We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Oakland/Alameda
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Alameda
Certificate of Excellence
maryland
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Scary”
Reviewed July 24, 2007

My husband called the hotel from Napa Valley to get directions. We wrote them down. They didn't work. We found ourselves in a very sketchy area of Oakland. We called the hotel and asked for directions. Even with the lone desk worker looking on mapquest, she could not give us directions. She called the Oakland police to meet us. The officer could point us in the direction of Alameda, but didn't know the location of the hotel. We had to call the hotel again and ask them to navigate us through Alameda. We were looking for a very basic place to spend 6 hours before getting on a plane at Oakland airport. I suppose very basic would be the only charitable way to describe the place. Do not recommend the property--on noisy thoroughfare; "suite" with work area had a seriously slanted floor. The hotel's printed directions to the airport were fine for people who lived in the area--"go south towards Lincoln Ave." means nothing to travelers who can't even see the sun at 5 a.m.

  • Liked — We didn't have to stay long.
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sueeMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

647 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    263
    77
    18
    10
See reviews for
267
114
52
158
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alameda, California
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2006

I needed a place in Alameda to put up my parents for the weekend, and this place seemed to fit the bill. I live in Berkeley, but I wanted a place where I could 'camp out' with my folks near my fiancee. This seemed like the best option.

Pros: Easy access (via Webster St.) and simple free parking, Great location....off the beaten path and yet close to the East Bay freeways and Oakland Airport; Clean room/sheets/bathroom; Fast and friendly checkin/out; Excellent free Wi-Fi service; quiet corner room on the 3rd floor (room 323); lots of towels.

Cons: $139/night (for 3 nights) seems a bit overpriced; No sheets in the room for the pull-out sofa bed; One TV remote didn't work and neither TV remote had the battery cover on the back; breakfast was edible, but the background noise (e.g. a businessman gabbing away on his Bluetooth) one morning was slightly annoying; hot water but not much water pressure.

The Final Verdict: My parents' visit was a success, and they had no real complaints. But they weren't paying the $139/night bill...and that was just too much, for what we were getting. I've stayed at other motels for half the price that frankly were just about on par with this Hawthorn. If I had paid $70-80 a night, I would definitely rate it higher.

  • Liked — Convenience and Location
  • Disliked — Overpriced for what you receive
  • Tips/Secrets — It's liveable, but I would consider other options (like the Marina Village Inn)
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Klinean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz area CA
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2006

This was an oasis after getting lost in the tube near Alameda - going back & forth to Oakland - a nightmare, esp. finding that cell phones apparantly don't work well in Alameda, just getting to reserve this room locally was a minor miracle in itself after about 40 phone disconnections...!
Beware & reserve ahead of approaching Alameda itself!

The staff was pretty friendly, the room was nice - somewhat darkish, but nice furniture, nice ameneties and fair price. Decent neighborhood, and it was wonderful to find friendly faces after being lost so long. Definitely the best looking property I could detect at that hour.
Continental breakfast was decent enough, and the beds/bathrooms very nice.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank chechina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathey's Valley, California
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2006

Room was nice, furnishings decent, 30+ channel TV. Bed was comfortable, bathroom was clean. Microwave and fridge and sink also. Convenient if business takes you to Oakland. Hot breakfast buffet had eggs and barely cooked bacon, rest of the breakfast layout was very spartan and unappealing. Strange room layout as a "backward" C with the sitting area on the bottom of the C near the door and the bedroom at the top of the C by the windows. The bathroom was in the middle of the room, the middle part of the C with a narrow aisleway between the sitting area and bed. About what would be expected of a $99 hotel room until we talk about the NOISE--walls are paper-thin and you hear everything from the room next door and when your neighbor uses his bathroom, you can barely hear the TV. Don't get a room on the busy street side as the paper-thin walls make it seem like you're sitting in the middle of traffic. Now let's talk about DIRT--I have never ever in my life stayed in a hotel where the windows were as DIRTY as this place--my room, the hallways, the lobby, the breakfast room--all filthy like they hadn't been washed/cleaned in months. Next DIRT--the sitting area in the room had an overhead fan--it was white and you could see the black dirt on the top and sides of the fan blades like it hadn't been cleaned for months either. As nice as the room seemed, why were the windows and fan so absolutely filthy? Average room, but the dirt and noise wouldn't make me want to stay here again nor recommend it to anyone until they cleaned the windows, sound-proofed better and put more effort into what they advertise as a HOT breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed February 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank ynp-CV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma WA
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2006

We stayed at the Hawthorn Suites in February. What a great value at $98, the internet rate. Ours was a suite with two double beds and two TVs, refrig with coffee maker and microwave, a spacious bathroom, clean, quiet, plenty of free parking, and a hot breakfast to boot! Nicely furnished, didn't feel cheap at all. Safe neighborhood. There is an art gallery across the street and it is walking distance to plenty of good restaurants.

The location isn't in the middle of bustling Oakland, but close enough. It is on the island of Alameda, which connects to Oakland through a water tube that you drive through, ending up in Oakland's Chinatown, about 2 miles away. So you'll have to have a car if you stay there and wish to tour the East Bay.

Service is sparse, but friendly. We had to get our own rollaway bed, but that was no big deal - not for that price.

The Oakland airport is less than 15 minutes away.

Helpful?
8 Thank arlenejoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alameda
4.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Oakland Airport-Alameda
1.8 mi away
Executive Inn & Suites
Executive Inn & Suites
#2 of 49 in Oakland
880 reviews
1.3 mi away
Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Bayside Hotel
1.8 mi away
Oakland Marriott City Center
1.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Oakland-Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Oakland/Alameda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Oakland/Alameda

Property: Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Oakland/Alameda
Address: 1628 Webster St, Alameda, CA 94501-2134 (Formerly Oakland/Alameda Hawthorn Suites LTD.)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Alameda
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Alameda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Oakland/Alameda 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham located in the beautiful city of Alameda, just a mile from downtown Oakland, was newly built in 2003 and renovated in 2011. The hotel offers superior amenities and great customer service in addition to studio suites with a King or two Queen beds, some with sofa sleepers. Complimentary hot breakfast buffet includes eggs, potatoes, meat, pancakes, juices, fruits, yogurt, hot and cold cereal, Starbucks coffee and a variety of teas. Parking and T1 reliable wifi are free and there are several nice restaurants within walking distance of the hotel. Bus and train connections are conveniently located nearby to San Francisco and other destinations and attractions in the Bay Area. Come and stay at our hotel to experience superior hospitality from a dedicated staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Oakland/Alameda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Alameda Hotel Alameda
Hawthorn Suites Alameda
Alameda Hawthorn Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing