We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great find!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lunasia Dim Sum House

Lunasia Dim Sum House
Ranked #4 of 219 Restaurants in Alhambra
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
California, USA
Level Contributor
67 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I love good dim sum and I just found out about this place from a friend. It's a bit more expensive but the quality of the food justifies the cost. The wait is a little longer because it's smaller than other larger dim sum establishments but it's worth it. It's really clean inside and the food comes out really quickly despite not having the carts passing you by like other places.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank ugooli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    26
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
130 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Terrific dim sum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

Ate here when visiting Pasadena. All of our dim sum entrees were very good and only the duck was not excellent. Other posts paint it as expensive. I didn't find it overly so but perhaps that's because I'm from New York and numb to price; nevertheless for three of us to leave completely stuffed it was $40.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TGMerrill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
So Cal
Level Contributor
490 reviews
343 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Good quality, but the price is more "upper class"”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

From a local POV, Lunasia is the typical dim sum/Chinese restaurant. However, with its prices on the higher end, comes a slightly more affluent clientele (both Chinese or even non-Chinese). My opinion of their food is that it tastes great and is pricey, and will not likely appeal to those looking for "bang for the buck". For those new or curious about Chinese food (folks that aren't Chinese), it may be a good place to try (compared to your hole in the wall Chinese place where many no English is spoken). However, there are less pricier options around: If you want service and quality, you pay to play here.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank d l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Pasadena, California
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sweet place for family and friends”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

Lunasia is a wonderful place to bring family and friends for delicious dim sum and other Chinese food, such as noodles, beef and seafood dishes. Expect to wait a half hour or more on a weekend for dim sum around lunchtime, but it is usually easier to get a table during the workweek. The house special noodles are delicious, as are the crispy noodles with beef. Vegetarian options are also lovely at Lunasia, including tofu and mushroom dishes. Lunasia features a convivial, pleasant environment, with nice service (although they do get busy -- you might have to flag a waiter or waitress), and a menu featuring lots of variety. Lunasia is on the pricier side, but is a great place to share a lot of dishes with friends or to treat a family member to lunch and tea.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Daramin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
250 reviews
201 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Best Dim Sum in LA Area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

My Gold Star for dim sum is still Yank SIng in San Francisco. I've tried most of the well known dim sum restaurants in LA/SGV and Lunasia most definitely leads the pack. Like Yank SIng, you get what you pay for. High quality food is expensive and I'm always willing to pay for quality food. You can't stay in business if you're not profitable. Empress Pavillion in Chinatwon was an LA staple for years and it was inexpensive. The quality of the food went down and down so they could meet the price demands of the people who want to feed a family of 8 for $20. The result is they are now gone. Lunasia's food is high quality and their portions are the most I've seen anywhere. Keep the standards high and people will come back over and over. Skimp on the food and you'll be out of business before long.

I really like the idea of ordering fro the menu rather than waiting/hoping for what I want to come by. Not a very relaxing way to enjoy a meal at all. Always looking for that sticky rice or BBQ pork buns while wolfing down the dishes already on the table. Great advance in dim sum in my opinion. Not unique to to Lunasia but nevertheless a contributing factor to the overall experience.

Every dish we enjoyed was outstanding from the shrimp har gow with 3 huge hunks of very tasty shrimp to the light as a feather baked BBQ pork buns to some of the best noodle dishes I've ever had to sticky rice filled with lots of meat not a stray piece here and there like most dim sum sticky rice. The pork balls were filled with a delicious mix of meat and spices but were a little greasy. The shrimp won ton soup was filled with huge portions of shrimp. The almond milk with puff pastry topping was very good. The soup dumplings were much better than Din Tai Fung in Arcadia- generally the gold standard for XLB. The BBQ pork was juicy, delicious and generous.

We came in the mid afternoon on a weekday so there was no wait. We were seated immediately, filled out the card with the dishes we wanted using the beautifully pictured menu and waited, and waited and waited. The service was really terrible and it was a constant struggle throughout the meal to flag down a server. At one point, there was not a single server to be found in the entire dining room. I looked around and saw many frustrated faces searching for a server as well.

The dim sum was so good that I won't let the service deter me from giving Lunasia five stars. It still isn't quite up to the standards of Yank Sing but the best I've had in LA/SGV. Can't wait to go back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Foosh9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lunasia Dim Sum House also viewed

 

Been to Lunasia Dim Sum House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing