We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Come for the views .....”
Review of Albion River Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Albion River Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Albion B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

We have been to the ARI several times over the years - most recently in January, 2013. It was my birthday and we were greeted by a small bottle of local wine and a lovely welcome card wishing me a happy birthday - a nice touch! We stayed over Christmas one year, and were welcomed with some divine local chocolates.

We were in Room 12 with a wood burning fireplace and a deck - two essentials for staying at the ARI for us. Our experience with ARI is that the service is top notch, the rooms comfy and clean, and the food is awesome. We were disappointed to find that their restaurant was closed for dinner during our visit.

We love the view, the fire, the solitude of ARI. They offer a generous breakfast which boasts a bakery item and choice of main dishes, along with juice and coffee - not to mention that incredible view!

Perhaps the place does need some TLC to freshen up the wear and tear of use and the abuse from inexperienced fire makers and fire tenders. But for the price, you truly get a great experience with a view that can't be beat.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (321)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

165 - 171 of 321 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2013

We love this place. Very clean and you can't beat the view. The pictures on their website are true. We did not have dinner here this time and we were disappointed we chose some other place. We will not make that mistake again, since we love the meals here. The complimentary breakfast is excellent. My review do not do this place justice, you just need to go there. We will be back! Spring time is best.

Room Tip: We had a room with a room upstairs. I would not stay at these rooms. You can hear everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank llevans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

After a long trip from Oklahoma to Dallas, flight to San Francisco and then an afternoon of driving to the California coast, we happened on a perfect oasis. As we drove closer to the coast the early evening fog was coming in and we happened to see this lovely inn as we turning onto Highway 1. We already new before we reached our private gate to our cottage room that it was going to be a lovely stay because the grounds were covered in beautiful flowers and the young lady checking us in had already made us feel at home. The restaurant ,which is award winning, w as lovely at night with the crisp white table linens and the soft lighting, but most importantly the food was delicious and the service at its best. Everyone seemed to linger and enjoy the beautiful view of the Pacific and the casual, but classy atmosphere.
From the bottle of wine welcoming you in the room, to the oil light on the dresser, to the lantern to take onto the deck-all nice touches. The view of where the Albion River meets the Pacific is lovely. The cows grasing on the hillsides overlooking the Inn, the smell of the flowers everywhere, the sound of the fishing boats heading out to sea were delightful. Did I mention the best part--no tv, why would you want one-their motto is: you are here for relaxation and/or romance. After a lovely night in our little sanctuary, we went back to the restaurant for a lovely full complimentary breakfast. Starting with the fresh muffins on the table when we arrived, the made to order breafast was perfect way to start our day. As we took our last look at our perfect ocean view and took our last of many pictures of the lovely grounds we headed up the coast wondering how we could find anywhere to stay as perfect as the Albion River Inn. We arrived on our daughter's 27th birthday-what a gift!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patti M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

I love Albion River Inn in Mendocino County CA. The Bed and Breakfast is located on a cliff and all rooms open up to this spectacular view of the ocean. At certain times of the year you can sit out of your private porch and watch the whales or dophins swim by. The staff and owners are very gracious and want to help in any way to make sure your stay is wonderful and carefree. The restaurant is fabulous, a wonderful array of choices for your morning breakfast and the dinners are best around!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great and have a great view. There is no swimming pool...I clicked the wrong thing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FLgirl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

I will restate what many have before. Great view and restaurant great too. The room was clean enough but beat up and dated looking. We were in room 16 which was large with nice view. The food at dinner and in morning were great. be sure to ask for the wine tatsing coupons too. Well located for going to wineries and Mendocino downtown. Could use updating in rooms.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alexandriava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We loved everything about our stay at the Albion River Inn. With Chelsea's help we had a perfect elopement. We loved our room. It was a large, very private and comfortable room with a great view. It was peaceful and relaxing. We enjoyed the wood fireplace - used it every night. The restaurant was fantastic. Every meal we ate there we loved. This may have to become an annual trip for us!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carrie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I spent a memorable few days there for our wedding anniversary. Great food, friendly service, excellent rooms, and amazing views.
We would definitely go back. Not cheap but absolutely worth it.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Albion
5.5 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
13.9 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#5 of 23 in Fort Bragg
627 reviews
3.1 mi away
Little River Inn
Little River Inn
#1 of 2 in Little River
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Heritage House Resort
Heritage House Resort
#2 of 2 in Little River
658 reviews
2.5 mi away
Inn at Schoolhouse Creek
Inn at Schoolhouse Creek
#4 of 8 in Little River
293 reviews
3.5 mi away
Glendeven Inn Mendocino
Glendeven Inn Mendocino
#1 of 8 in Little River
677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albion River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albion River Inn

Address: 3790 N Highway 1, Albion, CA 95410
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Albion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Albion
Price Range: $195 - $325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Albion River Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Albion River Inn's spectacular ocean front lodging and dining create the ambiance for a romantic and relaxing vacation on the Mendocino Coast. Our well appointed guest rooms and cottages feature dramatic ocean views with many amenities for your comfort. Located on the ocean, minutes from the historic village of Mendocino, Anderson Valley Wine Country, golf, tennis, State Parks, and beaches. The acclaimed restaurant and bar are open nightly for dinner. The restaurant lawn terrace is the picture perfect setting for weddings and receptions, while Cooking Classes and Culinary Events make us your ideal destination getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Albion River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albion River Hotel Albion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing