We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice rooms, awesome health club”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Renaissance ClubSport Aliso Viejo Laguna Beach Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Aliso Viejo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 20, 2011

We have stayed here 4 times in 2 years, latest Sept. 2011. The health club is really an amazing facility and it's great to just go downstairs, work out on any piece of equipment you can imagine, then hit the coffee bar and sit outside with your java and outmeal. Rooms are very comfortable, and quiet. (Sometimes they have music by the pool, but it ends by 10PM.) Service has been very good, great from some individuals. Valet parking is $20, and service is fast.

Room Tip: "View rooms" don't seem to have any better view than others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank c7999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (331)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

273 - 279 of 331 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2011

Its the facilities that make this hotel exceptional. It has a full service huge gym even with basketball court, lap pool etc. Kids are looked after. Too many facilities to name... Staff are nice. The place has a buzz especially on Friday nights. Easy access to Laguna Beach but sits in the hills behind the beach. Good food and shops nearby. Rooms are modern, normal size. Hotel is set on a hill and views inland are available. Breakfast buffet is good. Very pleasant to stay here.

Room Tip: Try Hotwire and Priceline before you book elsewhere, a view over the inland area would be nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank regulartravelman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We were heading to the Doheny Days Festival in Dana Point. We weren't familiar with the OC area. The hotel was located about 20 min away from the site of the festival. The rate online was affordable especially with all the amenities offered by the property. From the time we drove onto the property, we decided we would have to come back and enjoy this area at a later time. When checking in, Moriah at the front desk got a 10 in customer service. She printed up directions to the festival, ordered us car service and went above and beyond to accommodate us. The property has convenient freeway access, located about a block away from a shopping plaza and it also offered onsite garage parking (valet is also available). There is a health club, spa and restaurant onsite. They also offer a snack / sandwich menu available for purchase after 12A when room service closes. The rooms were colorful and bright. The bathroom was spacious, all rooms had complimentary internet access, and the beds were very comfortable.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank RNDMTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

I recenlty stayed at the Renaissance Club Sport this past August for 7 days 6 nights. The hotel sits in a very nice area of Aliso Viejo, it's clean, it's convenient to the freeways and beaches, and it has a great health club, pool, and spa. My wife did a 80 minute deep tissue message and loved it. She put the services at the spa in the same category as The Phoenician in Scottsdale. Overall we were very pleased with the hotel fromt the check-in process to when we checked out.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WillAudrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Spacious rooms, self-park for $10/night, two pools. We did not take advantage of any of the spa offerings, but they are extensive. Very quiet environment inside the room.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elilip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2011

Outside for the California sun – inside for the strong, bright, pure colors used in the décor. The modern décor may well take getting used to by some, but it well fits the style of the hotel and its modern approach to a close association with a fitness club. The club is a great hotel amenity and, I am sure, the reason that many road warriors will stay – especially given the commercial location of the property. As everything is almost brand new there is little to comment on, except the staff. To a person, from the valet, to the doorman, to the front desk person, to the room maid – all were friendly, smiling and seemed to genuinely enjoy their work and clearly value you as the guest. Sleep quality was unusually high from a combination of a comfortable bed and the construction of the hotel in a fairly quiet neighborhood (at least outside of business hours.)

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 22club58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2011

The Aliso Viejo Renaissance Club Sport hotel is unlike any hotel I've stayed at before. This is my second stay here, and both were long weekends while accompanying my husband while he is out here for work. Basically the hotel is also a high end gym, and the hotel guests and the gym members share a number of the services the hotel offers. There are benefits to this, but the approach needs some fine tuning.
Rooms: Rooms are very nice and modern, though not exceptionally large, but adequate space. Beds are comfortable, with lots of pillows and the bathroom is nice. Aveda products in the bathroom. Some of the views are nice, others are of the parking garage.

Staff: Everyone that works at the hotel is very pleasant, and they are all very accommodating. Most of the staff wears silly 'gym' outfits to play up the workout atmosphere. Did I mention there are pictures of dumbbells in the bathrooms? The service at the bar and the pool is also very good.

Shared services: The nice thing about having the gym at the hotel is that the hotel is always bustling. Since it's busy, the services they offer are elevated. There's a mix of business travellers, hardcore gym rats, and stay at home moms. The gym is new and huge, really more than you would ever expect from a hotel. I heard people with memberships pay a fortune to belong. The pool is beautiful and there's a healthy 'bar' with protein shakes and the like. They also have food specials most nights of the week at the bar.

Some things I find irritating about the 'club sport': You have to park in a garage, and I find it somewhat inconvenient. You cant just run in and out, during the day and night, it is filled with people going to to gym. The beautiful pool was also a complete waste. It's overrun with un supervised kids. At one point, I counted 14 kids under 10 in the whirlpool. The lifeguard came over to enforce the rule of 7 or older only in the whirlpool. 7? How about 16? Unless you're swimming laps, which unfortunately I don't do, you're stuck boiling in the sun with little shade, since the pool was not an option.

Last thing I want to comment on is the area. It's in a planned corporate area, not a ton of culture, just a giant outdoor shopping center, filled with mostly chain restaurants and stores. Laguna beach is 15 minutes, if that, away, and worth the visit. Many of the other surrounding towns are nice, but AV doesn't have much going on.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LambdaD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aliso Viejo
0.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Aliso Viejo Laguna Beach
4.4 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#4 of 23 in Laguna Beach
522 reviews
4.2 mi away
Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#6 of 23 in Laguna Beach
834 reviews
4.4 mi away
Laguna Beach House
Laguna Beach House
#5 of 23 in Laguna Beach
398 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mission Viejo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance ClubSport Aliso Viejo Laguna Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance ClubSport Aliso Viejo Laguna Beach Hotel

Address: 50 Enterprise, Aliso Viejo, CA 92656-6026 (Formerly Renaissance ClubSport Aliso Viejo Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Aliso Viejo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Aliso Viejo
Price Range: $173 - $372 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance ClubSport Aliso Viejo Laguna Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Transform your upcoming vacation or business trip into an inspiring journey when you stay at Renaissance ClubSport Aliso Viejo Laguna Beach Hotel. Our resort-style hotel in Aliso Viejo, California offers spacious guest rooms featuring contemporary furnishings, plush bedding, modern technologies and complimentary Wi-Fi. Let the stress melt away at R Spa, our full-service day spa, or enjoy a rewarding workout session with available personal training and nutrition counseling at ClubSport, our state-of-the-art fitness center. Our Renaissance is home to Citrus Fresh Grill, offering flavorful New American dishes including a menu of healthy options under 485 calories. With 5,500 square feet of event space, our Aliso Viejo hotel is ideal for memorable weddings and corporate meetings. Guests at our hotel will enjoy easy access to Disneyland(R), Laguna Beach and a wide variety of upscale shopping and dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Renaissance ClubSport Aliso Viejo Laguna Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Clubsport Aliso Viejo Hotel Aliso Viejo
Renaissance Aliso Viejo
Aliso Viejo Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing