We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely inn and restaurant”
Review of Albion River Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Albion River Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Albion B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Our room was comfortable, clean with a beautiful deck overlooking the ocean. No TV added to the relation. We loved the fireplace in our room and a free bottle of wine upon arrivsl. The free WiFi was a plus-because cell phone coveragr is spotty on the coast. The restaurant had great food and wine selection.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank everichards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (326)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

193 - 199 of 326 reviews

Reviewed February 22, 2013

We had a lovely suite with fireplace, huge tub, plenty of lovely towels, nice linens, and nice furnishings. Our room had sliding glass doors to a nice deck with chairs, a lovely garden area below and an ocean view. We were gifted with a bottle of wine and chocolates each day. The grounds had a wonderful array of flowers.Two drawbacks: There were no television sets or cellphone service there. There was Wi Fi, However, We had looked forward to watching the political conventions and were reduced to watching them on our iPads but that was adequate. Our rates included a lovely breakfast in their diningroom with its ocean view.

We ate dinner there one night and I ordered the quail which was terribly undercooked. I complained to the waitress who said it was fine but when she took it to the kitchen and showed it to the cook he agreed that it was undercooked. They comped my dinner and dessert so that was nice but I would rather have had a good meal.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marilyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Our third stay at this lovely, romantic inn high on a bluff overlooking the Albion River and the Pacific Coast. The staff is great, and we visit as much for the food as the inn itself. Chef Steve does a fantastic job (try the prawns at dinner). Breakfast is fantastic and included. No TV's or cellphones....a great place to unwind.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mimi1206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We stopped here on the second leg of our trip up the coast. We only stayed one night, but it was beautiful and the staff was amazing.

Pros
-location
- amazing staff
- great comp breakfast

Cons
-restaurant was closed for dinner, had to drive 15 minutes to get to the next decent place

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brenda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

This is a wonderful place for a two night get away to the California coast. The rooms are great, especially with a fireplace. The BEST is the food! Do not miss a dinner here.....you will love it! Breakfast is included and always great. Try it now!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank walthess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

The Albion is a great Mendocino hideaway. It's romantic with great cliff-side views, jacuzzi tubs, fireplaces, deck. On site restaurant is fantastic and breakfast is included with the room. It's a short drive from the towns of Mendocino and Ft. Bragg. Would recommend it for a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dcristi23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

We drove through Albion river on our way from San Fancisco to Seattle. The many and varied side tracks we took meant we had only made it albion river inn by the time the sun was about to set.
Travelling with two kids it is not any to find accom around this area. But we stopped at the Albion river inn. They were able to give us a room #8. It was expensive at $200+ , but that includes a proper breakfast, so really, pretty good value.

The room itself is exceptional. our private verandah and late glass doors overlook the entrance to the Albion river...spectacular. We had a king bed and queen soda..moe than enough for my wife end I and our two kids.

Had dinner at the restaurant and tried the chefs choice. Good choice. Was a good meal, and priced well.

Got back to the room and played board games with he kids in front of the fireplace. Haven't had the breakfast yet, but if everything so far is anything to go by,there won't be a problem. Highly recommended.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank Breyno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Albion
13.9 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#5 of 23 in Fort Bragg
637 reviews
13 mi away
Shoreline Cottages
Shoreline Cottages
#4 of 23 in Fort Bragg
499 reviews
16.2 mi away
Ocean View Lodge
Ocean View Lodge
#1 of 23 in Fort Bragg
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Brewery Gulch Inn
Brewery Gulch Inn
#1 of 25 in Mendocino
1,185 reviews
3 mi away
Little River Inn
Little River Inn
#1 of 2 in Little River
741 reviews
0.9 mi away
Heritage House Resort
Heritage House Resort
#2 of 2 in Little River
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albion River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albion River Inn

Address: 3790 N Highway 1, Albion, CA 95410
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Albion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Albion
Price Range: $195 - $325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Albion River Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Albion River Inn's spectacular ocean front lodging and dining create the ambiance for a romantic and relaxing vacation on the Mendocino Coast. Our well appointed guest rooms and cottages feature dramatic ocean views with many amenities for your comfort. Located on the ocean, minutes from the historic village of Mendocino, Anderson Valley Wine Country, golf, tennis, State Parks, and beaches. The acclaimed restaurant and bar are open nightly for dinner. The restaurant lawn terrace is the picture perfect setting for weddings and receptions, while Cooking Classes and Culinary Events make us your ideal destination getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Albion River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albion River Hotel Albion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing