We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The rooms were small but had all the amenities. The...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Oakland/Alameda
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Alameda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 3, 2013

The rooms were small but had all the amenities. The bathroom did not have any heat vents, and the door would not stay open unless you propped it open with a chair, so it was COLD in there! Friendly staff.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham
Thank GRETCHEN C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawthornAlamedaCA, Assistant General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Oakland/Alameda, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I'm sorry that the bathroom was cold due to our self closing bathroom doors, if you stay with us again please let the front desk know and we can provide you with a doorstop if need be. Thank you for your comments about our friendly staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (674)
There are newer reviews for Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Oakland/Alameda
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

553 - 559 of 674 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2013

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham
Thank 985Marie
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
HawthornAlamedaCA, Assistant General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Oakland/Alameda, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 24, 2012 via mobile

Spending Xmas with my daughter and staying here because its close. First i have to say Alameda has only2-3 hotels. The room is ok. Could really use some room spray. Furniture is worn and cheap. Does not give usual 20% for Aarp or aaa only gives 10%. Room is not worth $148 a night. Sorry. Free breakfast is good.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawthornAlamedaCA, Assistant General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Oakland/Alameda, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2012

Firstly, I wanted to thank you for taking the time to write a review. Secondly, I wanted to clear up some things you commented on in your review. There are actually 9 hotels in Alameda and we spent most of 2011 renovating the property. Our next issue is tackling the furniture, we will start renovating that in the early months of 2013. I'm sorry that the 10% discount for AAA/AARP was unsatisfactory to you but the amount of the discount is actually chosen by the property, some properties choose to do more than 10% and others choose to do less than 10%. It disheartens me that you did not enjoy your stay but I do appreciate your comments so that we can work on making our property even better. Thank you for your comments about our breakfast as well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

It was very nice stay for the night aftera Christmas party. Very easy location for the time of year. I would recommend to have the towels switched to a Bath sheet. This would be the only negative I found . It was very clean and neat. Breakfast was very good. the staff very helpful. Room was very nice.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham
Thank Jeff D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawthornAlamedaCA, Assistant General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Oakland/Alameda, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2012

Thank you so much for your review of our property. We appreciate you taking the time to do so. Your suggestion of a bath sheet is the first I've ever heard, I will definitely look into that and thank you for bringing it to my attention. We hope you come and stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham
Thank Brock S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
HawthornAlamedaCA, Assistant General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Oakland/Alameda, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

This hotel is a wonderful bargain; I was skeptical about its proximity to Oakland, but found the neighborhood safe. Everything about the room was more than satisfactory. The hot breakfast was sumptuous, and the coffee to die for. the location is central to shopping and choice of dining options. Freeway access is convenient to access San Francisco, Berkeley and East Bay; internet service free; self-service laundry great for extended stays.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sccfsac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawthornAlamedaCA, Assistant General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Oakland/Alameda, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2012

Thank you so much for your review. We really do appreciate all of the nice things you've said about the hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and found the hotel to be satisfactory to your needs. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
BONITA
1
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Our stay at Hawthorn Suites was great! The breakfast was delicious, and the service great. Our room (bedding, bathroom cleaniness, overall) was great. Although, the exterior windows were very dirty (requiring cleaning from the outside). We really didn't a good view because the windows were very dirty.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawthornAlamedaCA, Assistant General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Oakland/Alameda, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

Thank you for your comments about our hotel. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for bringing the window cleanliness to my attention. We will have to schedule an outside window cleaning soon. Again, thank you for the review and we hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alameda
1.8 mi away
Executive Inn & Suites
Executive Inn & Suites
#2 of 49 in Oakland
899 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Oakland Airport-Alameda
1.3 mi away
Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Bayside Hotel
1.8 mi away
Oakland Marriott City Center
1.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Oakland-Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Oakland/Alameda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Oakland/Alameda

Address: 1628 Webster St, Alameda, CA 94501-2134 (Formerly Oakland/Alameda Hawthorn Suites LTD.)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Alameda
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Alameda
Price Range: $164 - $318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Oakland/Alameda 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham located in the beautiful city of Alameda, just a mile from downtown Oakland, was newly built in 2003 and renovated in 2011. The hotel offers superior amenities and great customer service in addition to studio suites with a King or two Queen beds, some with sofa sleepers. Complimentary hot breakfast buffet includes eggs, potatoes, meat, pancakes, juices, fruits, yogurt, hot and cold cereal, Starbucks coffee and a variety of teas. Parking and T1 reliable wifi are free and there are several nice restaurants within walking distance of the hotel. Bus and train connections are conveniently located nearby to San Francisco and other destinations and attractions in the Bay Area. Come and stay at our hotel to experience superior hospitality from a dedicated staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Oakland/Alameda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Alameda Hotel Alameda
Hawthorn Suites Alameda
Alameda Hawthorn Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing