We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location worked for us. Room was very dated. Breakfast...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Oakland/Alameda
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Alameda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Location worked for us. Room was very dated. Breakfast quality and choices made me wish I went somewhere else.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham
Thank Greg C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (703)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

446 - 452 of 703 reviews

Reviewed January 28, 2014

Hotel is located in a prime downtown Alameda. Rooms were clean and the staff was very friendly. My only problem was the mattress was very uncomfortable. This room needs a new mattress. Breakfast was good. Hotel is easy to arrive and leave, close to freeways. Many local restaurants in walking distance.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pete M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawthornAlamedaCA, Assistant General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Oakland/Alameda, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

Thank you for your review. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay. We are sorry that the mattress was uncomfortable for you. We just got brand new mattresses and we will have the owner take a look at yours. We do hope you stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham
Thank Tom P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham
Thank Denise L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
HawthornAlamedaCA, Assistant General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Oakland/Alameda, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham
Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
HawthornAlamedaCA, Assistant General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Oakland/Alameda, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Nice little hotel in Alameda - probably not in the most picturesque part of the town, but conveniently located: when you labor-day is finished you just have to take the bus to reach the Oakland BART station for a ride to downtown S.F. Can't remember who in Alameda told me that his station was unsafe - I took several times, inclusing late at night and I never felt unsecure still. Because I took a multi-hotel shuttle I can't assess properly the time required from the airport to reach the hotel. In-house complementary breakfast is correct, no more, no less. Spa has high levels of chloride (I guess you get at least a complete sterilization of all living bugs when coming out), but it was nice and peaceful enough to relax. You have a couple restaurants all around, some nice Tex-Mex, and beware some cheap and ugly chinese ones. Staff was professional, check-in and check out not a problem. I would probably not have chosen this location with my family (unless you have a car, there is little to do around) - but it was perfect for a business trip.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jo_cicco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawthornAlamedaCA, Assistant General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Oakland/Alameda, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. We're glad you enjoyed all that the Bay Area has to offer including public transportation and the variety of restaurants. We do hope that you choose our hotel not only for business but for leisure as well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alameda
4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Oakland Airport-Alameda
1.8 mi away
Executive Inn & Suites
Executive Inn & Suites
#2 of 49 in Oakland
924 reviews
1.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Bayside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel
1.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Oakland-Waterfront
2.1 mi away
Coral Reef Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Oakland/Alameda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Oakland/Alameda

Address: 1628 Webster St, Alameda, CA 94501-2134 (Formerly Oakland/Alameda Hawthorn Suites LTD.)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Alameda
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Alameda
Price Range: $172 - $359 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Oakland/Alameda 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham located in the beautiful city of Alameda, just a mile from downtown Oakland, was newly built in 2003 and renovated in 2011. The hotel offers superior amenities and great customer service in addition to studio suites with a King or two Queen beds, some with sofa sleepers. Complimentary hot breakfast buffet includes eggs, potatoes, meat, pancakes, juices, fruits, yogurt, hot and cold cereal, Starbucks coffee and a variety of teas. Parking and T1 reliable wifi are free and there are several nice restaurants within walking distance of the hotel. Bus and train connections are conveniently located nearby to San Francisco and other destinations and attractions in the Bay Area. Come and stay at our hotel to experience superior hospitality from a dedicated staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Oakland/Alameda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Alameda Hotel Alameda
Hawthorn Suites Alameda
Alameda Hawthorn Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing