend your time indoors at the famous Viejas Casino and Outlet Mall. Not too far from San Diego, the Ayres Lodge Alpine offers an alternative lodging solution for those visiting the busy tourist attractions of the city. San Diego attractions include Seaworld, the San Diego Zoo, Legoland, the Gaslamp entertainment district, Mission Bay, Historic Old Town San Diego, and the San Diego Wild Animal Park. For a location that is convenient to outdoor and indoor entertainment, be sure to stay at the Ayres Lodge in the beautiful mountain community of Alpine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Ayres Lodge Alpine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ayres Lodge Alpine Hotel Alpine
Ayres Hotel Alpine
Ayres Inn Alpine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing