We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Fensalden Inn
Nearby Hotels
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (94)
Filter reviews
94 results
Traveler rating
76
11
6
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
76
11
6
1
0
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 94 reviews
Reviewed November 1, 2012

We learned quite a lot of history while staying at this historic inn overlooking the Pacifice. The inn itself dates back to the stagecoach days (but has all the modern conveniences) and the owner is a decendent of Nathaniel Harthorne. The rooms, expecially the Harthorne Suite, are very nice. The morning breakfast is an epicurian feast. Wonderful inn, wonderful owners.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rlwlawrisk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Spent 4 days at this wonderfully rustic, quiet, and glorious place, staying in the Tower cabin, complete with full kitchen, two stories, fireplace with tons of wood for burning, and the best hosts ever! If you are expecting frills and cutesy, don't go here. But if you want peace and quiet, tons of stars at night, a view of meadows and the ocean, deer, and fabulous breakfasts, this is your place! Thank you Molli and Chris! Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gail C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Great place to stay. Breakfast is well made, gourmet, with lots of little ammenities to keep you satisfied. Went here for a honeymoon and had great service from the family who runs the inn.

Great view and recommended for those who just want to get away.

Room Tip: The tower is awesome but the bed is a little lacking in support.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

We had an unforgettable stay at Fensalden Inn earlier this year. I had read reviews of how relaxing and peaceful it was, but was unprepared for just how enjoyable it was--inside and out. The extensive grounds are very well-kept, and from the hospitality of the owners, to the happy sights of deer, hummingbirds, ducks, the pet goat, and the beautiful Pacific, one is enveloped by a feeling of peace and relaxation.

We stayed in the Hawthorne Suite, which had beautiful views of the front yard to the east, and the ocean and back yard to the west. As we are landlocked most of the year, it was wonderful to walk the grounds and hear the constant sound of the ocean! We were treated to complimentary wine in our room, and there were snacks and port in the main dining room. I didn't catch all the history of the place, but believe that it used to be a stagecoach stop. The wood floors downstairs had been recently refurbished to bring out their original beauty.

The family who owns the inn are descendants of Nathaniel Hawthorne, and have furnished Fensalden Inn with many of his original possessions. As a history buff, I found this fascinating.

Breakfasts at the inn are fit for a king--beautifully presented on china, and very tasty. We felt so pampered.

One thing about the location: Fensalden Inn is located about 7 miles south of Mendocino, and it is about a 10-12 minute drive to get there. If you like being located right by shops, this may not be the place for you, but we preferred the quiet of the location. While there, we were able--in one morning no less--to drive south 5 minutes to Navarro Beach, then down the road to a Redwood grove, and to a nearby vineyard. On other days we visited Mendocino and other places.

In short, I would recommend, and love to come back to, California's northern coast, and this bed and breakfast in particular!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Hawthorne Suite, which has views of both the front grounds, and the ocean in back. Others may as well--not sure.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aspire2B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights in the Tower Suites. The Suites was fairly spacious and decorated very simply. Our stay was decent, with very unique breakfast dishes. I do have to say that the place felt very dated and even had cobwebs in the corners. On one of the nights I even had a bug crawl up my back while I was sleeping...needless to say I couldn't sleep the rest of the night. All in all, the property was pretty but our stay was just average.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lyl2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews