We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Buffet” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Buffet at Viejas

Buffet at Viejas
Ranked #2 of 49 Restaurants in Alpine
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $28 - $39
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Transit: Take the “We Love Winners” bus to Viejas Casino with convenient pick-up and drop-off locations throughout San Diego. For the latest schedule, go to Viejas.com or call 619-445-5400.
Description: San Diego's Premier Casino Buffet Imagine a place where the dishes you know and love come together with new and exciting flavors-a place where your only limitation is your imagination. From slow-cooked roasts to tacos with all the trimmings, succulent snow crab to the best desserts anywhere, The Buffet at Viejas offers an amazing variety at a value that can't be beat! And while these images of the NEW Buffet at Viejas may cause extreme hunger, fear not!! With our latest renovation and expansion, we now have one of the biggest casino buffets in San Diego County-so there's a table ready for you RIGHT NOW!
New York City
Level Contributor
242 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Great Buffet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

Great seafood and meats. Lots of variety. Wait staff very attentive. Desserts galore - on;y better dessert buffet was in Vegas. We signed up for a players card and got the buffet for free.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank WeLoveTraveling23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    17
    15
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Horrible service!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

The wait to get in was rediculous and then the wait to be seated added insult to injury. No wait staff to speak of. Didn't get drinks until the end of meal after asking 3 times. Food was mediocre and cold by the time we walked from the buffet to our seats all the way on the other side of the restaurant.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank steviemagid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeside, California, USA
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“The new Buffet is much better than the old one.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

Just ate there today and was surprised with the quality of food. It's definitely not a fine Las Vegas Buffet but it's really good. There were of course items that weren't very good to my taste, but there were lots that I liked. In addition to American, Italian, Asian, Mexican, and sea food, they had an extensive dessert display with just about every pie you could ask for.
Negatives, we were the only ones standing in line to pay and it took three cashiers about 5-10 mins to process payment for their customers so obviously their cash register system is flawed, I can't imagine going on a busy night. And if your not a typical casino goer, be prepared for the cranky old people who complain about where they sit, how many points it costs, how far away away the food is, etc.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lakeside83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulevard, California
Level Contributor
81 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Not bad”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

Fun to eat at. Free for signing up for a club card. Nice variety. Lots of deserts. Good choice for the money.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mustangangi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“I've Had Better....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

I'm not going to compare it to a vegas buffet, because that wouldn't even be fair. I'm going to judge based on its own merit.
Ambience: A+
Newlu remodeled, modern furniture and decor

Payment process: very slow. Two cashiers handling a long line of guests? No sense of urgency causing the line to move at a snails pace.

Food: as others have stated, the selection is pretty good, the food was very average. Most is cold by the time you get to you seat. Salad bar was good. Fried chickem was cold, over cooked and dry. Fried shrimp decent, but cold. Ribs could have been good, good sauce, but cold and dry. Mashed potatoes so hard and thick they wouldnt fall off the serving spoon. The prime rib was very good. The salmon was delicious and hot. Too bad i had saved these two for my second plate. If i had started there and added veggies i would have been set.
All you can drink champagne was a good thing.

Service was good: Bruno was our server. He was attentive. Personality and had a nice smile.

Bottom line: luckily since I went with a tour group, I got a coupon for 50% off. So for 10.00, I would go back and get the prime rib, salmon and a salad. I would then drink as many mimosas as I could handle. Then I could say it was worth it. At the regular price of 20.99, I would have been upset.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank klewis0906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Buffet at Viejas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing