We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“They try” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Janet's Montana Cafe

Janet's Montana Cafe
Ranked #1 of 49 Restaurants in Alpine
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
San Diego, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“They try”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

Their attempt at country cooking is laughable; food is bland, staff is horrible, prices are too high.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeremy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    43
    10
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fresno,Ca
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Atmosphere & delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

I love how this cafe has the warm western feel. It is a great place to hang out and visit. The menu is quite extensive and everybody loved their food. The grounds have little boutique stores all housed in rustic "lil" shacks. The staff is both friendly and professional.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank 51Rebecca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring, TX
Level Contributor
56 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great home cooking, delicious desserts.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

Very nice cafe and restaurant in Alpine. We've never had anything that wasn't delicious. This has a nice log cabin atmosphere. The prices are reasonable also.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bigfork, Montana
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and incredible service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

We were in Alpine for the weekend and were looking for a place to have breakfast. Luckily, we discovered Janet's. It was Saturday morning - prime breakfast time. We were seated right away and hadn't been seated 10 seconds before we were offered coffee. Right away came our menus and water. They have a large breakfast menu and judging by the size of the portions we saw, there was going to be a lot of food. We decided to share an omelette ($2. charge for splitting) but we each got our own side of fruit. The biscuit was HUGE - about 4" tall and delicious! The food is very good, portions large and great service. We observed no fewer than 5 servers in our area and the tables were turning over constantly. We'd go back again!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NJKuhn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

Great food in large quantities. Really good specials in addition to what's on the menu. Great place to stop on the way to San DIego. Good home made pies.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Wayne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Janet's Montana Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing