We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay; clean and quiet!”
Review of Ayres Lodge Alpine

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ayres Lodge Alpine
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Alpine
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great stay; clean and quiet!”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

The staff was very welcoming at check in. The room was clean, smelled fresh and was well appointed. We didn't have a mini-fridge in our room, but were travelling with a cooler, so it all worked out. The housekeeping staff was absolutely fantastic and friendly. The front office staff, especially Jennifer, was super sweet and helpful. Our request for extra sheets and blankets was instantly fulfilled with a smile! There are quite a few really great places to eat (a great breakfast spot, Greek restaurant, and even a donut shop) in the surrounding area. Everything was walking distance, which was very nice. We would definitely stay again at the Ayres Lodge in Alpine, without a doubt!

Room Tip: Rooms on the back-side of the property are super quiet and close to the pond and grassy area to rela...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyresHotels, General Manager at Ayres Lodge Alpine, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear Eve -

It was a pleasure welcoming you recently. Thank you so much for your kind review and for allowing us the opportunity to host your stay. I am thrilled to hear you found everything from the service to the location perfect for your traveling needs. I will be sure to pass along your comments to Jennifer so she knows how much she is appreciated. We are grateful for your recommendation and hope to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,

Heather Scott
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

793 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    430
    248
    64
    26
    25
See reviews for
302
239
41
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oro Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
69 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

For the reasonable price we paid, I couldn't have asked for anything more. Well, maybe one brighter light for reading. Our King size bed room was clean, had a seating area and a mini-fridge. The bath was small but clean. The shower functioned just fine. The staff that I met; the house cleaner, the desk staff (Jennifer I believe) were friendly and helpful. We didn't use the pool as we were out seeing relatives but it looked fine and a quiet place to relax. I'll stay there again, no question.

Room Tip: Book early is the only suggestion I would have.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wade B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

STAYED FROM JULY 12-16TH 2013
CLEAN ROOM
QUITE

"the lodge" if you call it clean motel sounds better we arrived a bit late the customer service at the desk Brian was very friendly and attentive . we got our room as described and clean .
then the disaster followed


1/ the hotel describes a high speed internet completely false......single bar..
there is an Ethernet connection don't work when i called the customer service
there as a very rude lady she told me to call 1/800 number are you kiddn me....
i don't want to waste my time solving hotels problem on my vacation

2/ breakfast -------completely Ridiculous---less than a 50sqf room few muffins and yogurt
and cereal ---juice that is all and if you are there by 9Am that is even gone
don't bother..i have seen many families disappointed ....

3/ Distance from sandiego .---- ALMOST 45 MINUTES FROM DOWNTOWN SANDIEGO
----very far and out from the city

when we checked out i spoke to the manager HEATHER SCOTT...The most unfriendly and unprofessional manger i have ever seen throughout my travel experiences ..i politely asked her if Expedia has been charged my credit card ..you can tell she is so rude when she responded ...also heard the manager talking to her employee about my wifi complaints
trying to make fun of it......

my complaints about the wifi is legitimate and told her she can go to the room and try it to prove herself .....

To sum it up

if distance matters -----DONT BOTHER GOING
if communication matters to you like wifi internet--DONT BOTHER GOING
if you travel with family or breakfast matters ---DONT BOTHER GOING

\\Thank you

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank samuelhaikel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyresHotels, General Manager at Ayres Lodge Alpine, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear samuelhaikel -

Thank you for your review of our hotel. I was distressed to hear that you found your stay so unsatisfactory and I deeply apologize for this. We understand that dependable WIFI is an important amenity in this day and age and do our very best to assist as much as possible should there be an issue. I am sorry that we were unable to help out and that our third party vendor did not provide warmer service. As to the questions regarding Expedia, I do apologize if I appeared rude as it was only my intention to explain the way that this online travel agency charges for hotel stays. If this came across in any other way, I am sorry. I hope you will give us a second opportunity to show you that a stay with us can be exceptional.

Regards,

Heather Scott
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marysville, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Even though I see many great reviews our experience was horrible. We arrived early evening and the man at the desk was rude. I asked about getting 2 queen beds instead of the king and pull out he said our room had. I politely told him that when I had booked through a third party it said 2 queens and his exact words were "well I guess you should have book through us then shouldn't you have" - his demeanor was extremely rude. We go to our room and it is TINY - not even enough room for our luggage and us. I pull out the bed couch and there is no linen on it whatsoever - so I call down to the front desk and get the same man and tell him and he says "oh, its down here - you need to come get it and make it up yourself" !? This is supposedly a 3 star hotel and I am paying to stay here and I have to completely make my own bed? I have NEVER in all my travels even been told something like this. When I go to get the linens he takes about 15 minutes to even get them and pretty much throws them across the counter at me. And all he has is a flat sheet and a heavy comforter (it's 95 degrees out) I ask him about a fitted sheet and he says there is none. I ask for an extra towel because there is 4 of us and they only had 3 in the room and it took him 10 minutes to get me another towel. He was just simply rude.
The pool was murky and dirty - there were no pool towels and the area was a mess.
The breakfast was in a room smaller than most closets and the food was HORRIBLE --
A note - all entries to rooms are outside and if you are on the second floor there are only stairs and no elevators so you have to lug your luggage up the stairs.
The ONLY POSITIVE thing about breakfast was the lady serving it who was valiantly trying to make there be enough food and cater to everyone. She was wonderful.
The morning front desk clerks (female) were very nice and helpful.
I have no idea how this hotel is rated a 3 star because it is old, rundown and feels like nothing more than a motel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dawn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyresHotels, General Manager at Ayres Lodge Alpine, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Dawn -

Thank you very much for your candid review of our hotel. I am so very sorry that your experience was unsatisfactory. The service issues you describe are absolutely unacceptable as we strive to provide the best in comfort and personalized service to all of our guests. Please know that this matter has been addressed with the appropriate individual. I sincerely apologize and hope you will reconsider staying with us in the future.

Regards,

Heather Scott
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

I continue to return to Ayres Lodge in Alpine. It is like a little piece of heaven. Quiet, friendly, inexpensive, perfect location, great rooms, clean, comfortable, great breakfast, love the back garden area, pool is so relaxing.... I can't say enough good things about it. You will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean_U_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence, Kansas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

The staff was very friendly. When we walked in, the first thing I smelled was fresh, baked chocolate chip cookies that were excellent! And there were guys sitting at a table playing cards and I thought what a quaint, relaxing place to be! We had a 2-Queen bed room that was small, but very clean. Beds were very comfortable. It wasn't a 5-star hotel, but we would stay there again if the opportunity arises.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbies701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 12, 2013

The bad: the standard rooms do not come with a mini fridge or microwave. Also we came with a dog and the dog area is right next to where people have breakfast outside. If there is no one there its okay but rude if your dog has to potty with 3 tables full.
The good: fresh, hot chocolate chip cookies at 7pm every night!! It is close to the highway but you don't hear a thing. Staff is friendly and I think I met them all. Pool is cleaned every morning which is nice. The breakfast area is beautiful. The town is adorable. Also it is behind a little shopping plaza that has every kind of food you could want in walking distance. We would like to visit this hotel and area again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alyson R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alpine
Sycuan Golf Resort
#2 of 15 in El Cajon
155 reviews
Best Western Courtesy Inn
#4 of 15 in El Cajon
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
#115 of 279 in San Diego
2,435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ayres Lodge Alpine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ayres Lodge Alpine

Property: Ayres Lodge Alpine
Address: 1251 Tavern Rd, Alpine, CA 91901-3819
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Alpine
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Alpine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ayres Lodge Alpine 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Alpine, California, just east of San Diego, lies a unique, rustic getaway destination that combines the comforts and conveniences of home with the warm hospitality you’ve come to expect from the Ayres name. All of the luxurious guest rooms at Ayres Lodge Alpine are impeccably appointed with a full suite of complimentary amenities including our signature double pillow top beds, flat screen TV’s, coffeemakers,well lit work desks and Wifi, iHomes, hairdryers, curved shower rods,and hookless shower curtains. And every morning you will start your day right with our complimentary extended continental breakfast. The outdoor lover’s paradise awaits at Ayres Lodge Alpine. Only minutes from the Cleveland National Forest the Ayres Lodge Alpine is where you can enjoy close by outdoor adventures such as boating, fishing, hiking, or horseback riding. For quaint hometown culture, explore nearby Julian, CA for wine tasting, antique shopping, and apple picking. If the outdoors do not appeal to you, spend your time indoors at the famous Viejas Casino and Outlet Mall. Not too far from San Diego, the Ayres Lodge Alpine offers an alternative lodging solution for those visiting the busy tourist attractions of the city. San Diego attractions include Seaworld, the San Diego Zoo, Legoland, the Gaslamp entertainment district, Mission Bay, Historic Old Town San Diego, and the San Diego Wild Animal Park. For a location that is convenient to outdoor and indoor entertainment, be sure to stay at the Ayres Lodge in the beautiful mountain community of Alpine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ayres Lodge Alpine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ayres Lodge Alpine Hotel Alpine
Ayres Hotel Alpine
Ayres Inn Alpine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing