We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A truly clean and excellent choice”
Review of Ayres Lodge Alpine

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ayres Lodge Alpine
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Alpine
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We live in San Diego. Wanted to hit Viejas Casino and Outlets for a little fun and shopping without driving the whopping 33 miles home afterward. The hotel room was outstanding. Very roomy, nice couch, brand new flat screen, microwave/fridge, etc. The "extra dollar" was definitely spent to turn what could have been the basic blah hotel room into something of higher quality. Our problem with the "blah" rooms is that they feel dirty. This room was CLEAN, NEW and allowed us to sleep in the very nice linens (and down comforter) quite comfortably without wondering what kind of wonky stuff we might be sleeping in.

Worth noting ....A/C was freezing cold (awesome), bath/tub spotless, terrific front desk crew.

We will definitely go back and use the hotel as our hub for local exploring into the surrounding mtns and deserts.

And the value .....best deal we've ever found on a room that nice....check internet for specials!

Room Tip: Ask for any room on 2nd floor facing the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chuber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyresHotels, General Manager at Ayres Lodge Alpine, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2012

Dear Chuber -

You are too kind! Thank you for choosing our hotel for your little "staycation" to Viejas Casino & Outlets. I am so pleased you found the rooms and cleanliness exceptional. I do hope you were able to take full advantage of our complimentary shuttle to/from Viejas as well. We are very grateful for your review and hope to welcome you back very soon.

Warm regards,

Tyler Smittle
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (855)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

734 - 740 of 855 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2012

Nice hotel in a tree-filled area in Alpine. There were lots of area food choices and shops. Staff was wonderful and the hotel included breakfast with lots to chose from. As another reviewer mentioned, the bed was extremely comfortable. We did not go, but noticed a shuttle picking up guests for an area casino. Had we had more time, I think that would have been a fun outing.

Room Tip: This hotel has pet friendly rooms. We requested a room that is not designated for pets to avoid my...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AZTeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Good value and our kids really liked the hotel and grounds. The breakfast area was too small and the food terrible but since we don't really care about that stuff, did not matter to us.
A little drive into the beach areas of San Diego but when you save money in August it is worth it.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tessa6515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyresHotels, General Manager at Ayres Lodge Alpine, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2012

Dear Tessa6515 -

It was a pleasure having you at our hotel. We know you have quite a few options in the Downtown area, so it means a great deal that you chose our hotel for your visit. I am so pleased you found such great value in our accommodations and that your family enjoyed the stay as well. We are very grateful for your review and look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Tyler Smittle
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Beautiful location, clean and fresh, nicely furnished. My only complaint were the prices they would have charged me if I brought my 2 well behaved dogs. To me, they are my family members, instead, I had to board them at a kennel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beagles1024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyresHotels, General Manager at Ayres Lodge Alpine, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2012

Dear Beagles1024 -

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. While I am pleased you found the location convenient and the accommodations comfortable, I do apologize if our pet policy did not prove conducive to bringing your pets. While there is a one time, $45 non-refundable pet fee for guests bringing pets, we always appreciate feedback regarding this cost for review at our corporate level. We are very appreciative of your comments and be sure to pass them along to the appropriate department. Thank you again for your review. We hope you will visit us again in the future AND bring your to furry family members.

Sincerely,

Tyler Smittle
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Absolutely perfect in every aspect of our trip. The entire staff was incredibley nice and helpful. The beds were super comfy too! The entire property was clean and quiet and very well maintained. If you're planning a trip to the San Diego area, stay here and enjoy.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We had a family event in Alpine. It was very close to the events that we attended as well as family. The staff was professional and very friendly. The atmosphere was much better than I imagined. Coming from a person who usually stays at well-known hotel chains, I expect a quality hotel experience. I think this was a great surprise. The continental breakfast was better than I expected and the rooms seemed clean. I would stay there again if in the area.

Room Tip: Stay on the courtyard side. It is quiet and relaxing to look outside when you have the windows open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We planned a short trip to Julian, but didn't want to stay at a B & B, so we opted to stay overnight at Ayres Lodge Alpine (approx 35 miles away). With a AAA card, we were able to get a room with a King plus pull-out sofa for $113. The surrounding area is scenic and remote - great if you want to "get away", but not so great if still want to be close to San Diego activities. Luckily, we were in the "get away" mode. All of the staff were quite friendly and the hotel provided several little touches that bumped them up from the norm. When checking in, we were informed of the 24-hour free shuttle to the nearby outlet mall and casino. We were also told about the complimentary continental breakfast and that they were just making chocolate chip cookies that would be available shortly (mmmm...warm, just baked cookies). The room was clean and large, no complaints here. I especially liked the oatmeal soap and I wish I remembered what brand of conditioning shampoo they provided because I got compliments on how shiny my hair was the next day. The free wi-fi worked great - computer also available in sitting area near front desk if you didn't bring your own! The grounds in the back part of the hotel were lovely; grassy area with lounge chairs, BBQ, tables & chairs, and rock waterfall. If we'd had more time, it would have been a pleasant place to sit and read a book. The pool and jacuzzi area was very clean and looked well maintained. The breakfast was alright. Nothing to write home about, but they offered a wide variety of items including cereals, danish, bagels, hard boiled eggs, oatmeal packets, fruit cups, yogurt, breakfast burritos (microwaveable?), juices, milk, etc. Overall, a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jlaughs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyresHotels, General Manager at Ayres Lodge Alpine, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2012

Dear Jlaughs -

Thank you for allowing us to surprise you with how comfortable and convenient a stay at our hotel can be. We were honored to be your "getaway mode" hotel during your recent trip to Julian and are thrilled you found the service friendly and the accommodations comfortable. We are also excited to hear your positive feedback regarding our conditioning shampoo. It is a special Ayres Hotels blend so you will have to come back and visit to experience that shiny, healthy hair once more! We are very grateful for your recommendation and hope to welcome you again very soon.

Sincerely,

Tyler Smittle
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alpine
9.5 mi away
Best Western Courtesy Inn
Best Western Courtesy Inn
#3 of 15 in El Cajon
180 reviews
19.4 mi away
Julian Lodge
Julian Lodge
#1 of 4 in Julian
138 reviews
16.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites San Diego-Poway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Sycuan Golf Resort
Sycuan Golf Resort
#2 of 15 in El Cajon
160 reviews
11 mi away
Best Western Santee Lodge
4.2 mi away
Viejas Casino & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ayres Lodge Alpine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ayres Lodge Alpine

Address: 1251 Tavern Rd, Alpine, CA 91901-3819
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Alpine
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Alpine
Price Range: $108 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ayres Lodge Alpine 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Alpine, California, just east of San Diego, lies a unique, rustic getaway destination that combines the comforts and conveniences of home with the warm hospitality you’ve come to expect from the Ayres name. All of the luxurious guest rooms at Ayres Lodge Alpine are impeccably appointed with a full suite of complimentary amenities including our signature double pillow top beds, flat screen TV’s, coffeemakers,well lit work desks and Wifi, iHomes, hairdryers, curved shower rods,and hookless shower curtains. And every morning you will start your day right with our complimentary extended continental breakfast. The outdoor lover’s paradise awaits at Ayres Lodge Alpine. Only minutes from the Cleveland National Forest the Ayres Lodge Alpine is where you can enjoy close by outdoor adventures such as boating, fishing, hiking, or horseback riding. For quaint hometown culture, explore nearby Julian, CA for wine tasting, antique shopping, and apple picking. If the outdoors do not appeal to you, spend your time indoors at the famous Viejas Casino and Outlet Mall. Not too far from San Diego, the Ayres Lodge Alpine offers an alternative lodging solution for those visiting the busy tourist attractions of the city. San Diego attractions include Seaworld, the San Diego Zoo, Legoland, the Gaslamp entertainment district, Mission Bay, Historic Old Town San Diego, and the San Diego Wild Animal Park. For a location that is convenient to outdoor and indoor entertainment, be sure to stay at the Ayres Lodge in the beautiful mountain community of Alpine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ayres Lodge Alpine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ayres Lodge Alpine Hotel Alpine
Ayres Hotel Alpine
Ayres Inn Alpine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing