We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Inn”
Review of Albion River Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Albion River Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Albion B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 17, 2013

This was our second stay at the Albion River Inn. On the first stay about 5 years ago, we stayed three nights in Room 17, which was about as good as it gets. The two-person whirlpool tub, the wood burning fireplace, and the view from the room, tub, and deck were all fantastic. At $325 in the summer, it's pricey but worth it.

Recently retired, we went for one of the least expensive rooms ($195), called Ocean, and the experience was almost as nice. We had a great view and deck, but the fireplace was replaced with a gas stove and the bathroom had only a relatively small shower. We enjoyed it almost as much. The breakfast that is included is excellent. We had an excellent dinner both nights. The salmon was outstanding and paired nicely with one of the nice selection of Anderson Valley pinot noirs. The three course menu at $32 was a bargain. The service, especially by the bartender and waitresses was friendly and knowledgeable. Unfortunately, the piano player has left, but rumor has it that he might return. In the meantime, the background music is well-chosen. We look forward to many more visits in the future.

Room Tip: The website fairly shows the rooms. We have stayed in the most expensive and least expensive and en...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (319)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

173 - 179 of 319 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2013

The Albion River Inn is located in a beautiful spot, up on a bluff with gorgeous views of the Albion River, wooden bridge, ocean and rugged coast. The grounds are beautiful with lots of flowers, trees and bushes. We stayed 2 nights in room #16 which is very clean, spacious and comfortable but in need of upgrading. The carpet is very stained, the chairs look very worn, the bathroom is big but in badly need of a renovation. I love this inn but it would be so nice if for the money they charge they would upgrade all their rooms. The staff is great, friendly and very accommodating. And the restaurant is fantastic, great food and service.
Note: this room is very close to the highway therefore it can be noisy when the big logging trucks go by.

Room Tip: Choose one of the rooms farthest from the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank U_s_a_Viajera2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed two nights in room 5 and we very happy with the experience. Cleanliness and attention to detail is so important to us, and we found both at this Inn. The cottage's fireplace was already expertly stocked with kindling, paper, and logs so that all we had to do was strike a match to start a cozy fire. The hot tub was ready to go with a private and secluded view of the ocean. There's something surreal about sitting in the private hot tub and feeling the cool ocean breeze and hearing the ocean surf. We were impressed with the complimentary bottle of wine in our room and then glasses of sparkling wine complementary at the bar for our anniversary.

We had a delicious dinner at their onsite restaurant, with romantic window seating overlooking the Albion river entering the ocean. Filet mignon was expertly prepared as was the Alaskan Halibut.

Complementary breakfasts were good except for the second day where the hostess decided to become a waitress and seemed completely disconnected from what she was doing. She couldn't remember to bring cream for coffee, spilled our drinks on our table, and then completely forgot to ever bring one of our two entrees. When asked, she giggled and said, "Oh, I saw it, forgot it was yours, and gave it to somebody else, oops". We had already been there 45 minutes and didn't want to wait for her to resubmit the order.

Overall it was a good trip, and we would recommend it.

Room Tip: Room 5, 17, and 20 are the best rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluerecursion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We stayed here in early June this year and really enjoyed it. It is an older hotel but they are doing a good job of keeping it up. The bed was very conformable, the bathroom was not all that modern but clean and large but the deck, ah the deck. The view was wonderful. We spend 3 hours one day just sitting watching the deer, osprey, hawks, wales, humming birds, and the water. Get a good bottle of wine and some cheese and just enjoy. We also choose to eat dinner there both nights because we were to tired to find something else and I'm glad we did. The first night we tried gourmet and the next we decided for the hamburger. Well that burger was the best ever, go figure!! The breakfast if large and very good. We will go back!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NCJustMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Ditto on the great views, food & service, but despite a plethora of wineries in the vicinity, the wine list and by-glass is pitiable. The half bottle chardonnay you get as a welcome is so old that it's almost vinegar. Also, there's great coffee roasters in the area, but the single one-cup prepackaged coffee for the little in-room maker is less than desirable. The store across the river has everything if you don't pack it yourself.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bosslady3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We have been going to Mendocino every Memorial Day Weekend for over 30 years and have settled down finally at the Albion River Inn for the past 11. What be wrong with gracious staff, full a la carte complimentary breakfast, breathtaking views of the crashing Northern California coastline, spa tub for two, free wi-fi and.........a fireplace. We'll be back next year.

Room Tip: Pictures of very cottages are online. If you want to be posh, you want #1, #17, #18, #19 or #20. Tho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ANSH90210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Back to Albion River Inn for a quick overnight decompression from too much work. Our happy place -- ARI -- never dsppoints. We love the plush rooms and amenities and so appreciate the courtesy and consideration for the guests. Rarely a two-nite minimum and checkout isn't until noon (you'd be amazed at how many are 11 am). Included breakfast is a very nice touch though I must say that I miss the former excellence of the restaurant. Too much heavy heavy food with two many trying too hard combinations. Simpler food finely executed would be a welcome change, but there are so many excellent places to dine that it doesn't even detract from my well-deserved 5 star review. Worth the money and the drive from San Francisco every time(especially rooms 5 and 17!)

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank baycyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Albion
5.5 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
13.9 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#5 of 23 in Fort Bragg
627 reviews
3.1 mi away
Little River Inn
Little River Inn
#1 of 2 in Little River
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Heritage House Resort
Heritage House Resort
#2 of 2 in Little River
654 reviews
2.5 mi away
Inn at Schoolhouse Creek
Inn at Schoolhouse Creek
#3 of 8 in Little River
292 reviews
3.5 mi away
Glendeven Inn Mendocino
Glendeven Inn Mendocino
#1 of 8 in Little River
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albion River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albion River Inn

Address: 3790 N Highway 1, Albion, CA 95410
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Albion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Albion
Price Range: $195 - $325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Albion River Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Albion River Inn's spectacular ocean front lodging and dining create the ambiance for a romantic and relaxing vacation on the Mendocino Coast. Our well appointed guest rooms and cottages feature dramatic ocean views with many amenities for your comfort. Located on the ocean, minutes from the historic village of Mendocino, Anderson Valley Wine Country, golf, tennis, State Parks, and beaches. The acclaimed restaurant and bar are open nightly for dinner. The restaurant lawn terrace is the picture perfect setting for weddings and receptions, while Cooking Classes and Culinary Events make us your ideal destination getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Albion River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albion River Hotel Albion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing