We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Special Place”
Review of Albion River Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Albion River Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Albion B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Jones, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Special Place”
Reviewed January 3, 2012

I have stayed in many hotels in the Mendocino area and this is definitely my favorite. The rooms are very peaceful, private and have lovely views. The dining room is delightful and a wonderful breakfast is served as part of the rate. I am always looking forward to my next visit.

Room Tip: All of the rooms I have stayed in are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jross10160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    72
    21
    9
    6
See reviews for
25
214
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
248 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2011

What is there not to like? This is not a hotel, an Inn or a B&B, it is our vacation home. The room was large, clean, comfortable and well decorated. Wood burning fireplace, a great thing to have on a cold night. The porch overlooking the ocean was great. No TV was a great thing to give us a chance to reconnect. Staff was friendly and helpful. If you are looking for privacy, comfort and romance, this is the place to be.

Room Tip: All rooms are great with ocean views!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bariatricrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harwich, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2011

This Inn just south of Mendocino, CA, was a good choice for 2 nights and sightseeing in this area. Like most of the Inns/B&Bs in this coastal area, it has been there for many years. The spectacular view is certainly a main reason for choosing it, can't be beat. The accommodations are spread out along the cliff line with the views in glorious sight from the patios and sliding glass doors. They are very clean. The majority of accommodations have either a gas or wood fireplace, the rooms are cozy and cottage-like. Perhaps there could be some updating with the heating system (which is noisy), but the beds are new and comfortable as was the rest of the furniture in our Room #7. Their website gives a true description of the rooms. A restaurant is located on the property and breakfast is included for ARI guests and it is open to the public for dinner. For a Saturday night in late November, it was plenty busy. Staff is very pleasant and want everything to be perfect. My cell service was spotty in the area and there is Wi-fi available (a bit slow) in your room. No televisions are available in the accommodations, a fact they make perfectly clear on their website. It was lovely not to have them, in my personal opinion.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank traveldream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, California
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2011

Great views from our own porch. The restaurant is accommodating for special diets including dinner and breakfast. We will be back time and time again.

Room Tip: The gas stoves are better than the wood stoves.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simmonsgottlieb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
1 review
Reviewed November 3, 2011

This was our third trip to Albion River Inn & we had friends that had not been there before. The views fro our room were spectacular. The food at the restaurant was excellent, as was the service. I would recommend Albion River Inn to anyone wanting to see the beautiful scenery and enjoy some gourmet dinners with exceptional wine choices.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hownice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2011

The Albion River Inn just south of Mendocino, CA has spectacular views of the coast, charming and very clean accommodations and a gourmet restaurant featuring local wines, fresh fish and organic vegetables. After a smooth check-in, we enjoyed the ocean's roar and gorgeous view along with a complimentary bottle of wine on our private patio. Dinner was divine, the bed comfy and delicious breakfast the next morning was included. The staff made excellent recommendations on nearby sites of interest, including several state parks, light houses and the Botanical Gardens with coastal walking trails. We hope to return with friends and family!

Room Tip: Our room was one of the least expensive but was perfect for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MinnesotaPoppie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedarburg, WI
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for our anniversary. The rooms were cozy, the view outstanding and the restaurant exceptional. They provided a nice gift basket for us in celebration of our 25 years of marriage. I cannot recommend this place enough. Oh and by the way, the view is pretty darn nice too!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blindref1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Albion
5.5 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
0.9 mi away
Heritage House Resort
Heritage House Resort
#2 of 2 in Little River
616 reviews
3.1 mi away
Little River Inn
Little River Inn
#1 of 2 in Little River
698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Inn at Schoolhouse Creek
Inn at Schoolhouse Creek
#3 of 7 in Little River
269 reviews
3.5 mi away
Glendeven Inn Mendocino
Glendeven Inn Mendocino
#1 of 7 in Little River
649 reviews
4.6 mi away
Brewery Gulch Inn
Brewery Gulch Inn
#1 of 25 in Mendocino
1,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albion River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albion River Inn

Property: Albion River Inn
Address: 3790 N Highway 1, Albion, CA 95410
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Albion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Albion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Albion River Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Albion River Inn's spectacular ocean front lodging and dining create the ambiance for a romantic and relaxing vacation on the Mendocino Coast. Our well appointed guest rooms and cottages feature dramatic ocean views with many amenities for your comfort. Located on the ocean, minutes from the historic village of Mendocino, Anderson Valley Wine Country, golf, tennis, State Parks, and beaches. The acclaimed restaurant and bar are open nightly for dinner. The restaurant lawn terrace is the picture perfect setting for weddings and receptions, while Cooking Classes and Culinary Events make us your ideal destination getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Albion River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albion River Hotel Albion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing