We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Views, Great Restaurant, Great Service”
Review of Albion River Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Albion River Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Albion B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Fantastic Views, Great Restaurant, Great Service”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Can't believe we haven't discovered the Albion River Inn before this! Absolutely love it! Staying here would be a perfect anniversary or birthday treat. Direct ocean views from the spacious rooms, private decks, fireplaces, and an outstanding restaurant on the property. We had a "standard" room, which was everything we needed. But if you want, you can upgrade to a room with a big jacuzzi tub with a window facing the ocean, so you can sit and soak and enjoy the view all at the same time. The restaurant was outstanding, as was the service. We accidentally left an important belonging in our room when we left, but the staff retrieved it for us, called us, and mailed it back to us. Thank you, fantastic Albion River Inn staff! Can't wait till we can return.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bevatyahoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    72
    21
    9
    6
See reviews for
24
211
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Castro Valley, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2014 via mobile

I have been coming to the Albion River Inn for 22 years. In my estimation the most under rated Chef ever Steve Smith. In my 22 years I have never received a meal less than excellent from this chef. Last night was no exception from the salad and soup to the Filet Mignon and grilled tenderloin of pork with white truffle oil, shiitake mushrooms and Oregon Blue Cheese Cream Sauce. Outstanding! With carmelized coconut bananas for desert. Our waiter David. SUPER! We asked and were able to meet Chef Steve. What a treat, a totally humble, polite and hardworking individual. What a great evening for myself, wife and children. We will always come back to the Albion River Inn where we have never, ever had a bad meal. The best on the coast. Hats off to Chef Steve, David and the crew, you all make it feel like home

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bbq123rob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2014 via mobile

What a nice treat after a beautiful drive along US 1 in Northern California. Soon after arriving we spotted the spout of a migrating whale from the deck of our room. Rooms are ample size with fireplace, split of white wine, comfy robes, free wi-fi and more. Breakfast included. Woke up to a beautiful rainbow over the ocean. A very nice quiet and romantic stop.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martinatl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaluma, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

We have stayed every Feb for the past ten years. We have been traveling the this area for the past twenty years. Finally found the Albion River Inn and we found our place. They offer a great discount during the week Nov to March, great deaL Room is so relaxing. We always eat at the restaurant the first night. Food is always great and the service is top notch. The second night we pick up snacks at the local deli and stay in with a good bottle of wine a book and quite time together. If you are lucky the Inns cat will come in and lay at your feet in front of the fire. We will keep coming back every year for ever!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank dsimpson1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood CA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014

The Albion River Inn was a great way to relax! The views of the coast were spectacular!!!
The restaurant is outstanding...The food was not only great to look at , but tasted even better. We made a fire every night and watched the sunset from our room...then open our door and just listen to the ocean. The staff was very friendly and left a bottle of Chardonnay in our room. We drove up and down the coast great scenery ... Redwoods..Pacific Ocean looked the best it ever has with all the different colors of blue. We will go back another time!!! Well worth the price.

Room Tip: All cottages have great views...Depends on how much you want to spend!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fyrchez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIDLAND
Level Contributor
119 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014

My wife and I have been coming to the Albion River Inn for over 28 years. Our first visit did not find the Inn as it looks today. Our first visit was to the restaurant which found us playing pool in a back room while the owner started a fire to warm up the place. Today I still miss that pool table. Today, you will find the restaurant a very warm and welcome place with a jaw dropping view of the ocean waves braking on the cliffs below. You will also find a "James Beard" award winning chief and a menu to match. It is very difficult not to enjoy a meal here.

Over the years we have seem the Inn grow into what you see today. The owner is hands-on daily and very demanding of the experience he wants you have when you stay here. The rooms are individual small buildings over looking the ocean and bay from a cliff. They are quite modern. Each with a fireplace, excellent bath that is autoclave clean and bedding that will guarantee a wonderful night's sleep. Another thing you will experience is a very professional and friendly staff. I accidentally left my iPad. They called and said it would be mailed to me. It arrived at my house the day after i returned home!

What you will not see is the continuous up-grading of the landscaping and maintenance of the infrastructure. The owner is very demanding that each guest have a wonderful and memorable experience at the Albion River Inn. One thing I didn't know about the restaurant was there is a massive assortment of Scotch whiskey. I believe over 100(?) examples. I am not a Scotch drinker.

If you are in this area, you will be well served by staying here

Room Tip: There is not a bad room. Some are larger than others. All have wonderful bath and fireplaces and bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ALLISONMidland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014

We just love staying here (our third visit). I could give it five stars except that to me means perfection without reservation or room for improvement, which I don't think is ever really attained. Giving it four stars instead of five is probably being a bit picky. It is a little bit outside my normal budget but well worth it. There are several payoffs. The best is the view of white water, the Pacific, great sunsets and rocky cliffs dropping to the water from most of the rooms. The second is the restaurant just a few steps away from your room. It is great to not have to worry about driving after a couple of glasses of wine, especially on Highway One at night. I would recommend this inn to anyone. My suggestion is to stay two nights at least and three if you can. There is much to see a do near by. And definitely try the restaurant and a scotch "flight" if you like that spirit. Most of us are wary of a free breakfast in a motel, however, the restaurant does a great job and provides good service. This is a very well run place.

Room Tip: Ask about the view in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gbc777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Albion
5.5 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
0.9 mi away
Heritage House Resort
Heritage House Resort
#2 of 2 in Little River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
3.1 mi away
Little River Inn
Little River Inn
#1 of 2 in Little River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Brewery Gulch Inn
Brewery Gulch Inn
#1 of 25 in Mendocino
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,129 reviews
2.5 mi away
Inn at Schoolhouse Creek
Inn at Schoolhouse Creek
#3 of 7 in Little River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
3.5 mi away
Glendeven Inn Mendocino
Glendeven Inn Mendocino
#1 of 7 in Little River
5.0 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albion River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albion River Inn

Property: Albion River Inn
Address: 3790 N Highway 1, Albion, CA 95410
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Albion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Albion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Albion River Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Albion River Inn's spectacular ocean front lodging and dining create the ambiance for a romantic and relaxing vacation on the Mendocino Coast. Our well appointed guest rooms and cottages feature dramatic ocean views with many amenities for your comfort. Located on the ocean, minutes from the historic village of Mendocino, Anderson Valley Wine Country, golf, tennis, State Parks, and beaches. The acclaimed restaurant and bar are open nightly for dinner. The restaurant lawn terrace is the picture perfect setting for weddings and receptions, while Cooking Classes and Culinary Events make us your ideal destination getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Albion River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albion River Hotel Albion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing