We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Still a good choice but elevator still needs work” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Oakland/Alameda

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Oakland/Alameda
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Alameda
Certificate of Excellence
Gladstone, Oregon
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Still a good choice but elevator still needs work”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

I stayed one night on business at the end of September. This was my second time staying at this facility and I still think it's a very good choice for the Alameda area.

My bed was comfortable (but I don't usually have a problem with various beds), the room was clean, and the breakfast still had a wide selection and was tasty.

Just two minor disappointments. I was looking forward to the goodie bag with cookies and water that we were given on my first visit, but wasn't offered any this time (maybe it was that I checked in later in the evening?) Also the elevator door is STILL making that horrible grinding noise and it's been about four months since my previous visit.

I'll be making another trip to Alameda later this winter and plan to stay here again. Hope the elevator is fixed by then!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elise L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawthornAlamedaCA, Assistant General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Oakland/Alameda, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We greatly appreciate it. I apologize for the fact that you didn't get your Wyndham Rewards Member Goodie Bag. We are in the process of training our brand new staff to give Wyndham Rewards bags to all of our Wyndham Rewards Guests. If we happen to forget please just give us a reminder and we'll be happy to provide you with your goodie bag. In regards to the elevator, we have called elevator maintenance to service our elevator. Due to this review we are making sure the elevator gets the attention that it needs. Again, thank you for your comments. We hope you enjoy your future stays with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    249
    73
    17
    10
See reviews for
253
105
49
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
SPRINGFIELD
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

I visited on business. Location was a bit out of the way. Help at desk was good, but the rooms, while new and in god shape, were not the most comfortable in terms of layout.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham

Helpful?
Thank MICHAEL E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawthornAlamedaCA, Assistant General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Oakland/Alameda, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
We want to thank you for giving us your feedback about our property. We're sorry that you felt the layout of our rooms was uncomfortable. Please let us know exactly was uncomfortable about the layout so that we can only make your next stay a better one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ojai, CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

I booked this room based on the positive reviews. Obviously, I have different standards than my peers.
Pluses:
Price. The East Bay is way over priced IMHO, and this was a deal.
Location. Most people don't consider Alameda, but it's got easy access to East Bay communities and airport.
Staff. I agree, everyone was friendly and helpful.
Clean. Yes it was sanitary and tidy.
Kitchen stuff in room. Good to have fridge etc.
Minuses:
Very run down furnishings. Old and ugly.
Bed--NOT comfortable at all. Really bad.
Parking--free, but TINY spots. I had difficulty manuevering my rental car there and luggage cart.
Bedding--THREADBARE sheets and cases. Appalling.
So you can't sleep, and the pillow is worse than anything I'd give my dog to sleep on. UGH! What's the point?

There was an ample free breakfast in the morning, but I personally didn't like it. Others may feel differently. Again, staff was quite nice.
But the horrible bed and bedding is a non-starter for me. Wouldn't recommend.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joleneonthescene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawthornAlamedaCA, Assistant General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Oakland/Alameda, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
I am sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay. You were the first to let us know anything about our furnishings, bed comfort, pillow comfort, and parking lot. Because we renovated just last year, this information is brand new to all of us. We appreciate your feedback and are glad that there were some high points of your stay here. If you choose to visit this area again, please give us another try. We won't let you down.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UPPER MARLBORO
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

We used this hotel for our trip to the San Francisco area. The hotel was very nice and easy to find. What we did not expect was the horrible traffic getting to the downtown areas our San Francisco. Probably will never go back to the area again sites not worth the hassle of the traffic.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham

Helpful?
Thank ROBERT C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawthornAlamedaCA, Assistant General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Oakland/Alameda, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
It is unfortunate that your commute to San Francisco was an unpleasant one. San Francisco is very difficult to manuever and unfortunately there is always traffic. If you do visit the Bay Area again for any of the other fun things to do around here (street fairs, parades, museums, sporting events, etc) we hope that we can provide you the same great service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SYRACUSE
Level Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

Very comfortable beds nice large bathroom. I loved the bar area with the fridge and micro wave it came in handy. Our family enjoyed our stay and wold come again if returning to this area. The breakfast was very good and had a lot of variety.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham

Helpful?
Thank LISA T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawthornAlamedaCA, Assistant General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Oakland/Alameda, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you for your comments. We appreciate both your business and taking the time to write this review. We hope that when you and your family decide to stay in the Bay Area, you would consider us your home away from home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alameda
4.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Oakland Airport-Alameda
1.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Hotel
1.3 mi away
Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Executive Inn & Suites
Executive Inn & Suites
#2 of 49 in Oakland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 846 reviews
0.9 mi away
Extended Stay America - Oakland - Alameda
1.8 mi away
Oakland Marriott City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Oakland/Alameda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Oakland/Alameda

Property: Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Oakland/Alameda
Address: 1628 Webster St, Alameda, CA 94501-2134 (Formerly Oakland/Alameda Hawthorn Suites LTD.)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Alameda
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Alameda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Oakland/Alameda 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham located in the beautiful city of Alameda, just a mile from downtown Oakland, was newly built in 2003 and renovated in 2011. The hotel offers superior amenities and great customer service in addition to studio suites with a King or two Queen beds, some with sofa sleepers. Complimentary hot breakfast buffet includes eggs, potatoes, meat, pancakes, juices, fruits, yogurt, hot and cold cereal, Starbucks coffee and a variety of teas. Parking and T1 reliable wifi are free and there are several nice restaurants within walking distance of the hotel. Bus and train connections are conveniently located nearby to San Francisco and other destinations and attractions in the Bay Area. Come and stay at our hotel to experience superior hospitality from a dedicated staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Oakland/Alameda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Alameda Hotel Alameda
Hawthorn Suites Alameda
Alameda Hawthorn Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing