We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value for your $.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Oakland/Alameda
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Alameda
Certificate of Excellence
Mission Viejo
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Value for your $.”
Reviewed July 12, 2009

The rooms at the Hawthorn Suites were very clean and tidy. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast Bar included daily with great selection of food.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WooHooWahine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    260
    77
    19
    10
See reviews for
263
113
52
157
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2009

We stayed at the Hawthorne while in California and attending a graduation. It is only about 15 minutes from Berkeley and easy to get to. The hotel gave us our preferred room on the top floor at the end of the hallway. Check in was quick and easy and the hot breakfast was a good way to start the day. Overall good experience, we stayed here for 3 nights.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NCSoxFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
53 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2008

If you are wanting to stay on Alameda Island, Oakland, or somewhat near the airport in a bit quieter of a setting you can't go wrong here. But if you are wanting Emeryville, Berkeley, or other places North of Alameda there are probably better options.

The property:
This is my first stay at any Hawthorn Suites. This property is the only one I can comment on. First the room: This is not a 2 room type "suite" that you'd get at a Homewood or Residence Inn. Its one room with the bathroom acting as a divider between a small living area with a TV and another bedroom area with a TV. A hallway allows you to go between the two sections which has a small refrigerator, a sink, and a microwave oven. Again if you are looking for the full service type kitchens that the other suite chains have you won't get that here.

They have a decent hot breakfast but its pretty routine. If you stay more than 3 days you'll get everything they have. The scrambled eggs tend to be a bit on the dry side. They also have the usual cereals and sometimes yogurt. Coffee is good but once breakfast is over the coffee gets pulled like everything else. This hotel does not have a nightly week day reception meal. They do have a full meal each Wednesday night. It was good every time I had it.

They do have an exercise room that was mostly unused. Which was fine for me. Also this hotel permits smoking on some floors. Considering the state I was in I was pretty surprised of this. The 3rd floor was nonsmoking and I never smelled anything.

For those that complain about sirens. This property is very close to the Alameda fire department and its response route. At least once a day they will fly out of the station with sirens glaring while they cross the intersection close to the hotel.

The elevator for this 3 story hotel is very slow. Its slow to move, slow to arrive, and the door of the elevator closes even slower. Most the time I took the steps.

If you are a business traveler dining options are actually pretty good. There's plenty of non chain places all along Webster within walking distance and there are even more on the south side of the island. Despite the sidewalks being labeled no skate boarding you still get groups of young teenagers rolling together or stopped on the sidewalks with their boards.

Overall this is undeniably the nicest hotel on Alameda. If you are wanting to stay on island you wont get better. If you are needing to stay closer to Oakland especially north Oakland there's a few better options closer to large upscale malls with nice dining options.

Stayed November 2008
Helpful?
Thank Chase71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Layton, UT
Level Contributor
95 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2008

The room was large as was the bathroom. It was nicely furnished. We were surprised that the couch bed was only a twin (we ended up putting one of our kids on the floor). The breakfast was above average. The front desk was helpful. Overall a good experience.

  • Liked — Large room, great breakfast
  • Disliked — couch bed was a twin, price
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StaceyM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Level Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2008

I spent a night here recently while on business. The cost is very good for the location and the room is huge! Very comfortable bed, good working AC unit, big bathroom. Room was very clean. The free breakfast is much better than the standard continental fare you usually get in a hotel. Eggs, sausage, pancakes, etc.

I highly recommend this place to anyone staying in the area.

  • Liked — Excellent Value
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ArizonaJerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battle Ground, In
Level Contributor
53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2008

I would just like to echo the other favorable reviews. In a VERY expensive Bay Area lodging market, this is a remarkable value. Just a few minutes from underrated and interesting downtown Oakland and Oakland Chinatown (and BART stations - the best way to travel the area), a few minutes from the freeway and access to San Francisco - about 20 minutes away on a good day, and close to the Oakland Airport. And a reasonable walk or short drive to the Alameda beaches, and in a 'downtown' area with passable restaurants and convenience stores. The town and neighborhood felt safe, and had more of a 'beach town' vibe in contrast to it's thoroughly urban neighbors surrounding it. The room itself was clean and was divided into a 'bedroom' and a smaller 'living room' both with televisons. The microwave and small fridge worked well, and the small kitchen area had a serviceable sink and counter area. The free breakfast was great - pancakes or waffles, eggs, bacon or sausage, fruit, as well as the usual cerea, juice and pastries. We've stayed in places for twice the price that charged $15 for the same breakfast (are you listening, Hilton Garden Inns?).

  • Liked — location, neighborhood, overall value for the price
  • Disliked — Room had lots of ammenities, but was rather small. Wireless internet was ok, but sometimes slow.
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank 81hoosier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonita Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2008

My family and I just returned from a week stay in California. The sole purpose was to visit family and to attend my Father's School Reunion. From the very beginning the staff was more than friendly (even at midnight!). Our rooms were close to one another and quite cozzy. The morning breakfast was fantastic! Everything from pastries, potatoes, meats and fruits- my family and I were always up early to catch it.

The hotel is in a nice neighborhood where there is a very nice housing division in the back of the hotel where you can take nice quiet walks and view some spectacular homes. Yes there is a fire department across the street about a block down, but we were never interupted by it.

The rooms were always neat and clean when we returned from out daily activites and not a day went by when we were greeted AT LEAST 5 times a day from staff.

The hotel is less than a 20 minute drive to San Francisco and about 10 minutes to Oakland. Not to mention (what seemed like) a hop, skip and jump away from the airport (but still far enough away that the planes were unnoticeable).

I would recommend this hotel to any family who is looking for the right price in a nice area. In all honesty, this was the ultimate in group travel.

  • Liked — The friendly staff, the free breakfast, and the location
  • Disliked — Everything was great!
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swpalm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alameda
4.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Oakland Airport-Alameda
1.8 mi away
Executive Inn & Suites
Executive Inn & Suites
#2 of 49 in Oakland
877 reviews
1.3 mi away
Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Bayside Hotel
1.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Oakland-Waterfront
1.8 mi away
Oakland Marriott City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Oakland/Alameda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Oakland/Alameda

Property: Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Oakland/Alameda
Address: 1628 Webster St, Alameda, CA 94501-2134 (Formerly Oakland/Alameda Hawthorn Suites LTD.)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Alameda
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Alameda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Oakland/Alameda 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham located in the beautiful city of Alameda, just a mile from downtown Oakland, was newly built in 2003 and renovated in 2011. The hotel offers superior amenities and great customer service in addition to studio suites with a King or two Queen beds, some with sofa sleepers. Complimentary hot breakfast buffet includes eggs, potatoes, meat, pancakes, juices, fruits, yogurt, hot and cold cereal, Starbucks coffee and a variety of teas. Parking and T1 reliable wifi are free and there are several nice restaurants within walking distance of the hotel. Bus and train connections are conveniently located nearby to San Francisco and other destinations and attractions in the Bay Area. Come and stay at our hotel to experience superior hospitality from a dedicated staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Oakland/Alameda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Alameda Hotel Alameda
Hawthorn Suites Alameda
Alameda Hawthorn Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing