We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MUST try the Pineapple Salad with Prawns or Chicken!!”
Review of Dragon Rouge

Dragon Rouge
Ranked #11 of 249 Restaurants in Alameda
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Mechanicsville, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“MUST try the Pineapple Salad with Prawns or Chicken!!”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Rarely do I dream about food. However, the pineapple salad with prawns or chicken is one of those dishes. I'm still dreaming of it and craving it. I've never had Vietnameese food before, but this experience made me eager to try more. The pineapple salad is served in a fresh pineapple with finely shredded cabbage, red pepper, green pepper, fried shallots, mint, cilantro, and a sweet chili vinagrette, served with shrimp crackers. The vinagrette just really pulled the meal together. You can add prawns, chicken or tofu. The presentation was beautiful, but more importantly, the taste was incredible! There were so many flavors going on, it really was a party in your mouth. My taste buds are still dancing around! It's very filling (portion is big enough for two), but very light feeling in both your mouth and on your stomach. It's very crisp, clean, and refreshing. It's sweet, spicy and fresh all at once. It's amazing food that's great for you and leaves you full. You can't really ask for anymore than that. The pineapple salad is an absolute MUST and I so wish they could ship it to Virginia! Two weeks later and I'm still craving the taste.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hilliary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    38
    5
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great Vietnameese”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

I had one of the noodle dishes which was great. My friend had the mango steak which was also good. If you're looking for Vietnameese food I'd definatly reccomend trying it.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank SaraK987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda, California
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good food, decent price, upscale atmosphere.”
Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

The presentation was beautiful. The appetizers we had:
- Mango Steak Blanket was amazing. The lime sauce pulled the whole thing together.
- wasabi crab cones were interesting. I don't think I'd order them again. The crab and the wasabi fought each other, IMO.
- fried calamari was good. Only rings, though. I like the tentacles and dislike when they just bring rings.

I had the Pho, delicious...

I tried my wife's garlic broccoli, amazing.

I'd go back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Justusbraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Friendly/ Relaxing Atmosphere”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Dragon Rouge is now located by Park Street Bridge watching the draw bridge open when it goes up to give way to higher vessels/ships that is passing through. It is also by the water and has a veranda where people can enjoy sitting during cocktail hours with an open serving of pre-dinner snacks.

The food is great , especially the garlic chicken wings and the spring rolls cooked "Vietnamese style". They are generous with their servings and the food is served according to your specification. It has a touched of a "Family Style" dining and people feel rlaxed while being served. The parking is great especially during lunch time.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lita3264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda, California
2 reviews
“Dragon Rouge”
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Wonderful atmosphere, awesome wait staff, great ginger-basil drop, food is good too (hee hee) no just kidding, vietnamese cuisine very nicely presented with many delightful flavors that tickles your taste buds. Also beautiful different orchids upon entering. Music in background, ambient, relaxing and tasteful. Fun place!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rnratchetmg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dragon Rouge also viewed

 

Been to Dragon Rouge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing