We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OUR REFUGE BY THE BAY”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Oakland/Alameda
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Alameda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 20, 2014

We have stayed at the Hawthorn Suites in Alameda many times during the past 7 or 8 years, and thought it just couldn't get better, but every time we visit, we find something else to make us grateful for what we have come to regard as our "home away from home." Because of our many personal and professional ties to the Bay Area, we find it necessary to travel here often, and the Hawthorn Suites makes it so easy for us. It is the most convenient area we could find;we can be in San Francisco in 15 minutes or in Walnut Creek in one-half hour. Moreover, Alameda itself is such an interesting place, like a small town within a big city. There are many interesting sights to see here and too many good restaurants (We especially recommend Speisekammer and Gold Coast Grill). But the hotel itself is the main draw for us. The rooms are thoughtfully designed and well-appointed. Each room has a small kitchenette which we find very helpful for our extended stay visits. And it seems to us that the owners are always making improvements to the hotel, both interior and exterior. We heard, for instance, that new furniture is on the way soon, and frankly, we are wondering why because we think the present furnishings look pretty good.The rooms, and in fact, the entire hotel is consistently super clean and neat, too, which is one of the most important factors for us, and the beds are SO comfortable--we wish we could have one of these mattresses in our own home. The breakfast offerings are exceptional for an American hotel in this price range. There are various warm dishes--eggs, potatoes, waffles, pancakes--as well as assorted cereals, pastries, juices, etc., as well as Starbucks coffee. In addition, a full complimentary dinner is served every Wednesday night, and we find that to be very good, too. Perhaps the one factor that is most exceptional here, though, is the wonderful staff. There seems to be very little turnover in staff here (The owner must be doing something right here), so we have come to know many of the employees well, and we really look forward to seeing them. They are so friendly and accommodating, and so smart;they often seem to anticipate our needs and/or requests. The new manager, Terri, is the latest addition to the staff, and it seems to us that things run even more smoothly now that she's here. All of the reception personnel are so great, though--Selma, Sarah, Ana, and Tina, especially--so efficient and professional, as well as kind and responsive. We also appreciate the Cleaning and Maintenance staff, especially Jessica and Javier, but all the others, too. It seems to us that the owner must feel very satisfied with what he has accomplished here, and we would say, pretty lucky, too. Of course, we also feel lucky to be able to depend on this truly exceptional refuge by the bay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vucica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawthornAlamedaCA, Assistant General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Oakland/Alameda, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Wow! Thank you so much for this review. You will never understand how much this means to all of us. We appreciate you taking the time to write this, your loyalty, and your friendliness that you always show us. Thank you for spotlighting us individually and showing your appreciation no only through this review but on a daily basis as well. We hope that you always find refuge here and continue to stay with us as long as you want.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (674)
There are newer reviews for Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Oakland/Alameda
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

400 - 406 of 674 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham
Thank Miranda P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
HawthornAlamedaCA, Assistant General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Oakland/Alameda, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham
Thank Jenna C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
HawthornAlamedaCA, Assistant General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Oakland/Alameda, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

I had the best stay at Hawthorn. Everything was great. The breakfast had so much variety and everything was always clean. I especially want to thank the girls at the front who are so friendly and professional, Ana and Sarah, they were so helpful in giving me directions and suggesting restaurants. That 1400 place is really good. If I ever come to Alameda again I will be sure to stay at the Hawthorn.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawthornAlamedaCA, Assistant General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Oakland/Alameda, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Thank you so much for your review. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were given an enjoyable suggestion to eat. I have passed along your comments to Sarah and Ana, they greatly appreciate your kind words as does the rest of the staff. Please do come stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

From the time that I checked in until the time I checked out, everything was great. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I met the General Manager, Terri, and she was very bubbly and sweet. I enjoyed the breakfast. The rooms were great. The hotel is conveniently located near other cities, so I had no problem getting around to visit friends. Will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brenda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawthornAlamedaCA, Assistant General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Oakland/Alameda, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

Thank you so much for your review. We are so happy to know that you had a pleasant experience with us from check in to check out. I personally appreciate all of the nice things you said about me, thank you again. We do hope you keep your promise and definitely stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham
Thank Rick B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
HawthornAlamedaCA, AssistantGeneral Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Oakland/Alameda, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham
Thank Rochelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
HawthornAlamedaCA, Assistant General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Oakland/Alameda, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alameda
1.8 mi away
Executive Inn & Suites
Executive Inn & Suites
#2 of 49 in Oakland
900 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Oakland Airport-Alameda
1.3 mi away
Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Bayside Hotel
1.8 mi away
Oakland Marriott City Center
1.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Oakland-Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Oakland/Alameda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Oakland/Alameda

Address: 1628 Webster St, Alameda, CA 94501-2134 (Formerly Oakland/Alameda Hawthorn Suites LTD.)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Alameda
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Alameda
Price Range: $164 - $318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Oakland/Alameda 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham located in the beautiful city of Alameda, just a mile from downtown Oakland, was newly built in 2003 and renovated in 2011. The hotel offers superior amenities and great customer service in addition to studio suites with a King or two Queen beds, some with sofa sleepers. Complimentary hot breakfast buffet includes eggs, potatoes, meat, pancakes, juices, fruits, yogurt, hot and cold cereal, Starbucks coffee and a variety of teas. Parking and T1 reliable wifi are free and there are several nice restaurants within walking distance of the hotel. Bus and train connections are conveniently located nearby to San Francisco and other destinations and attractions in the Bay Area. Come and stay at our hotel to experience superior hospitality from a dedicated staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Oakland/Alameda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Alameda Hotel Alameda
Hawthorn Suites Alameda
Alameda Hawthorn Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing