We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”

Alameda Theatre & Cineplex
Ranked #1 of 6 Fun & Games in Alameda
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Ripon, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
“Wonderful”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

The old Alameda theatre was completely refurbished. They worked very hard to bring back the beauty of how it originally looked. The murals, paint, carpet, etc. they painstakingly brought back to the original. A must see and step back into the past.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Joan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    21
    5
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“Wished we'd had time for a movie...”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

peeked our heads in and this place was gorgeous. So nice to see the theater restored to it's original glory. Used to be a dumpy gym and some other things. Will absolutely go back and see a movie there some day.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank sshobbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Leandro
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just a really nice theater.”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Treats 'n eats are reasonably priced, seats are comfortable, Screen and sound are outstanding, Senior and matinee prices, seems a 'safe' environment.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Charles G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
99 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 276 helpful votes
“An elegant and beautiful building, and elegant and beautiful interior, but . . .”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

I first entered the building that is now Alameda Theater, when it was used as a gym. I attended two birthday parties at this gym. It is hard to believe that this funky old gym has been transformed into an elegant and beautiful art deco-style theater. The color schemes are abundantly easy on the eye, the potted plants are inviting, and the ushers are polite and their cordial manner seems like an anachronism from the 1950s. On the other hand, there is a little problem. The screens are lumpy. The lumpy screens make the faces of actors look like they have acne scars. Also, when the movie shows a white area, perhaps a very bright sky, it looks like snow crystals. Another problem is that, centered near the top, there is a light area. The lightened area could be a problem with the projector, or with the lens. I have been attending movies in the San Francisco Bay area since around 1967, and I have never before encountered a lumpy screen, or a screen where there is a lightened area near the top. I was very proud when Alameda Theater opened, at least at first. But after attending two different movies (Wall-E and Crystal Skull) I decided not to return, and to see movies instead at nearby Jack London Square. Of course, other theaters have problems that are much more severe. The IMAX screens are filled with millions of small holes. Apparently, the goal of these millions of holes is to allow sound to pass from the speakers, which are located behind the screen, to the audience. This is fine and dandy, however anybody can get first rate sound from a home stereo. The main point of movie theaters, in my opinion, is to see high quality motion pictures (hopefully without millions of holes, and hopefully without lumps). And so, I have no idea why any manufacturer would intentionally damage a screen (and consequently damage the quality of movies shown on the screen) by creating millions of holes.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank TomBrody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco Bay Area
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful Art Deco Theater”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

This movie theater, designed by Timothy Pflueger of the Paramount Theater(in Oakland) fame, opened in 1932 and showed movies until 1971 when it stopped and became just a venue for children's activities. After 50 million dollars worth of restoration and repair the theater reopened in 2008 with a huge single screen facility and 8 additional small screens. Many of the original lighting fixtures and other historical markers were brought back to life. It is gorgeous!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank tourguidegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alameda Theatre & Cineplex also viewed

 

Been to Alameda Theatre & Cineplex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing