We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice accomodations for a visit to Alameda” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Oakland/Alameda

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Oakland/Alameda
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Alameda
Certificate of Excellence
Oklahoma City
Level Contributor
102 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Nice accomodations for a visit to Alameda”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

Stayed here one night while visiting relatives and seeing nearby San Francisco. A few blocks away you can catch a ferry that takes you right next to Pier 39 in San Fran, no need to mess with traffic or parking garages- free parking available at the ferry terminal. Hotel is right downtown, didn't see any nearby restaurants but may be some. Hotel is newer and rooms were small suites with the bathroom separating the small sleeping area from the small living area. Compact but roomy enough for a small family. Had no complaints with the beds or anything about the hotel. Desk clerk was really helpful in getting me directions to where I needed to go. Will stay again when we go back to visit the relatives there.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank michaeljones46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawthornAlamedaCA, Assistant General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Oakland/Alameda, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thank you for your nice comments and review. We hope that our staff can make your next stay as great as or greater than this one. In regards to your comment about nearby restaurants I wanted to assure you that there are plenty. Webster st has a variety of food including Mexican, located directly across the street, Bosnian, German, American, Chinese and even African. Next time you stay with us we will gladly point you in the right direction of some great food.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    249
    73
    17
    10
See reviews for
253
105
49
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Rancho Murieta
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

Great room, clean, affordable and in a good location. Next time in Bay area I will stay this hotel. The staff was outstanding.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham

Helpful?
Thank Booker W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawthornAlamedaCA, Assistant General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Oakland/Alameda, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thank you so much for your review. Our staff tries to make every guest's stay as pleasurable as possible. We appreciate your comments and hope that you will stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, California, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

Our family of 4 spent the night and overall was a very good experience. The room was big, comfortable and clean, check in/out was fast. The building looks like it is either new or has been newly updated. It has nearby places to eat and additionally is only a short drive to Park Street restaurants. Breakfast was good and lots of hot choices- Overall a great value.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawthornAlamedaCA, Assistant General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Oakland/Alameda, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thank you so much for your nice comments about our hotel. We strive to make every guest's stay as delightful as possible. We are also happy that you ventured out and enjoyed much of the fun things that Alameda has to offer such as Park Street. Next time you and your family of 4 visit our lovely Island don't forget about your friends at Hawthorn Suites who would love to make your visit as great as it can be.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gladstone, Oregon
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

I stayed one night on business at the end of September. This was my second time staying at this facility and I still think it's a very good choice for the Alameda area.

My bed was comfortable (but I don't usually have a problem with various beds), the room was clean, and the breakfast still had a wide selection and was tasty.

Just two minor disappointments. I was looking forward to the goodie bag with cookies and water that we were given on my first visit, but wasn't offered any this time (maybe it was that I checked in later in the evening?) Also the elevator door is STILL making that horrible grinding noise and it's been about four months since my previous visit.

I'll be making another trip to Alameda later this winter and plan to stay here again. Hope the elevator is fixed by then!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elise L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawthornAlamedaCA, Assistant General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Oakland/Alameda, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We greatly appreciate it. I apologize for the fact that you didn't get your Wyndham Rewards Member Goodie Bag. We are in the process of training our brand new staff to give Wyndham Rewards bags to all of our Wyndham Rewards Guests. If we happen to forget please just give us a reminder and we'll be happy to provide you with your goodie bag. In regards to the elevator, we have called elevator maintenance to service our elevator. Due to this review we are making sure the elevator gets the attention that it needs. Again, thank you for your comments. We hope you enjoy your future stays with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alameda
4.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Oakland Airport-Alameda
1.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Hotel
1.3 mi away
Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Executive Inn & Suites
Executive Inn & Suites
#2 of 49 in Oakland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 846 reviews
0.9 mi away
Extended Stay America - Oakland - Alameda
1.8 mi away
Oakland Marriott City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Oakland/Alameda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Oakland/Alameda

Property: Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Oakland/Alameda
Address: 1628 Webster St, Alameda, CA 94501-2134 (Formerly Oakland/Alameda Hawthorn Suites LTD.)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Alameda
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Alameda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Oakland/Alameda 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham located in the beautiful city of Alameda, just a mile from downtown Oakland, was newly built in 2003 and renovated in 2011. The hotel offers superior amenities and great customer service in addition to studio suites with a King or two Queen beds, some with sofa sleepers. Complimentary hot breakfast buffet includes eggs, potatoes, meat, pancakes, juices, fruits, yogurt, hot and cold cereal, Starbucks coffee and a variety of teas. Parking and T1 reliable wifi are free and there are several nice restaurants within walking distance of the hotel. Bus and train connections are conveniently located nearby to San Francisco and other destinations and attractions in the Bay Area. Come and stay at our hotel to experience superior hospitality from a dedicated staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Oakland/Alameda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Alameda Hotel Alameda
Hawthorn Suites Alameda
Alameda Hawthorn Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing