We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casino Crawl”

Viejas Casino & Resort
Ranked #2 of 13 things to do in Alpine
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Located only 25 miles east of San Diego on an Indian Reservation, Vejas Casino & Resort is a Forbes Travel Guide 4-Star hotel and recipient of the AAA Four Diamond award since 2013. At Viejas Casino & Resort, guests enjoy the gold standard in Vegas-style gaming with thousands of slot machines, exciting table games that include Blackjack, Baccarat, Pai Gow, a modern and elegant bingo room, and an off-track betting facility. The epitome of a world-class destination, Viejas Hotel provides elevated guest service and features 203 luxury rooms and 34 VIP suites, including a lush, spacious pool and lounge area, and nine indoor-outdoor meeting spaces, including the magnificent Oak Ballroom, ideal for hosting weddings and special group events. Guests will love our modern amenities, streamlined design and handcrafted, boutique feel. Viejas Casino & Resort also features a variety of restaurants including the AAA Four Diamond Grove Steakhouse, The Buffet, and The Café. The beautiful Viejas Outlets, located across the street from the casino, offers visitors a unique shopping experience with highly acclaimed stores, numerous eateries, Viejas Bowl, and Southern California’s largest outdoor ice rink.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access, Stairs / elevator
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
384 reviews
154 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Casino Crawl”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

Viejas casino is located right off interstate 5 so it is easy drive from San Diego. There is plenty of parking and the parking staff are friendly. The layout inside is a little difficult to follow as parts of the building have been added to over the years so it does not flow well. It also gets very smokey. They do have a non-smoking area over by the buffet but it can still get smokey over there. It has a gift shop, 24 hour cafe, buffet, high end steak house, and a chinese resturant on location. The 24 hours cafe was ok. Service is good and the food is ok. It is a little oasis for people to get some food when tired at the slot machines.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert B, Manager at Viejas Casino & Resort, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about Viejas. We really appreciate it!

Just one slight correction: We are indeed an easy drive from San Diego, but we're located just off Interstate 8, not Interstate 5--though we're not too far from Interstate 5, either!

You know, thanks to the new Viejas Hotel, guests can now enter the casino in a completely smoke-free environment. And there is now FREE valet parking at both the East and West Entrances, so guests can enjoy maximum accessibility and convenience.

Again, thank you for your review, and we hope to see you soon,
Your Viejas Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    43
    36
    17
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
101 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Las Vegas Style Casino”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

Nice place lots of slots and gamming tables. The slots are tight and hard to win here. Gamming dollar value is fair. Don't expect to win and you will have a good time here.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Darthraider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert B, Manager at Viejas Casino & Resort, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Many thanks for the helpful review. We just wanted to send along this piece of breaking news:

We've just installed several HOT new slots games!

Quad Shot Progressives
Panda King
Thunder Cash
Mustang Money
Deal or no Deal Join ’N Play

And please stay tuned for a MAJOR slots story on 8/5. Trust us when we say you DON'T want to miss it...

Very best,
Your Viejas Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twentynine Palms, California
Level Contributor
91 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Crowded, slow buffet line”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

As a regular visitor to Laughlin and Las Vegas I have seen a few casinos and buffets in my time. The Viejas is a very nicely appointed casino with lots of machines in an interesting layout. We didn't have much luck but enjoyed playing none the less. I didn't know about using the machine call buttons for drink service until after I had found a bar and paid $6 for a Bud (glad it was happy hour!). Since they offered a free buffet for joining the player's club we visited the buffet. Absolutely the longest, slowest line I have ever experienced for a buffet (over an hour). When we finally got to the cashier, we were sent to go stand in yet another line. When we got into the eating area we were amazed to see approximately half of the available tables were empty. The food was good and there was a decent selection of items. The service was the worst I have seen in a buffet. We were not informed that complimentary beer, wine and champagne were part of the deal. Our server was less than friendly and did not seem to understand english very well. It seemed a bother to our server when we asked for utensils and napkins after having filled our first plates. I would visit again if in the area, but I wouldn't make the trip just to come back.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rodney B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert B, Manager at Viejas Casino & Resort, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Rodney,

We're sorry for your negative experience. The Buffet at Viejas is generally regarded as the paragon of exceptional service. We truly hope you'll come back and give us an opportunity to show you what we're really made of! If you happen to be here on the weekend, even better! Our new Weekend Menu is incredible!

Thank you for sharing your thoughts, and don't hesitate to let us know if there's anything we can do to make your next visit meet your expectations.

Best,
Your Viejas Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana Point, California
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Little bit of fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

It was a nice break and good food. Very friendly workers made us feel at home. Bingo staff top notch!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank cacntrygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert B, Manager at Viejas Casino & Resort, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you so much for the great review. We couldn't agree more about the Viejas Bingo staff. We hope you'll join us for our 22nd Anniversary Celebration in September, and that in the meantime you'll come out for August's CASH BLAST! $10,000 Cash Drawing––Evening Session, Thursday August 29.

Evening guests with an electronic buy-in will be eligible to purchase a Cash Blast Bonus Pack (containing 75 additional level 1 cards with star for all regular games and a Cash Blast Drawing ticket) for just $20!

Thursday, August 29, during the Evening Session, winners will be drawn:

One $2,500 Winner!
Two $1,250 Winners!!
Three $1,000 Winners!!!
Four $500 Winners!!!!

We hope to see you there. Thanks again,
Your Viejas Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mexicali bc
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

the buffette has a lot of food including sea food and turkey and ham as well mexican cousine included and chinese...really nice place to eat and excellent attention... there is also a bar oitside the restaurant

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank encuestador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert B, Manager at Viejas Casino & Resort, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you so much for the wonderful review! If you can believe it, The Buffet at Viejas has gotten even better since your last visit:

Introducing the NEW Weekend Menu!

In addition to all of your current favorites, the Weekend Menu includes:

Crepe Station
Marinated Grilled Lamb Shoulder Chops
Grilled Sirloin Steaks
Pork Chops
Crab Stuffed Avocado
Smoked Salmon Pizza
Ahi Poki Shooters

and much, much more!

We hope to see you soon. Thanks again,
Your Viejas Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Viejas Casino & Resort also viewed

 

Been to Viejas Casino & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing